Customer Reviews


277 Reviews
5 star:
 (229)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an animal lover's film
101 Dalmations is based on the book brought out some time ago about an evil villain stealing away innocent dalmation puppies to try and create the ultimate pet outfit made of fur.
This film is another brilliant Walt Disney classic full of imagination and adventure. With a brilliant cast of Cruella De Vil, the puppies, the owners and the parents of the puppies, it...
Published on 12 Oct. 2003 by carolyn webb

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars I live in the United States I did not know ...
I live in the United States I did not know that it would not play in my DVD or Blueray players because it was from the UK.
Published 1 month ago by sandy f short


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an animal lover's film, 12 Oct. 2003
By 
carolyn webb (Ipswich, Suffolk England) - See all my reviews
101 Dalmations is based on the book brought out some time ago about an evil villain stealing away innocent dalmation puppies to try and create the ultimate pet outfit made of fur.
This film is another brilliant Walt Disney classic full of imagination and adventure. With a brilliant cast of Cruella De Vil, the puppies, the owners and the parents of the puppies, it gives children of all ages through enjoyment.
It is truly fantastic with riveting animation and fabulous songs, brought to you by Walt Disney.
Children who love animals will adore this film about fighting for the puppies and fighting against the evil Cruella De Vil.
My children thought it was fantastic and willingly watch it even now, when they are teenagers.
I'm sure your children will love it too!
I hope this review was of use to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The special features make it even more entertaining., 4 Mar. 2008
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Note: This review is of the most recently issued (2008) version.

I find it difficult to believe that it has been 47 years since this film first appeared. (I also find it difficult to believe that I now have ten grandchildren with whom to watch it.) Credit the Disney organization with providing with this latest restored version a generous selection of bonus features that substantially increase the pleasure of seeing this classic film once again. They include a DVD-ROM of a "Virtual Dalmatians Game," "Op-Up Trivia Facts," and "The Making of One Hundred and One Dalmations," and correspondence between "Sincerely yours, Walt Disney" and Dodie Smith, author of the novel on which the film is based.

The basic plot involves two lonely dalmatians (Pongo and Perdita) who meet in a London park and whose owners then meet and marry. Over time, the dalmatians become parents of 15 puppies who are stolen by Cruella De Vil who is determined to make a fur coat out of their skins. That doesn't happen, of course, but younger children get all caught up in efforts to rescue the puppies (at least when viewing the film for the first time) just as they do when hoping that Pinocchio will be reunited with Gepetto, that Snow White will awaken from her deep sleep, and that Belle and the Beast will live happily ever after. In the best of Disney's animated features, there always seems to be a subtext of menace and this film is no exception. When observing Cruella De Vil's behavior, many of those in my generation will be reminded of Gloria Swanson's portrayal of Norma Desmond in Sunset Boulevard. In terms of quality of its story, art, and music, 101 Dalmatians deserves to be ranked among Disney's finest animated films. The special features offer an exceptional "bonus."

My only concern, frankly, is that once again, many adults who are charmed by the Dalmatian puppies will decide -- or feel great pressure from children -- to purchase one. They would be well-advised to learn all about the breed first. Perhaps the next time around, Disney could add a special feature that provides such information. Just a thought....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical film finally arrives on Blu Ray, 4 Sept. 2012
By 
Neil B ""HINRG BOY"" (Bury, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
This has to be one of my all time favourite Disney films (along with ROBIN HOOD & THE RESCUERS). The blu ray transfer is exceptional for such an old film, and it is obvious much work has gone into the restoration. The picture & sound quality are both excellent, and the disc comes with an interesting selection of additional extras, including a fascinating "making of" documentery. Worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Disney Film ever, 9 Jun. 2009
By 
Tried and Tested (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is my favourite Disney film ever. The original animated version is far better than the live action remake. It will leave you (or more likely your kids) on the edge of your seat wondering what's going to happen next. Cruella de Ville is one of the best evil characters to be created and really sends a chill down the spine. The ability to make so many puppies appear so different and to have so many different characters portrayed is truly fantastic.

One thing that does confuse me though is that I distinctly remember watching a version of this film as a child where there were 3 adults; Pongo, Perdita and another female dog who Anita saves and who stays behind to look after the `pets' when Pongo and Perdita leave to rescue the puppies. Maybe I'm just imagining this bit??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic and Memorable Disney Masterpiece, 31 Mar. 2013
By 
Andrew McCann (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having originally viewed '101 Dalmatians' when it first appeared in the cinemas, it made a distinct impression on me, as it represented state-of-the-art animation at the time and was, in my opinion, beautifully made and represented Disney productions at their best.

Although I originally owned a twenty minute Super-8 film version produced by Disney in the late 70s/early 80s, which replicated the closest I could get to the "big screen" experience at that time, this DVD looks absolutely stunning on my 50" Panasonic Viera television. In fact it looks as good as it did in the cinema. (Bear in mind that I am writing about the DVD version here and have not seen the latest Blu-ray version, which will have to be pretty exceptional to supersede the quality evident in this DVD (viewed via an upscaling DVD player).

Modern audiences are used to extremely sophisticated animation techniques and their 3D variants, which are far removed from the traditional approaches which were applied in the making of this film (and which make it a true classic of its time).

It therefore may not appeal to those who have been weaned on the highly imaginative and successful animated box-office blockbusters of today, who may feel that it is rather dated when seen against the current competition.

However traditionalists and those with fond memories of this film from the past will, I am sure, find this to be an excellent purchase and a valuable addition to their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 101 Dalmatians - BIG HIT, 5 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my 3-year old granddaughter and it has been a really big hit. As soon as she comes in, she wants to see the "dalamations" and all her toy animals have been transformed into dalmations to try and make them up to the big number of 101.
One useful thing about DVDs is the ability to move back or forward to different scenes and I have found that on this DVD, as with some of the other children's DVDs - certain scenes are watched over and over, while she watches something she particularly enjoys. This also seems to be good for learning about life and motivations.
The villain, Cruella is an absolutely amazing creation. Her driving skills, the car, and her characterisation are all fantastic and the scene near the end where she is driving after the lorry with the pups in it is absolutely fantastic. Some of the puppies, especially Rolly, are also memorable. Some other great characters are Sergeant Tibbs and the Colonel.
Pongo and Perdie are of course the stars of the film and some of the scenes are particularly appealing to children, especially near the start, where Pongo manages to tip both his "pets" into the pond while trying to get them to meet. Another good scene is where Pongo and Perdie are struggling through the snow with the puppies. While I have mentioned these scenes in particular, the whole film is really enjoyable.
The film is now, of course, quite old and the only negative aspect is that Roger smokes a pipe. I mention this only because it is so surprising to see that, these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dotty for 101 Dalmatians, 12 Sept. 2012
By 
Quinn (England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is hard to believe that 101 Dalmatians was originally released in 1961 and it has finally been transferred onto Blu-ray with all the care and clarity it deserves; the colours are crisp and the animation is simply stunning. This is the heroic tale of Pongo and Perdita on the trail of their missing offspring after they are snatched by a creepy and cruel Disney villain: "Cruella De Vil, Cruella De Vil, if she doesn't scare you, no evil thing will". This is a story loved by children and adults alike and a definite family favourite to have in your collection. There's also an abundance of special features including The Making of 101 Dalmatians, Cruella De Vil: Drawn To Be Bad, Sincerely Yours Walt Disney, Trailers and a Cruella De Vil Music Video by Selena Gomez which will keep any Disney fan happy. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Disney magic at it's best 101 great animation moments!!, 31 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
101 moments of greatness, this is my favorite Disney film of all time, so I am very biased. Film is in the original aspect ratio, academy so for the first time we get to see it in home entertainment version as it was at the cinema.

Story of villain, one of Disney's all time greats, who steals puppies to make a coat & their rescue by their parents with the help of a variety of a horse a cat (Sgt Tibbs) and The Colonel (another dog) and others along the way in this exceptional piece of Disney magic.

Blu Ray is Region Free, so no issues playing this anywhere in the world.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 101 Dalmations, 14 Sept. 2009
By 
Having finally relagated my vcr to the loft and with it the video recordings of my favourite disney films I decided to start replacing them with dvd's. When 101 dalmations arrived I could'nt resist watching it - it has'nt lost its magic.
Supposedly the disney film replacement excercise is for the pleasure of my grandchildren!!!!
Can't wait to once again have a library of humerous, moving films which have a beginning, a middle and an end and can be enjoyed by all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 101 dalmations... a true classic, 10 Jan. 2015
By 
Ms. Angela Hayden ""pet lover"" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Dalmatians [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
This is another one of my favorite Disney films .I think that all the older Disney films like jungle book, sword in the stone etc, are the best, as they are really great family films to watch, and my dog loves watching this film too, she wags her tail and sits with her head turning from side to side, its great to see her enjoying a doggie cartoon. A true classic and a must for all Disney collections. Happy viewing and make sure the dog is watching too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

101 Dalmatians Blu-ray Steelbook UK EXCLUSIVE
Used & New from: £21.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews