Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One dirty monster
This is a dirty, snarling monster of an album, the illigitimate son of Motorhead's attitude and the birth of thrash. Guitarist Dimebag does more with his guitar than many bands do with a two-guitar attack, with heavy riffs and deadly hooks.

Vocalist Phil Anselmo crawls filthy from the gutter with the sole intention of making your ears bleed with his diatribe...
Published on 5 May 2006 by Some Bloke

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Uneven template.
Pantera's - Far beyond driven is an album that I have always felt has been considerably overrated. The first three of the four songs on the album are iconic classics. "Strength beyond strength, 5 minutes alone and I'm Broken", are but contrasted by the averageness of "Becoming, Slaughtered, Use my third arm, throes of rejection"; and then there is the disasters of "Good...
Published 3 months ago by Agma


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One dirty monster, 5 May 2006
This review is from: Far Beyond Driven (Audio CD)
This is a dirty, snarling monster of an album, the illigitimate son of Motorhead's attitude and the birth of thrash. Guitarist Dimebag does more with his guitar than many bands do with a two-guitar attack, with heavy riffs and deadly hooks.

Vocalist Phil Anselmo crawls filthy from the gutter with the sole intention of making your ears bleed with his diatribe of attitude. He's screaming without affectation about himself and the world. My goodness children, this chap really is a cross man!

This far outshines anything else Pantera did and is one of the most complete metal records of all time. There's creativity all the way through and each track stands alone. Somehow, they seem to have acheived this naturally.

There's bags of attitude in their attempt to scare the establishment. Listen and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A huge Pantera fan HEAVY MAN!, 22 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Far Beyond Driven (Audio CD)
This album just flows like the morning after a very hot curry. It has all the usual flair and pounding beats that all Pantera fans have come to love, but then there is that little bit extra. The guitar rifs are amazing, flowing effortlessly, and the drums are just in your face heavy! This album is a must for all pantera fans to complete their collction, and it is ideal for any one who just loves an album full of perfect music. Please buy it. It might save your life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars STRONGER THEN ALL, 27 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: Far Beyond Driven (Audio CD)
Lately I have been listening to Pantera alot(I mean i'm literally obsessed with Pantera)I don't know how it started but I just can't stop listening to them. Cowboys From Hell, Vulgar Display Of Power & Far Beyond Driven simply metal masterpieces though I have not yet Heard Reinventing Steel & The Great Southern Trendkill I will when I get the chance but I just can't get enough of Pantera.

This album is another great addition to Pantera's discography, the music is angry, aggresive, heavy & brutal Pantera is usually the only time when I use the word brutal. Every member here is playing at their best(as they always are) Vinnies drumming is amazing, Dimebag Darrel is in my eyes one of the only other guitar players that I can compare to Tony Iommi his riffs are amazing not to mention his solos, Phils vocals are scary and brutal and rex is excellent.

Best songs are Strength Beyond Strength, Becoming, Good Friends And A Bottle Of Pills, Hard Skin Sunken Cheeks, 25 Years, Slaughtered & Planet Caravan(Black Sabbath Cover which I might even say is better then the original almost)

This album is an amazing Pantera album all of Pantera's discography is amazing I recommend them all to any metalhead. Even in their glam days Pantera were talented as hell. No metalhead should be without at least one of Panteras albums BUY 'EM ALL! ! ! R.I.P Dimebag
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
By 
Silvio Garcia (Blairgowrie, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Far Beyond Driven (Audio CD)
love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Uneven template., 29 May 2014
This review is from: Far Beyond Driven (Audio CD)
Pantera's - Far beyond driven is an album that I have always felt has been considerably overrated. The first three of the four songs on the album are iconic classics. "Strength beyond strength, 5 minutes alone and I'm Broken", are but contrasted by the averageness of "Becoming, Slaughtered, Use my third arm, throes of rejection"; and then there is the disasters of "Good friends, Hard lines and 25 years". So quite a mixed bag in hindsight.,

The drive for further heaviness after 'Vulgar' has resulted in some significant detraction of songwriting consistency and the Pantera esque; needless to say this is still quite a very good album but probably does not fully level the classic quality it's predessors of 'Cowboys & Vulgar' both had. So yes, this is a considerable step down from the heights scaled by those albums but it is probably better than the two albums which followed this one.

Black Sabbath's - Planet Caravan is here- covered in great taste and timeless fashion, but had it been without those three terrible songs this is certainly an album that skirts close to the four star mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still amazing a band at the peak of their creativity. No one writes lyrics like phil., 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The live extra bootleg cd is incredibly raw with very little mixing going on. Good to hear the energy and brutality of the band and how they played live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent addition to my collection, 27 Mar 2014
By 
Natalie (Harlow, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Far Beyond Driven is widely accepted and known as one of Pantera's heaviest and most successful albums, completely bucking the alternative music trend that was ongoing in the 90s and letting the world know that metal was still healthy and strong! This album is a beast of a record and when i heard there was to be a 20th anniversary edition released, i knew i had to have it.
The stand out for me is the Far beyond Bootleg CD, a live recording of Pantera's performance at Donington's Monsters of Rock in 1994. This band were a brutal machine on stage and turning it up loud in my car makes me wish that i was born 10 years earlier (i would have been only 7 at the time) so i could have been there. It has a mixture of tracks from Cowboys and Vulgar, plus songs from Far Beyond Driven.
This 20th anniversary edition is an excellent addition to any Pantera fan's collection and for any other fans of metal who may not have heard much Pantera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far Beyond Anything Else, 19 Sep 2007
This review is from: Far Beyond Driven (Audio CD)
I had Vulgar and went on to listen to this - it took time to grow on me, as all great albums do (a LONG time for this one) but the pure guttural nastiness of the vocals, percussive guitars, growling bass, infectious drum patterns and insane solos make this without a doubt one of the greatest albums I've ever listened to.

It has a certain dirty, gritty quality that makes it a very unique album in my books.

Dime does so many things with that axe that you didn't think were possible, and the lyrics and songwriting are amongst the best I've heard.

The album begins with a thrashy number, goes on to more groove orientated songs and then drops down into a well of wallowing self loathing and putridity nearer the climax - don't get me wrong - thats a good thing!

Also the cover of Planet Caravan is good, and Dimes interpretation of Iommis solo is even better than the original! Pure guitar genius!

Buy now!!

The solo in Throes of Rejection is worth the admission price alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How metal should be, 3 Dec 2008
This review is from: Far Beyond Driven (Audio CD)
Brutal and lovely. Cold, oozing emotion. I love their extreme brand of funk-metal. Just too awesome. Should be part of every metallers collection.

R.I.P Dime :-[
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of THE definitive Metal Albums, 27 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Far Beyond Driven (Audio CD)
I only bought this recently, but it completely blew my head off. I'd heard their debut ( Cowboys fron Hell ) & I wasn't too keen as it kinda had the whiole 80's vibe to it that I personally dont dig that much, but by the time you get to this ( Their 3rd album ) things have changed completely. Phil Anselmo now screams and cries like a demented Max Cavalera while still writing clever lyrics to vent his rage, Dimebag Darrell is one of the most technically brilliant guitarists you will ever hear, but on this record he adapts and updates his sound, playing super heavy stuff, with less speed metal riffs and solos ( instead he saves the solos for when they sound good, not just playing 1 or 2 every song for the sake of it, but when he does play them, they sound even better.)Vinnies drumming is also greatly improved on this album, with a thundering onslaught using the double bass peddles. This is a revolutionary band, who set the pattern for every "Nu-Metal" band you will have heard in the last 5 years, but I can honestly say that none that I have heard are as talented musically, or write as great songs. Every song is a standout track. If I had to pick my favourites, 5 minutes Alone, Hard Lines & Sunken Cheeks, Slaughtered & Shedding Skin. BUY THIS NOW! You are unlikely to hear many better metal albums in your life, and none at this price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews