Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime radio comedy. A classic.
I was surprised and saddened to read Count Arthur's creator Steve Delaney declare that this seventh series of his Radio 4 show will be the last due to the Count's transfer to television. It seems a pity as there are far more belly laughs in this radio version than the first series of the television incarnation. But every show needs a gestation period and I daresay the...
Published 15 months ago by R. Cope

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Count Arthur you are overpriced but I like you.MP3 download.
I feel it is overpriced,it provided the odd chuckle I prefer series 1-6,had to add series 7 to complete my collection.
Count Arthur you are overpriced but I like you.
Published 5 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime radio comedy. A classic., 22 Mar. 2014
By 
R. Cope "cope2" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was surprised and saddened to read Count Arthur's creator Steve Delaney declare that this seventh series of his Radio 4 show will be the last due to the Count's transfer to television. It seems a pity as there are far more belly laughs in this radio version than the first series of the television incarnation. But every show needs a gestation period and I daresay the screen version will catch up. On radio Count Arthur is far more of an egotist and sponger which gives him the comic edge, as all the great comic creations are monsters in their own way. Series 7 sees the Count trying to tax his long abandoned Hillman Minx, in the process encountering Terry Wogan, in a brilliant start to the series. After touring the a local home up for sale in the guise of a potential buyer he finally gets a call from his old pal in Spain who is hospitalised and wants Arthur to run it for him until he is back on his feet. This storyline covers three episodes from Arthur boarding a plane (is it going to Spain? Wait and see...) to his arrival and failure to grasp even basic Spanish. Enticing his prodigee Malcolm de Tinsel over to help (and Malcolm's impression of a certain Hollywood A lister is worth the price of the CD alone) you can be sure that Arthur leaves the Wagon Wheel pub in a worse state than he found it. The series ends with Arthur's efforts to join the local Round Table. Some people have said that Count Arthur is marmite, you either love him or loathe him. For me he has produced the funniest radio comedy series that I have ever heard, even better than the mighty Round The Horne, and this CD set is yet again packed with comic gold. Consistently Count Arthur Strong's Radio Show has provided more laughs per minute than virtually any other radio comedy. Whatever the future of the television show, I hope we have not seen the last of the Count on radio. Steve Delaney you are a genius. Can we have please an official release of the Edinburgh Festival Special "Roll Play" which to date is the only episode not to be made available on CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars let down by poor down load so i purchased c.d., 31 Mar. 2014
By 
Philip (newport, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Count Arthur Strong's Radio Show! the Complete Seventh Series - EP (MP3 Download)
He plays with the english language so much he is a genius with the way he could (& has) argued with him self in an empty room. I became depressed when after 37 years of marriage my wife left me i became severely depressed to the point where i attempted the ultimate. I failed 6years or so went by and was helped by good friends. I came across count arthur app2-3 years ago and i actually started to belly laugh i have downloaded successfully 6 series i have listened to him many many times the amount you miss on the first few recordings is amazing i am over my troubles now and seriously recommend the count.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Arthur., 19 Mar. 2014
By 
B. STOCKING (Ilford Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At last its available.Got my cd on Monday,have played it three times,keep finding bits I missed because of laughing on previous
playings.If your a fan of Arthur,then you will know what to expect.If you only know him from the TV show,give it a go.
Arthur is a one off,you will never find another like him.If the live show comes your way,treat yourself to a night to remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A natural end of the series, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Still good fun but wisely and gently coming to the end
of its run. I have all the series and am ' getting into '
this one.There's always a lot you don't hear until after
a good number of playings. I'm still finding that from
the earlier ones. If you're a fan, do add this last one
to your collection. It's well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suspose I Should Give It 5 Stars, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We've been great fans of Count Arthur since the very first Series and this is the latest addition to the Collection. Enjoyed it immensely and would recommend the Radio Series ahead of the TV show to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top-drawer British Comedy at its Creative Best, 22 May 2015
By 
Irish Critic (Leopardstown, Republic of Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Steve Delaney is one phenomenally talented comedy actor. Radio 4 is already known for the high quality of its comedy output, but this material is their “Crème de la Crème”. Count Arthur Strong (Delaney) is the middle-aged, fumbling, penny-pinching master of the malapropism. The convincing Yorkshire accent and skilfully affected speech impediment are superb – as is Delaney’s small pool of supporting actors. This particular style of humour is not everyone’s cup of tea, but I find it side-splittingly funny.

There are 6 episodes in a series, each episode being 28 minutes long as the crow flies. It’s all recorded before a live audience. Each malapropism is hilarious enough in its own right, and there are literally scores in each episode. But almost as funny again is the Count’s desperate flustering to the recall the CORRECT word each time. The delivery and timing of the gags are what make this a true masterpiece of radio comedy. So if you’re a fan of malapropisms and verbal screw-ups in general, order your copy without further adieu!

COMMENTS SPECIFIC TO SERIES SEVEN:
Although he mixes in the upper escallops of society, Arthur avoids the slimelight, preferring to remain anomalous. The Count takes his holidays at the Costa del Coffee and would have made a good legal avocado by always invoking habeas corpulent. His favourite songs are Idlemice from the Sound of Mucus, plus Eddie Presley’s Blue Suede Foot and Heartburn Hotel. Arthur watches Harry Hill’s You’ve Been Farmed and also knows the lyrics to nursery slime Simpleton Simon. He’d like to join the Free Morons at his local Moronic Lodge and thinks that the Space Shuffle is launched from Cape Carnivore. Honestly, some folks live in Cloud Cuckoo–Clock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars didn't realise that series seven was to be the last ..., 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Count Arthur Strong's Radio Show! the Complete Seventh Series - EP (MP3 Download)
didn't realise that series seven was to be the last to be made and broadcast on radio now it's transferred to tv, a real shame as the tv version although quite watchable, it didn't work for me...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly Funny, 20 May 2014
By 
S. E. Robins (Leeds UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An old time character blending awkwardly into today's world what could be funnier. Count Arthur takes comedy back to the days of Hancock but in a much more confused, deluded and ridiculous way. There is nothing about this series that isn't brilliant, Count Arthur for President er Prime Monster, oh! not Prime Monster, Prime Rib, oh you know who I mean, Macaroon, no, Cameroon, oh sod it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Count Arthur Strong's Radio Show - The Complete Seventh Series, 23 April 2014
By 
W. Baker (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a tremedous fan of Count Arthur Strong, there was never any doubt about me enjoying this latest CD set. Steve Delaney's comic creation, Count Arthur strong, is a sheer masterpiece and has me laughing out loud each time I hear him bumbling his way through yet another disastrous situation of his own making. Humour is a very personal thing and we all find different things funny but for me, this is the funniest character currently on radio and television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Count Arthur Strong - what's not to love?! On the radio shows I think he ..., 27 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's Count Arthur Strong - what's not to love?!

On the radio shows I think he is fantastic. He is a bit Marmite though - you will either love or hate his performances. The characters are so well developed, and with his typical malapropisms, this is a hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews