Customer Reviews


658 Reviews
5 star:
 (553)
4 star:
 (84)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


105 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Business
What at first seems like an odd alliance makes the most sense when you realise that Mick Green and the Pirates were the common denominator, shaping Wilko's guitar style and steering The Who towards its powerful approach with rhythm and lead guitars lines flowing seamlessly in and out of one another.

There are no prizes for innovation for the music on this...
Published 9 months ago by a music fan

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid bluesy - good but not great
I love this in places, especially being a fan of both The Who and Dr Feelgood. Solid bluesy sound but Daltrey sounds a bit strained at times. Wilco is solid and chruns out the riffs as well as ever but my main criticism is that it is a bit one dimensional. Hence it gets a "good bit not great".
Published 3 months ago by Comical Engineer


‹ Previous | 121 22 2366 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album of the year? So far, 26 May 2014
By 
Tim Chaney "soloinsoho" (Madrid) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
Well for me it is. Great clunking R&B with Daltry pushing his voice to the limits it can go nowadays. One piccy of them in the current day one the cover would have been good. Stand out tracks for me are the title track, Dylan's Can You Please Crawl Out My Window cover and All Through the City. I also recommend the Wilko narrated Dr.Feelgood documentary ' Oil City Confidential'. Should they do a follow up? No, don't gents. You nailed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Going back home, 26 May 2014
By 
Thomas Topp - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
Absolutely brilliant.much better than expected.Roger Daltry still sounds great,Wilko Is just as good and Harmonica is spine tingling !!! Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A raw masterpiece., 24 May 2014
By 
R F DIGHT (DOVER, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
A gem of an album. Superb performances from every musician involved. The "must have" album for any R n B fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it !, 23 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (MP3 Download)
Always been a fan of Wilco and works very well with Daltrey's vocals - 1st album I've bought in years and not disappointed....Pray for a miracle for Wilco ........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite guitarist and favourite singer. Did I just make that up?, 23 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
Loved the Who. Loved the Feelgoods and their under appreciated role in setting off everything in 1976. Wilko is a gent and complete 'one off' and leading contender for greatest living Englishman , for now :-(.
Daltrey in fine form in his lower register , great harp playing from Steve Weston and of course the wonderful bass playing of vintage Blockhead Norman Watt Roy Great re-treads of classic Wilko songs (and a Bob Dylan cover?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (MP3 Download)
If you like Wilko's style of attack guitar, and Daltrey's great vocals, you'll love this, takes me back years to the golden age
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even my Mother likes it, 22 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
Brilliant even my 78 year old mother likes it, R & B as it should be not todays hijacked caterwauling that claims to be R & B

Glyn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
Took a couple of plays but now I am hooked. It is brilliant. I would definitely
E recommend this CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You'll feel better than Dr Feelgood, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (MP3 Download)
We're all painfully aware of the sad state of Wilko Johnson's health, but surely this collaboration will prove to be a fitting epitaph for a musical legend at the height of his game; backed up by an equally respected rock singer, who is quite frankly unsurpassable. I first heard about this album when Chris Evans started to rave on about it and play some tracks on his Breakfast Show and I thought then, that this was going to be an album I needed to have in my collection. It is creative genius and instantly likeable. Toe tapping, and fired up, with raunchy vocals from Daltrey, make this the must have R&B album of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
Brilliant CD and some great tracks - some old Dr Feelgood tracks on there with Roger Daltrey's vocals - fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 121 22 2366 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Going Back Home
Going Back Home by Roger Daltrey and Wilko Johnson
Buy MP3 Album£4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews