Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars21
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 November 2014
A not altogether unsurprising (well, not if you read the newspapers) view of Parliament and its strange inhabitants. Look, for example, at Jerry Hayes' first encounter with David Mellor then fast forward 31 years to November 2014 and Mellor's reported encounter with a taxi driver. No change there, then. All in all, a fascinating insight into life in and out of the Commons from somebody who obviously enjoyed his time there. Worth reading if you are at all interested in politics.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
Very very funnŷ. It gives an expected insight into the workings of parliament and the personalities of various MPs which I found fascinating. Jerry Hayes is a more serious character than he likes you to think. I bought this very full price close to publication and it was worth every penny
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
A great read, very funny, fast-moving and somewhat shocking. Once I started reading it I found I couldn't put it down. Who would ever want to be an MP?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
Have read half of this entertaining collection of anecdotes. Little attempt at a narrative or deeper political insight, if you can recall Rory Bremner's zany TV political sketches of the 1990's and lump them together at random you're in the right sort of territory, rather than, say, an Alan Clarke diary. Definitely "politican in a pub" style which might lead to a suspicion that his escapades in the corridors of the House might be egged up a bit. However I stand to be corrected, not inhabiting this strange world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
Tells you how the interface between MPs and journalists really works from both sides. Lots of salacious gossip. Recalls a political era.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
A good romp through the House of Commons,where Hayes confirms that,at least in his day(and no doubt at the present time)the lunatics are in charge of the assylum.Quite a few eye opening tales of the escapades of the people we elect to "represent"us.I enjoyed it very much until he had some half nice things about Jeremy Hunt,at which point I began to doubt his sanity.This book is well worth a read if only to be convinced of the real value we get from our "honourable" members.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
I was genuinely stunned by this work of fiction. To have given it an autobiographical format is absolute genius. Jeffrey Archer will be green with envy at the sweeping style and imaginative scope of this new writer. The chapter describing his 1989 trip to Colombia with the soon to be ex Leader of the US Senate is the funniest thing I have ever read. Look forward to the sequel(s)!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 April 2014
This is a wonderful bedside book - especially if you want to be detained in bed by the need for ;just one more chapter.' The reviews compare him with Alan Clark, but Mr Hayes's ego is far less intrusive (I suspect that comment applies to other parts of him too). He puts the boot in sometimes - to people who richly deserve it - but overall his indiscretions are generous and his asides nicely pointed. I laughed out loud in my solitary bed several times.

He's that rare thing - a pleasant, thoughtful, independent Tory, and one of the book's many merits is that he doesn't say a word about his political philosophy. I've no idea why he's a Tory, and I don't care. He's from the generation of people unafraid of self-examination, loyal to basic principles of decency; gregarious, forgiving, clubbable, with a huge talent for friendship. He's written a deliciously wicked book.

OK, its appeal is mainly to political junkies, but if you're a bona fide political junkie you get suffocated in the heaps of self-serving memoirs and quasi-objective biographies. This is the soya sauce/lime juice/nam pla/coriander leaf that cleans the palate and restores one's faith in the genre. Highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
Funny, well written and downright scurrilous. Thought provoking, although less assured when trying to defend things like MP's pay and conditions which doesn't garner much sympathy, but thankfully that was only a very small part of the book. Overall well recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
No dry repetition of political facts perhaps actually gives an oh too human face about MPs. Well worth a read.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)