Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely fun, customisable, hackable and pretty.
This is great. What this thing is, is two lamps that can change colour, and you can control them via your phone or tablet through the internet. It comes with a sort of router device, that Philips call a Bridge, that you plug into your ordinary home router. Note that it isn't a wi-fi connection, you do have to physically plug it into your router so be sure that you have...
Published 3 months ago by Arheddis Varkenjaab

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chips on ceramic
Great product. Unfortunately, like another reviewer, mine came with 2 sizeable chips on the ceramic. Pity...
Published 1 month ago by Mr DD Bushby


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely fun, customisable, hackable and pretty., 11 May 2014
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is great. What this thing is, is two lamps that can change colour, and you can control them via your phone or tablet through the internet. It comes with a sort of router device, that Philips call a Bridge, that you plug into your ordinary home router. Note that it isn't a wi-fi connection, you do have to physically plug it into your router so be sure that you have a spare ethernet socket.
You then connect to the Bridge over the internet, which in turn controls the lights. This sounds a little daunting if you're not technologically confident, but it's really no harder than plugging a lamp into the wall. Dead easy. You can add more lights to the setup just by buying them and plugging them in.

The potential is amazing. The Philips app is fun to play with, but is a bit clunky and a little bit confusing. You can change the colour of the lights by selecting a photograph, and then choosing the colours from that photograph that the lights will display, and how bright they will be and so on. You can program them to turn on at a certain time of day, or come on as a gentle alarm clock. You can also set them so that they turn off when you leave the house (assuming you take your phone with you) and then turn on again when you get home. You can turn the lights on and off remotely from, well, anywhere, using your phone over the internet.

The real power though is that philips is obviously really pushing to allow people to create custom apps with these lights. The API is freely available so you can create your own apps if you know how to do that, or you can download others from the Play store. I've apps that turn your lights into a lava lamp, gradually changing colours. Or you can find one that uses the microphone in your phone to control the lights to music, turning them into disco lights. The potential is amazing. The also support the 'If This Then That' (IFTTT) system, so you could even do things like make the lights turn a particular colour when you receive an email.

If you have a Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote Control then it plays nicely with that too. You can have the lights automatically dim when you start a movie for example, and then come back up when you turn it off.

As well as all the geeky stuff, the are also very nice lamps. They are a sort of porcelain material but not too obtrusive or big, so are quite easy to hide in little corners to light up areas of a room. The light output is high, and the colour choices really do allow you to wash your rooms with colour. A little bit of experimentation and they can look amazing. The app can control up to 50 lights, so if you were so inclined you could customise your entire house with colour.

Tremendous fun, easy to use, and massive amounts of potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 21st Century lighting..., 28 April 2014
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First off the packaging was nice and secure as I had been a little concerned about it getting from A to B without damage to the lights. The box containing the lights and bridge and plugs etc has some instructions on the inner lid. This is something that you would not buy if you did not have the IT system to support it. The actual setting up does not take ages. The lights remind me of something you would see in an up market bar or night club but they have lots more of them. These 2 lights certainly bring a whole range of colours into play and have numerous domestic possibilities. You can control them remotely from a Smart phone for example. They can be used as a security item by having them come on when you are out. You can also have them wake you rather like an alarm but with light. The system can be added to should you wish. The design is a bit space like and futuristic and perhaps suits modern minimalistic decorations more than the dragon and velvet fabric setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 23 Aug 2014
By 
D. Burnett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wasn't expecting to use these quite as much, but after my main light circuit went I've really had the opportunity to see what they can do!

Setting up was a bit of a problem at first, then I uninstalled the app and reinstalled it after connecting the bridge and it worked perfectly.
You can control each light individually at almost any type of colour and intensity you want.
You can use combinations of light to create scene, even utilise a photo and have your lights use the colours from it.
You can set geofencing for lights to come off and go when you leave the area (admittedly this function not so great as it keeps placing my house about 200 meters from where it actually is even though google maps knows exactly where I am. I have therefore not enabled it because I would not like my lights to go out whilst I'm still at home.)
You can set an alarm timer for a light to wake you up in the morning. (Create a scene using the lights/ colours you want to turn on in the morning. And use that "scene" for purposes of the alarm.)
And you can control your lights away from home using your 3/4G signal, great if you're one of those people who just likes to check.

It's not cheap, but it seems well made and easy to use, and the lights don't get hot when left in/ on (at least mine haven't).

If you want the control but not the colours I recommend, the hue "lux" range coming out soon! (and a lot cheaper!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chips on ceramic, 13 July 2014
This review is from: Philips Friends of hue Personal Wireless Lighting Bloom Extension Kit (1 x Bloom LED Mood Light) (Kitchen & Home)
Great product. Unfortunately, like another reviewer, mine came with 2 sizeable chips on the ceramic. Pity...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual idea and a good one at that!, 23 April 2014
By 
Pat Campbell (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I requested this item and I wasn't really sure what it did before testing it. There is little in the way of instructions, but in truth you don't really need them. There were two lights/blooms and each had a three pin plug. There is a Wi-Fi small switch console with a plug and an ethernet-type lead that goes from that to your Wi-Fi router. Once all plugged in I then downloaded the Android (or Apple) app 'Philips hue' and I was able to click on a photograph of a scene or one from a picture on my phone and the lights coloured the same hues as the picture. Sunset was strong orange-red, flowers became a pink and blue and my favourite was Taj Mahal which came through as a pale pinky-blue light. You decided what colours you want. You can also programme the lights to suit your needs, they can be for relaxing, reading and to energise. You can set alarms to light up the home, even when you are miles away with your mobile and Wi-Fi. You can set the colours to light up your home when you come home from work. By playing around with the colour palettes you are in control of the colours and moods that you can create.

I shall no doubt get used to how I can work this so I can benefit from the lights and I could use it in the sitting room and the bedroom. What fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Controllable mood lighting for the 21st century!, 20 April 2014
By 
Robert Hardie "Rob Hardie" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There are many products out there that offer mood lighting for different situations around the home or office. This system takes this to the next level. You get a 'bridge' - a wifi hub that you plug into your router. Then using a free app you can control the lights which are plugged in around the home or where ever you want them. The lights can be controlled for brightness and colour. The bridge can control up to 50 individual lights - although there are two in this kit. The lights can be grouped, in the app, to enable you to control more than one at the same time with the same settings. The lights in this set have a metal base that gives them a high quality feel, and a single flex that you plug into the mains. They are angled to about 45 degrees. This is fixed. In use the lights are powerful enough to add a colour wash to a whole wall or even a whole room. They are much more powerful than a lot of the colour changing led light sets that have been on the market for some time. The lights can be set to any colour, including white, if you want to use the light for reading or other tasks.
The app also allows you to set the time that lights come on or go off. So if you want to be woken up with light, you can do this automatically. Likewise, they can be set to go off at certain times. OK, so there's nothing ground breaking there is there? Well, it then takes this up a notch. You can set the lights to come on when you arrive home and to go off when you leave. It does this by detecting the presence of your phone or tablet being detected in your wifi network - pretty cool eh?
The lights can also be set to fade in or out over different periods to build a subtle change in light. Not something you can do with a normal time switch.
Finally, it should also be said that by the lights can also be set remotely so you do not even have to be within range to do any of this.
So what about the negatives? Well, you do need to use your phone or tablet to control them. Yes, you can flick the switch at the wall to turn them on or off, but there is no other control method, no knobs or dials to control them manually. The angle of the lighting is fixed, so if you want to direct them upward to a ceiling you would need to use something to wedge them up or hold them in a different position. Thirdly, they are relatively expensive and so kitting out your whole house with them would entail a major investment.
They are expensive but being LED technology, they should have a long life and are low energy consumers. So, in my opinion, they are well worth their 5 stars as they are, to the best of my knowledge, leading the field in consumer mood lighting. I really like them and love the ability to change the colour of the light to suit my whim, all from the comfort of my armchair. Looking at the Philips website, it looks like there are many other similar products in the pipeline. The ability to sync the lights to music looks like it is on the way for some of their products. All-in-all an exciting new innovation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Colour light your room to your mood, 20 April 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "BuddieHollie" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Comes in a shoe size box with 2 lights that can sit anywhere near a mains socket. You just plug in the two lights then connect the transmitter to the mains (3 free mains sockets needed altogether inc the lights) and a cable from the transmitter to the router (cable supplied) then go to the app store and download the app to your smart phone or tablet and bridge it. To do this its just a case of pressing a button and few seconds later it will bridge. Once bridged your ready to Rock and Roll just play around with the different pictures supplied to create different coloured lighting effects, dimmer etc. You can use this app to turn off the lights or turn them back on so handy if your out and you want to turn your lights on to give impression the home is occupied. You can also use them like normal lights without colour if you wish for reading etc. There is also a nice timer for setting the lights to come on in the morning for you such as to awaken you like the sun rising or to come on when it gets dark outside if your out and dont want to forget to turn your lights on. The lamps are also energy efficient so will help you to save on electricity. I only gave them 4 stars cause they are a bit expensive otherwise no problems during setup and use they are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bathe your walls in light, 27 April 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "Fiona" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am not a fan of over ‘faffy’ technology. I like the ‘plug in and switch it on’ variety. If there is a problem I usually unplug and call on Mister A. He loves tech, the trickier the better. Mayhap it is a boy thing.

Phillips have come up with a very clever little ‘doohicky’ that can change the colour of the walls in your home without needing to paint the walls,. The colour range is large and impressive. Its simple and elegant. Rather like myself.

Wireless tech means you can operate the system from any smart device that is compatible. This means you can turn the lights on and off, change colour etc all to fox nasty Mister Burglar and his bag of swag. Very handy.

I was impressed that the system also allows you to wake up nice and simply, by gently turning on the system. More pleasant than the horrific noise of the alarm clock.

The pack I received comes with two lamps but the system can be added to. You could create entire rooms of different colours.

This system is not on the cheap side, but if you are interested in making colour part of your life than give
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The future arriving early, 18 Jun 2014
By 
Tom Douglas (Marlow) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In short: lights you can control from your smartphone.

Which, well, doesn't sound all that clever. Except that 'control from your smartphone' means programme to do anything, whether it is replicating the lights from 'Close Encounters of the Third Kind' or changing colour depending on the weather forecast. You could, conceivably, make them blink every time Steven Fry tweets, if you could cope with the strobe effect.

But, well, I'm no programmer. This is a geek item which will find all kinds of interesting uses. In a year's time, a lot of those uses will have been hard-coded in so that mere mortals like me can just plug and play.

A smart product, almost literally, but too smart for 'everyday folks'. Four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hue Bloom, 22 Jun 2014
This review is from: Philips Friends of hue Personal Wireless Lighting Bloom Extension Kit (1 x Bloom LED Mood Light) (Kitchen & Home)
This is a 4 star item. Love Hue and the bloom behind my TV is awsome !!! But and this is a big but...... Mines is hidden, so the chipped white ceramic was not a concern, very dissapointing. Escpecaily as it costs 79!!! Also does not like to sit the way it is intended so if out in the open, I would be and WILL be looking at Hue Iris. But with a Hue Bulb , and Gu10 and now bloom. I am more than happy with the Hue experience. Running out of places for more. Maybe a further bloom behind the TV ☺ Still very dissapointing finish on my bloom. May not be a Philips issue could well be the Amazon supplier. If in doubt it should be returned no suppose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews