Customer Reviews


210 Reviews
5 star:
 (180)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Whole Lotta Love..." - Led Zeppelin II by LED ZEPPELIN (2014 2CD DELUXE EDITION)
After the initial disappointment of the "Led Zeppelin" debut 2CD DELUXE EDITION with its questionable sound on some tracks and its rubbish live bonus disc - I'm thrilled to say that "II" is an entirely different beast. It sounds great and the 'Companion Audio' CD actually warrants the word 'bonus' (mostly).

UK released 2 June 2014 (3 June in the USA) -...
Published 9 months ago by Mark Barry

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than the 1997 remaster, but not that much better
The music's fantastic of course, so five stars for that. However I wouldn't have bought it if I'd known that it was only a small improvement on the (very good) 1997 remaster. I did a blind test, and although I easily identified the new version, it wasn't massively different. I was expecting something more like the recent Pink Floyd remasters, which were miles better than...
Published 8 months ago by Corchito


‹ Previous | 116 17 1821 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin 2 (Audio CD)
What you expect, no more no less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid but borrowed, 2 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Led Zeppelin 2 (Audio CD)
Clearly many people rate this as their best but in my view it has not aged well and sounds like a rather leaden performance in places. Yes it has Whole Lotta Love (no argument, great riff, still powerful) but the album also has some dross - The Lemon Song is little more than pastiche, it's hard to believe they can claim to have written this themselves given the lyrics and the licks employed, and I don't care how legendary he is, a track given over to a drum solo by Bonham (Moby Dick) really has limited appeal (let's just say, a jazz drummer's touch is not what he possessed). Remastering has tended to show how processed the Zep sound really was, which surprised me unpleasantly and Plant is more a squealer than a singer on this album. Sure, it's good for the odd listen but this is not the master work by a long shot. Agree with the earlier reviewer who said the original vinyl seems to have more life and soul, though I guess that is meaningless to most of us now in the digital recording age. While it was a landmark album in my youth, I listen now and think, what was the fuss about?, especially when one learns to hear the original blues songs that Zep lifted so blatantly to create 'their' songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Led zeppelin 11., 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite simply a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Led Zep, 5 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great production of the original material and an excellent concert recording as well.I really enjoyed listening to this album and will be playing it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best got better, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Led Zeppelin II just got better. I loved the new material. Exceptional. Buy now & am looking forward to future releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Again?, 6 Aug. 2014
By 
70s "arrow" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The sound has been tweaked again, but really at this point we should be able to send in our old versions for an upgrade. The music is great as we all know, but these cds in a previous form have been available for around £5 for years. The second disc is not one that would get much play and only really offers premixes or work in progress
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived as promised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy This Album, 23 Sept. 2003
By 
ethan e woehrling (wayland, ma United States) - See all my reviews
A classic Zeppelin album, a must for fans new and old.
Worth buying again just for the packaging. Why do you not own this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin II [Deluxe Edition Remastered Double Vinyl] (Vinyl)
great remaster
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic, 9 Aug. 2014
By 
D. Bennett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Led Zeppelin 2 (Audio CD)
A true classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 1821 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews