Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A world where money can fix any indiscretion
Ray Donovan drama series is a narrative that deals with the problems and possible scandals of the rich and famous of Los Angeles. These people need their problems to disappear, and this is when they hire Ray Donovan (Liev Schreiber) a as Hollywood “fixer” extraordinaire. However, the return of his ex-convict father (Jon Voight) brings unsettled and...
Published 8 months ago by Susman

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Never hooked to this series
Read many positive comments before buying the bluray, however I never liked this series...I would not recommend this purchase.
Published 6 days ago by mooch


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A world where money can fix any indiscretion, 20 Aug. 2014
By 
Susman "Sussman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ray Donovan - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Ray Donovan drama series is a narrative that deals with the problems and possible scandals of the rich and famous of Los Angeles. These people need their problems to disappear, and this is when they hire Ray Donovan (Liev Schreiber) a as Hollywood “fixer” extraordinaire. However, the return of his ex-convict father (Jon Voight) brings unsettled and complications issues that Ray may not be able to fix. Where Ray excels at solving other people’s problems, it’s the problems closer to home that seem to be the most daunting, vexing and difficult for him to resolve, or for that matter control. In Ray’s regular business of fixing the major screw-ups of the opulent and well-known, he is aided by a tight team of consisting primarily of Avi (Steven Bauer) and Lena (Katherine Moennig).

Elliott Gould as Ezra Goldman plays, a confidant, collaborator and patron of Ray’s - but who is slowly losing his rationality. Then there is Rays’ wife Abby (Paula Malcomson) who wants to be part of the good life in Los Angeles. Abby has an almost obsessive need to push - to attain more and more has stressed their relationship. Then of course there are their two children who are rather impressionable. Bring into the mix Rays’ dysfunctional siblings and a father (who Ray wants to keep well away from) who has just left prison who is both devious, a prime manipulator and petty criminal Mickey played by Jon Voight.

The series has the cultural subtext of being Boston Irish, church child abuse, old - family roots versus the fresh-start and modernity.

.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, gritty & violent yet engrossing TV Drama., 28 Jan. 2015
By 
Willy Eckerslike (France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ray Donovan, L.A. fixer to the stars. No problem too big or mess too messy (and that’s just his home life). His complex and often brutal profession life makes his work / life balance difficult enough to manage without the unexpected release of his father, Micky, from prison after serving twenty years for murder. If Ray’s life was difficult before, he’s now dragged into an increasingly chaotic series of fire fighting operations just trying to keep up with the direct and indirect aftermath of Micky’s actions.

That more-or-less sums up the central premise of this unusual and difficult to pigeon-hole TV show. His family life and relationship with his father and brothers may seem a bit family soapy or crime / mob Sopranos’ish but it’s not entirely. The LA glamour & money components could lend the show a glitzy action element but it doesn’t. The involvement of the FBI could make it police procedural, but it’s not. A buddy show it most definitely is not. It is a curious and surprisingly successful blend of genres.

The main cast is superb; all the way from Leiv Shrieber title role, Jon Voight the delinquent father, Paula Malcomson (Trixie from the excellent Deadwood) the long suffering wife, Ray’s brothers Terry (another British actor making good in the USA) & Bunchy through to Elliot Gould and James Woods. Even the kids are good & that certainly makes a change. The production is equally splendid and the writing similarly so, as the plot twists, turns and lurches its way from one catastrophe to another (although I must confess that we got a bit confused at one point – we probably missed a crucial bit of dialogue). There is always a firm narrative thread to keep the plot moving along so you’re never stuck with that ‘Oh no, here we go again…’ feeling; it all hangs together very neatly.

This is not comfortable, reassuring drama; the lives of the totally dysfunction extended Donovan family is the absolute antitheses of the cosy Regans in Blue Bloods. It would be great to see a CSI style cross-over episode; it would be hilarious. There’s harsh language, violence, gore, more violence and some mumbling (but it’s not too bad). The characters are all so well drawn, damaged and flawed as they are, that it’s hard to like any of them but you still can’t help but emphasise. Ray Donovan is a surprising and remarkable bit of TV drama; gritty, plausible (well, mostly) and thoroughly engrossing. Season two is on our wish list ready for June 2015. Excellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 10 Dec. 2014
wow.This was great.No big action scenes,explosions,gun fights or the usual stuff you would expect to see in a series like this,in fact I have never seen a series like this before.To be honest I never read the previews on Ray Donovan so I was totally unprepared for the excellent acting and brilliant story line,can't wait for series 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it shouldn't be this good, it begins like a melodrama but the characters ..., 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ray Donovan - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
it shouldn't be this good, it begins like a melodrama but the characters reveal themselves and their vulnerabilities slowly and in the end it works as fine drama
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, cant wait for series 2, 22 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ray Donovan - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent, cant wait for series 2. Did not have high expectations for this series, but have been proved wrong.
Only niggle is the jon voight character, stretches credibility. I realise this character is supposed to be a love him or hate
him one, I am afraid I am decidedly in the later. The series would certainly not suffer if he was absent from the season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best new TV box set, 13 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Ray Donovan - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Loved Ray Donovan!

I was worried I was running out of a next great TV show to watch (being a massive Dexter and Breaking Bad fan) but I've found it in Ray Donovan.

Gritty, gripping well-acted and I can’t wait until season 2 starts. A must have for any TV fan wanting to get into the next best thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like the concept of the sopranos you might like this, 12 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Ray Donovan - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Ray Donovan (Liev Schreiber) is about a guy who has a role of " a mister fixit " for a law firm, he fixes problems for his firms clients, but like the Sopranos, all the episodes deal with his family/personal situations as well, the main one being the story behind the release from prison of his father (Jon Voight), and a dark secret involving his brothers/sister. I was hooked from episode 1, the acting is fantastic, the story is deeply riviting and i look forward (hopefully) to a second series.

for more info go here [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great stories. But the acting and quality cast really ..., 18 Jan. 2015
By 
Superb series, great stories. But the acting and quality cast really raised it to the right level. Liev Schreiber and John Voight are excellent and I was impressed with strong performances from the always brilliant Eddie Marsan. You sense the dark past of the Donovan's and why Ray hates his father. This is the best thing from the US I've seen since the Sopranos. I hope season 2 maintains the quality of scripts and believability of the stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Original, not to be missed., 28 Jan. 2015
My husband and I really enjoyed this. Good casting, original writing/plotting, and plenty of dark twists and turns. Very good TV indeed. Hoping for a season 2 to pop up soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Dec. 2014
By 
A. Jabore "never-lost" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Suspenseful, well acted and more complex than the average series. Well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ray Donovan
Ray Donovan by John Dahl
£0.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews