Customer Reviews


422 Reviews
5 star:
 (368)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Business
What at first seems like an odd alliance makes the most sense when you realise that Mick Green and the Pirates were the common denominator, shaping Wilko's guitar style and steering The Who towards its powerful approach with rhythm and lead guitars lines flowing seamlessly in and out of one another.

There are no prizes for innovation for the music on this...
Published 4 months ago by a music fan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
Not to bad, but had higher hopes
Published 7 days ago by Andrew Tulip


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Business, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
What at first seems like an odd alliance makes the most sense when you realise that Mick Green and the Pirates were the common denominator, shaping Wilko's guitar style and steering The Who towards its powerful approach with rhythm and lead guitars lines flowing seamlessly in and out of one another.

There are no prizes for innovation for the music on this album, but what a celebration of a classic style of R&B and a showcase for Wilko's song writing. The energy that powers many of these tracks is stunning and puts many a young band to shame. Wilko drives them along hard without letting up and Daltrey's puts in the best vocals that he's recorded in years. If only Pete Townshend could write something new to get him this fired up. In fact, the vocals are very reminiscent of the old High Numbers days when Daltrey tried his best to sound like a gruff and growling bluesman, now it comes naturally, but with an added power that defies his years.

This is good time music with old school excitement and urgency about it and it will put a smile on your face. It's all about having a good time and it's plain that the musicians had that in spades when they recorded the tracks. I hope that this album puts a smile on Wilko's face that even his rotten illness can't wipe off. This deserves to be a best selling album.

PS (2 May) I've just heard that Wilko has undergone a radical surgery to remove his tumour, which could give him a serious shot at survival - fingers crossed for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loving this little gem, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (MP3 Download)
I have to say although I like Dr Feelgood and The Who I wouldn't have bought this album. But having read a review in classic rock mag giving it 9 out of ten I thought well it's only a fiver lets give it a try. Well I'm glad I did. It's brilliant can't stop playing it. All the songs are Wilco's that he wrote for Feelgood with the exception of a Dylan cover which I'd never heard before. Every track is full of great Wilco guitar licks and sassy harmonica which I love. But the bonus on this album is Daltery. He sings Wilco's songs like a man reinvented. The Who were never like this. It's a piece of Rock n Roll and Harmonica heaven. Short but full of toe tapping tracks. Even the ballad Turned 21 a song about lost youth is good. I recommend this album if you like Feelgood but even if you don't give it a try you'll be pleasantly surprised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Johnson and Daltrey go home, 24 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
In 2010 Roger Daltrey and Wilko Johnson found themselves sitting together at an awards ceremony. After talking about their love for old-style British R&B, the pair resolved to record an album together. And after Wilko was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer in January 2013, he decided make the most of the time he had left and so Going Back Home was born.

Of the eleven tracks on the album, ten are drawn from Wilko's back catalogue, the eleventh is a cover of Bob Dylan's 'Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window'.

There's nothing particularly subtle about Going Back Home, Daltrey growls his way through a selection of classics from the Wilko songbook - such as 'Everybody's Carrying a Gun', 'Sneaking Suspicion' and 'Keep It Out of Sight' whilst former Blockheads Norman Watt-Roy and Dylan Howe, from Wilko's live band, as well as Mick Talbot and Steve Weston provide solid backup.

In summary, Going Back Home is a good record of British R&B that brings the career of a British music maverick to a decent end. Well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wilko's Seminal Album Buy It NOW!, 5 April 2014
By 
Anthony Eyre "Karnevil" (County Down) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
This is a great album and is already the best album of the last 12 months. This is as good as the very best R&B from the 60/70's and contrary to some reviews I think Daltrey is back to what he did best in the 70s singing great rock and blues. If this is Wilko’s last recorded album (hopefully not) then when anyone says in 30 years time who was Wilko Johnson they can be pointed to this album and know who he was. A brilliant rock musician, legendary guitarist and great songwriter. This album is full of energy and is a must have. Not a dud track. If you are a serious Rock fan this is a must have album. I originally bought it to support Wilko as have always been a Feelgood fan but this is a very fine album without the sentiment with everyone on top form. Most artist have a seminal album Joshua Tree, Dark side of the Moon, Sgt Peppers, Ziggy Stardust Etc this is Wilko's.

Buy it if you love Rock you won’t regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lifetime of r`n`b in 35 minutes, 23 July 2014
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
Each track is an average of about three minutes long, there are eleven numbers over a mere thirty-five barnstorming minutes, and Roger Daltrey sings Wilko Johnson`s songs heroically, like Joe Cocker on steroids or a cockney Howlin` Wolf. At times he sounds like a man possessed, like someone bursting out of confining ropes. But time was of the essence, as we know...
Only one song isn`t an original, and it`s a terrific version of Dylan`s 1965 single Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window (which I went out and bought on 45 when I was fourteen). Wilko`s recorded this before, but it`s great to hear Daltrey belting it out.
There are a couple of slower songs, but mostly the band - consisting of Wilko J on guitar, Dylan Howe on drums, Norman Watt-Roy on bass, Mick Talbot on keyboards, with Steve Weston making his presence felt on harmonica, especially on the titular opener, which gives notice that this set of r`n`b rockers is going to wake up the neighbours, and possibly the street. No need to 'play loud'. It`s all loud!
This is the best and most invigorating rock record I`ve heard since ZZ Top`s La Futura a year or two ago, and that`s high praise.
Rog hasn`t sounded this enthused in years, and as for Wilko: live long and keep rockin'!

Short and sweet, but this is the real thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracker from Wilko and Roger, 24 Mar 2014
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
This is a cracking album, I think. It's good, solid British R&B (in the old sense) with two geniuses of the genre on fine form. Seeing The Who at Charlton in 1974 and Dr Feelgood (twice) at close range in the Cambridge Corn Exchange around the same time remain among the great musical experiences of my life even 40 years on, and while Wilko, Daltrey and I are all old gits now, it's good to see that at least two out of the three of us have still got the old magic.

There is a mix of old Dr Feelgood songs, Wilko's own stuff and one Dylan cover in Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window. I think it's a joy from start to finish. They open with Going Back Home which Daltrey delivers (brilliantly) with a Brilleaux-esque growl way down in his throat (Wilko bends a string and that's all she wrote, of course) but it's recognisably his own take on it. Later in a fantastic Keep It Out Of Sight he really goes for the full Daltrey singing an octave above Brilleaux and, as Pete Townshend once memorably said of Love Reign O'er Me, Roger gives it his b*ll*cks. It's just great stuff all the way through.

Wilko is...well, Wilko. Brilliant, distinctive and perhaps slightly more solid and less bonkers than of old, he chops and hits that great beat like a teenager and in my mind he's still staring like a madman and moving around the stage as though he's on casters. Just perfect. The two of them and a very, very good band produce something really good here. Anyone with any interest in this type of music will love this and fans certainly won't be disappointed. This may well be Wilko's swan song and the decision to close the album with All Through The City is inspired.

If this is Wilko's last album it is one he can be proud of. Thanks for this, and for everything, Wilko. Go well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Going Back Home; Johnson & Daltrey, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
I Bought this on the strength of hearing one track on the radio ( I keep it to myself).
I could not believe that a man nearing 70 (when recording) could produce such a clear, strong tone (Roger Daltrey was 70 on 1 March) he has obviously learned to manage his voice and sing in a key and range where he can actually hit all the notes without sounding as if he is straining, unlike some of his peers! Equally, for a man given under a year to live in January 2013, Wilco Johnson should be on a cloud playing a harp! However he clearly felt he had unfinished business with his Fender.
I have been a Who fan from the start (early to mid sixties) but am nowhere near so familiar with Dr Feelgood or Wilko Johnson's work,this is a wrong I will have to right! What a guitarist this man is, I have heard interviews with Roger Daltrey and he has said he wanted to do this album for fun (and the Teenage Cancer Trust to whom he is donating his share of the earnings from this album) this sense of fun can be heard in the music and performances.
All in all a terrific album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album by Wilko and Roger, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Robin Stephenson (Wilmslow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
As a fairly recent fan of Wilko, I have ordered alot of his back catalogue, and looked forward to this release with great interest. It is fantastic to hear Wilko's blistering riffs backed by a terrific band- while part of me prefers Wilko to sing his own tracks, Roger's vocal dexterity lends a new dimension to these classic tracks. Keep on rocking Wilko- one of this countries greatest and most unsung guitar heroes. You live forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two of the Best, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
The feel of this album takes me back to the days when R&B meant something different from what it does today. Songs are 'single length' and performed with considerable verve and skill. Wilko's guitar is sublime and Roger's vocals show why he has had such a successful career. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Absolutely love this record. The vinyl is really well made and this is a superb pressing - it sounds great. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Going Back Home
Going Back Home by Roger Daltrey and Wilko Johnson
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews