Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
205
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 January 2001
Richard Burton as Narrator leads a fine cast through this wonderful piece. Another, later, version was released headed by Anthony Hopkins, but tried too hard and imposed music and other distractions on the text. The Burton version does not - it rejoices in the purity of the language and the characters - superb!
0Comment| 186 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2009
1954 The BBC recorded this wonderful Play For Voices by Dylan Thomas,
Under Milk Wood, and what a wonderful and colourful recording! Richard Burton at the the head of things, absolutely brilliant this the "Recording"
to buy I have waited for this ex ARGO/DECCA recording to be back for ages
and its brilliance remains undimmed, You are transported into a world of a sleepless night and dreams of a welsh village.
Lets hope Amazon can trace other ex ARGO/Decca recordings
0Comment| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2010
This was the very first broadcast production of this famous "play for voices" purposely written for radio and it remains simply the best. It premiered on 25 January 1954 on the BBC Third Programme, over two months after the death of the author. It became an immediate hit and received the international Italia prize as best radio work of the year. Within months it had been translated into a dozen languages and many more since. Highly recommend!!
0Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2009
This is the classic version of the ultimate classic "Play for Words".
Play it time after time ,preferably after sun down with closed eyes .
No talking please ,headphones are good ,put the cat out.
Burton is just superb and backed by a host of characters you feel will knock on the door any moment .Pure magic ,ofter imitated ,never bettered.
Hush......
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2001
I lived in Llaregubb (the village in which the piece is set - spell it backwards to get an idea of DT at play.) Well, I didn't actually, but somewhere very similar. All the characters are familiar. It's wonderful to read the book - but sublime to listen to Richard B reading it. The doomed rich ripeness of his voice foreshadows the fate he shared with Thomas - killed by the demon drink.
I don't know what Americans or Australians or other non-UK anglophones would make of it. Or even what the English make of it.
But if you love words, written and spoken for the love of the sound of them - then this is for you.
0Comment| 133 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2010
The indomitable Richard Burton at his native Welsh best. There's something about the deep yet soft timbre of his voice that so suits Dylan Thomas' writing. This must historically be one of the greatest radio adaptations ever produced.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2003
LOVE it. Only Burton does this piece justice. I prefer this audio version to watching it on the screen and to reading the book. It is a 'play for voices,' after all.
0Comment| 69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 August 2014
Absolutely beautiful recording with the wonderful tones of Richard Burton. Under Milk Wood is a surreal day in the life of a small welsh seaside town, with all the characters of the town laid out before us. From the morning dreams of the townsfolk in the bible black night to the drunken creeping home at the end of the day, it is a truly beautiful thing.

The use of language by Thomas is simply breath taking. Alliteration is effortlessly dotted into the narration. The poetic rhythm deceptive in its simplicity. I could listen to this for hours on end and be spirited away to Milk Wood completely.

The narration of Richard Burton is the other half to this tour de force of the spoken word. Burton has a unique, beautiful voice that in this performance I think finds perfection. The gentle tones evoking the sights and sounds of his native Wales set the play perfectly, from the very first line. I am sure the recording would have been a success even without Burton as the narrator, but with him leading the rest of the superb cast it is something that everyone should treat themselves to experiencing at least once in a lifetime.

There is plenty that also bears repeated listening. The little jokes hidden alongside the more obvious. The nicely dark undertones and sly humour. And the songs. Oh the songs! Beautiful, funny, soulful. As Reverend Eli Jenkins says himself, 'Praise the Lord', for the Welsh are indeed '...a musical nation'.

I can't recommend this enough. You can listen to it with a detailed eye to enjoy the stories and intricacies, the hidden treats and clever language. You can also just revel in the sounds of language, the simply delight of the words rolling around like silk and honey. If you haven't had the pleasure of hearing this recording before then find a quiet couple of hours and settle back. Let yourself drift off and enjoy this masterpiece.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2009
Having always had fond memories of hearing Under Milk Wood on a repeat broadcast some years ago, it was nice to discover it was as fresh and potent as ever. The sing-song Welsh voices, the musical delivery, the unexpected adjectives, the cunning verbs - a delight from start to finish. It is also so much the finished article that it is undated, and spikily relevant for us today. One of my best ever Amazon buys.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2013
Under Milk Wood: this version is a 2 CD set with only 1 track in both CDs, they could and should have created different sections so one could move easily backwards or forwards in the recording:
cd 1 lasts about 45 minutes
cd 2 lasts about 47 minutes
this version does not have the closing announcement where all the names of the actors who took part in this production are included.
the quality is almost perfect, very occasionally there is the odd sound from a vynil recording which should not be there.
the BBC radio series are better quality still though I ended up understanding certain parts of the dialogues in this version better. the BBC version is longer and contains the closing announcement where all the names of the actors are included. Also the recording on both CDs is divided into different tracks
cd 1 lasts about 54 minutes
cd 2 lasts about 45 minutes
Needless to say Richard Burton is in both recordings and does an excellent job
I do not advise to buy the Naxos version, Naxos produce excellent audio books except as far as I know for this one. This particular version entitled 'Under Milk Wood and Other Plays' seems recorded directly from the vynil and not even the basic remastering has been undertaken.
Between this Decca and the BBC version, I would not know which one to recommend, I have them both and am very happy with them.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£1.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.