Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Novel musical toy
We were pleasantly surprised by this. It's an attractive enough cot bumper and, as a toy, offers decent quality sound, not muffled and tinny as you might expect. It comes with the required three AA batteries...and a volume control!

It can be used in different ways at different ages. For a young baby in a cot, the result of inadvertently kicking a `key' will...
Published 5 months ago by Mr Gumby

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to recommend
The potential of this piano is not realised in my view. The sound quality is great and sounds a lot like a piano. However, when you press a key, after a short pause it goes on to play a merry little tune. The piano has two music settings and it does this on both - just playing the tune for longer on one setting than the other. In my view, toys like this should only make a...
Published 6 months ago by kingg


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to recommend, 31 Aug. 2014
By 
kingg (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fisher-Price Kick and Play Piano Cot Cover (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The potential of this piano is not realised in my view. The sound quality is great and sounds a lot like a piano. However, when you press a key, after a short pause it goes on to play a merry little tune. The piano has two music settings and it does this on both - just playing the tune for longer on one setting than the other. In my view, toys like this should only make a noise when pressed or interacted with in some way by the child. This gives the child feedback that when they press it, something happens (a noise) - the learning comes from that understanding of cause and effect. Playing a random tune some moments after a key is pressed is not providing any useful feedback for the child. Would it have been so difficult to include a setting that is just a simple piano? I think not.

My 9 month-old was not interested in this at all. However, my 3 year-old had fun jumping around to the music (it is not targeted at 3 year-olds' though). There are plenty of better toys out there for the money and I find it hard to recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Novel musical toy, 13 Sept. 2014
By 
Mr Gumby "DH" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fisher-Price Kick and Play Piano Cot Cover (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
We were pleasantly surprised by this. It's an attractive enough cot bumper and, as a toy, offers decent quality sound, not muffled and tinny as you might expect. It comes with the required three AA batteries...and a volume control!

It can be used in different ways at different ages. For a young baby in a cot, the result of inadvertently kicking a `key' will result in music and lights that come as a surprise. Over time, the baby may work out what triggered them and that different keys played different tunes - cause and effect.

Our grandson, who can now sit on the floor, quickly learned to press the keys with his hands (a gentle touch is all that's required). The two-year-old plays with it too, using his feet to press the keys and then dancing around the room to the music, although he soon gets bored.

You could spend your money on a plain cot bumper and a selection of musical toys but this is a reasonably-priced and novel item. We'd recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fisher Price Kick and Play Piano Cot Cover: A great toy, 26 Aug. 2014
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fisher-Price Kick and Play Piano Cot Cover (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This s a great toy. The toy has a hard plastic back and a soft cloth front. There are piano keys marked out on the front, pressing those produces a musical note. The sensors are large, and the keys are easy to press. Once a key has been pressed a ‘backing music’ track starts to play for about 30 seconds. There is a different track associated with each key. There are two modes, either a new track starts every time a key is pressed, or the music continues unchanged when a key is hit. There are two lights on the front that flash in time with the music.

The toy is easy to use, stimulating both visually and aurally. It can be tied onto the foot of a cot so that it can be played by feet, but we decided not to do this we only put the baby in the cot to sleep and do not want any extra stimulation in that environment. Instead we have it in the play area where it is much appreciated.

All in all a great toy that our baby seems to love. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Early training for the England squad., 11 Sept. 2014
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fisher-Price Kick and Play Piano Cot Cover (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I got this item for my new-born nephew, as I wanted to start his training for the England squad early and build up his legs muscles. I thought getting him kicking this thing day and night would really improve his chances of making it onto the team.

There's nothing wrong with this item but there's nothing that amazing about it either. It's just a big electronic keyboard you tie to the cot, which makes a noise when baby kick's its keys.

Simply tie the 4 fasteners to the bars of the crib and it's good to go. There are 5 keys which all make different notes when pressed, and two lights which are also activated when a key is struck.

The lights also start flashing when this thing starts playing its tunes; which is the one thing I didn't really like about this thing. When the keys are pressed, a tune plays, if it's not immediately followed by another note. Personally, I'd have preferred it to be left so the only noises that came out of it were that made when the keys were struck.

On the plus side, the keyboard can be removed from baby's cot and placed on the floor, where it's equally at home. And there are 'sensory' fabric (which seems to be all the rage these days) arms on the tiger. Overall, it's a nice toy but not amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Our Baby Loves This!, 18 Oct. 2014
By 
H. Pierce (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fisher-Price Kick and Play Piano Cot Cover (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Fisher Price Kick and Play Piano Cot Cover is a musical toy for your young baby. The 'piano' is soft on the front, with a cushioned surface for baby to kick. Kicking, or patting, the keys depresses a sensor that leads to a note being sounded. After a brief pause a tune will then start to play. The tune that plays is specific to the note that has been played, so this makes it slightly less irritating for parents to hear on repeat.

In terms of volume control, there are two volume levels to choose from. There are also two tune modes to choose between. You can opt to have a new tune play for each new key that baby hits, or you can have the original tune play to the end regardless of what notes your baby kicks. The power comes from three AA batteries which are housed inside a plastic section underneath the piano, and the first set are contained inside and ready to use.

Visually, the piano is bright and colourful with a cute tiger picture above . There are two lights above the piano keys, and these flash in rhythm with the music. One of the lights is yellow, and the other one is red.

The piano is designed for use in a cot, and has four sets of ties on the back surface. The ties are not terribly long, so I don't think they could be considered dangerous in any way. We have chosen not to fit it to the cot, however, because I prefer the cot to be about resting instead of playing. As your baby progresses with tummy time, and then learning to sit, you can use the piano as a fun floor toy also.

Our ten week old baby really loves playing with the piano. She sits on our lap and sometimes manages to hit a note or two with her hand. She is fascinated by the lights and music that follow, and they can manage to elicit a chuckle out of her even when she is a bit grumpy.

Overall, I think that the kick and play piano cot cover is a versatile toy that is of excellent quality. It combines fun music with visually stimulating lights, to provide a learning experience for your child. Our baby loves it, and I hope that yours will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Musical fun from 6 months!, 10 Sept. 2014
By 
Grr "Gumbo" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fisher-Price Kick and Play Piano Cot Cover (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a lovely looking toy which will arrive with batteries already inserted and ready to go, as I discovered bringing it home in the car - cue one extremely confused driver wondering what the strange noises were coming from the back seat.

The front of the toy is brightly coloured and attractive with a soft cloth covering while the back is hard plastic to give it structure. There are ties at each corner of the toy to enable you to tie it to cot struts if you desire but it can also be laid flat on the floor so it can be operated by a baby lying down and sitting up when they are older.

The toy is operated by pressing the picture of the keyboard on the front. It takes very little pressure for the piano keys to be activated so small feet or hands will be able to operate it easily. The sound quality of the notes is good and the tunes it also plays are fun, catchy and also of a good quality. It doesn't sound tinny which is a problem I have had with other toys in the past. Though it is worth noting that the sounds are fairly loud (even on the lower settings) which might not be ideal in a cot environment if you want your baby to chill out.

As well as playing music there are two flashing lights on the front of the toy which go on and off when it is operated. This means that baby get both audio and visual stimulation.

Once you or baby have played a few notes a tune will kick in playing fun music for your baby to listen to. It has been mentioned that his really does not help musical development in babies but looking at the product description this is not really what the toy is aimed at. It works on the cause and effect of kicking or hitting something and getting a response. There are also two settings you can chose, one which allows separate notes to be played and one which is more tune based, both of which are good for different situations.

I would say that the toy will be best appreciated from about 6 months onward. Before this time they really are too small to appreciate the relationship between what they are doing and the result. A nice little toy that most babies will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well made quality toy, but it's educational aims are perhaps missed., 8 Sept. 2014
By 
Lilyfae (West Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fisher-Price Kick and Play Piano Cot Cover (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I want to like this as I appreciate the intention behind it.
My 17 month old LOVES music and is obsessed with my piano but being tiny it's not always accessible, so this I thought would be a good introduction to a simple five note scale and musical improvisation, plus for further siblings it could be used for its original intent. Sadly it doesn't live up to my expectations.

This kick and play piano cot cover is designed to stimulate cause and effect learning, that you kick the pad and it makes a noise, kick a different part of the pad and it makes a different noise from another part etc. However from my knowledge (mummy books) this psychological development happens later than the particularly energetic laying down kicky period it is initially aiming at and is more around the time of established sitting up independently and confidently.
However I think it should have use in the sitting up period and beyond to develop play and understanding of cause.

From a musical learning point of view it's pretty much pants. I only got this because it is supposed to have two functions, one that any note kicked sets off a song, the other that you can play the 5 notes.
The scale isn't the usual do re mi fa so progression which you can use to play some simple tunes, it's do re mi so la which is not as useful at this age in my opinion.
To make things worse, you can't really play anything on it that requires a pause between notes held longer than a crotchet before some music kicks in!!! This doesn't help musical development through improvisation and play, it actually hinders it and negates the cause and effect learning.

The toy itself is visually pleasing, and the tiger character is recognisable from other toys, and associated apps. The fisher price brand is firmly fixed in our society as quality children's toys and this is a well made item, sturdy but not too hard, cushioning where it's important to stop injuries but can take the whacks and kicks of an energetic baby and/or toddler.
I wish it had Velcro or snap fastenings instead of ties which are notoriously difficult if a child has tugged on a tied item, but understand that from their perspective tied fastenings are less likely to give to force and possibly harm a child by the product falling if tugged hard enough.
It's also VERY loud even on the lower setting! I really don't know why they need to make children's toys SO loud! yes it's good for children with hearing impairments to be stimulated and included, but when even the lower setting is headache inducing, it's not good for those with a normal hearing range and I worry about damage.

My 17 month old loves the toy as a toy, but for musical development she would be better playing on my piano or a toddler keyboard that has a proper do re mi scale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Air piano., 1 Sept. 2014
By 
debbie8355 (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fisher-Price Kick and Play Piano Cot Cover (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a really entertaining, very loud piano. Fisher Price seem to have recently super-sized their volume levels on new products and this is really noisy but it's a piano so it works. The tunes produced sound like my first bontempi back tracks rather than classical music but they are bright and cheerful half recognisable classic nursery tunes.

It looks slightly different than pictured. The ties on the back are aqua rather than black now and grippy, thicker looking material with a strong warning not to add ties to make them longer because a strangulation hazard. And not to use it when your baby can pull themselves up to standing. I've never been a fan of cot bumpers and you wouldn't use this at bedtime anyway as it's loud rather than soothing. It's easy to tie/untie the strings.

As a piano it's rather good. It feels like air filled pockets behind the keys when you press then and it takes little effort but a definite push is needed. Hitting another key stops the sequence with the new note and starts a new tune so you can get a crazy mix of noise which is fun. For some unknown reason a frog croaks at the end of each tune alerting your baby it's 'the end'. The keys go from deep to high in a recognisable order.

It's lovely to look at with bright stimulating colours and great flashing lights. The tiger paws are thin material which can be flapped up and down a bit - they might suffer a bit with baby drool but otherwise it looks wipe cleanable and maintainable.

The sound unit and lights unit is a long solid oblong at the top but the front is really soft and the air filled type keys mean your baby with have a soft experience playing with this. No fear of bruised heels or wrists. I would imagine older babies would use it as a step to climb out of the cot as the top is solid so it only has a limited lifespan in the cot but lots of play value later as a general soft toy/piano with an added bonus siblings can't use it so much as a hammer on each other given the soft edges.

Highly recommended. I would have given it 5 stars but I wish the music was better and had a soothing classical option rather than retro keyboard. Also tying and untying to cot bars is a bit of a faff. Would have preferred Velcro which can be super strong rather than struggling with four sets of knots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely product, 8 Sept. 2014
By 
Champak "Hundalz" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fisher-Price Kick and Play Piano Cot Cover (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
You can consider it as a baby piano, so don't expect a Bach to be played with this. It is supposed to cheer the babies and help them to improve their abilities with hands and feet which does the job. My baby is trying to push harder each time shes not getting what she was expecting. There are keys she loves more than others because of music its playing. Colors on the piano is great, no problem with sound either as its for babies, I have no problem with its quality also. My baby love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fun for babies, 10 Oct. 2014
By 
Samuel "Samuel" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fisher-Price Kick and Play Piano Cot Cover (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
We're really impressed with the Kick and Play Piano Cot Cover. It takes 3xAAA batteries (supplied in the box, always a good thing), and hangs over the side/bottom of a cot - although it can be used outside of a cot, obviously. The cover has a firm back and a soft front, and has four ties with which to tie onto the cot. The material of these is fairly thick, so it's quite easy to undo the knots once tied.

Once turned on, there are five piano keys. Gently hitting (or kicking) any one of these plays a different note, the note then being followed by a fairly long (about 30 seconds) piece of music. Play/kick another note, and that one starts playing, and so on. We have this for our small niece when she comes to stay, and she really likes it - so much so that we've had to take it out of the cot on a couple of occasions so that it isn't too distracting! It's also that rare thing - a baby toy with a volume control, should your baby like things a bit quieter (or louder).

All in all this is a really good thing. I would think it helps co-ordination (trying to hit/kick the different keys), it's bright and colourful, and quite musical. we like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fisher-Price Kick and Play Piano Cot Cover
£17.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews