Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely and loving
This beautiful new album is overflowing with love. The music and lyrics of Dan and Laura Curtis are packed with love of all kinds - passion, love long lost, unrequited love and love burning brightly. The messages of these brilliant new songs show the loving reason the album was created - to show care and compassion for Children in Need with all proceeds going to that...
Published 6 months ago by LittleCook

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but I've heard much better
I love some of the voices on this album but found the songs to be a bit bland and old-fashioned on the whole. There weren't any songs that I instantly fell in love with but most did grow on me in the end. With the exception of Katy Treharne - her voice is very grating and annoying to listen to.
Published 2 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely and loving, 20 Mar 2014
This review is from: Love on 42nd Street (Audio CD)
This beautiful new album is overflowing with love. The music and lyrics of Dan and Laura Curtis are packed with love of all kinds - passion, love long lost, unrequited love and love burning brightly. The messages of these brilliant new songs show the loving reason the album was created - to show care and compassion for Children in Need with all proceeds going to that charity.
Each song was crafted carefully for a specific, talented and wonderful West End or Broadway star. Consequently, every performance is perfect for the song in question. From John Owen-Jones powerful Tell Me What Makes A Man through to Lea Salonga's heart-wrenching Wished That I Could Call You we hear eveer aspect of human love.
Katy Treharne's performance of What Love Is For is pure and perfect in every note and Simon Bowman's No Time For Romance will have even the toughest of us reaching for a hanky.
If you love music theatre and enjoy top class singing by real stars then this is the album for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic New Music, 19 Mar 2014
By 
S. R. Ridgewell "music lover" (London UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love on 42nd Street (Audio CD)
This is such a beautiful album, written by two very talented composers. Each song was written for the specific performer and they all sing from their hearts. Can't stop listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Excellent Talent!, 19 Mar 2014
By 
lizzie (north of north) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love on 42nd Street (MP3 Download)
The young writing duo of Dan and Laura Curtis are just spectacular, this new music is very emotional and in varying styles, all relating to love. I was particularly touched by Lea Salonga's song, the words are so true. And in addition to some wonderful new music there are 8 spectacular voices to sing it. Loved the quasi rock of John Owen Jones and the gospel of Katy Treharne, the light operatic of Sierra Boggess. Every number a hit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Album., 17 Mar 2014
By 
Mrs. A. Caswell "willow" (north shields) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love on 42nd Street (MP3 Download)
This is a beautiful album. Dan and Laura Curtis are to be praised for the balance and choice of singers involved on this album. We'll done to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album!!!, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love on 42nd Street (Audio CD)
Great album. Had a few reservations going in blind (purchased to support the cause), but everything since receiving this has been on repeat in the player. Particularly, "Why am I falling?' Can't wait to hear more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic songs and singers, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love on 42nd Street (Audio CD)
Did not know what to expect but I have enjoyed the compact disc greatly. John Owen Jones was exceptional .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing Album., 27 Mar 2014
By 
C. Kitchen "chrisk594" (East Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love on 42nd Street (MP3 Download)
This album, written by Dan & Laura Curtis for Children in Need, gathers together a wonderful group of musical theatre performers. Their voices are all well suited to the glorious tunes Dan & Laura have provided. I have been listening to them all regularly since I got it. I particularly enjoy John Owen-Jones and Ramin Karimloo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but I've heard much better, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love on 42nd Street (MP3 Download)
I love some of the voices on this album but found the songs to be a bit bland and old-fashioned on the whole. There weren't any songs that I instantly fell in love with but most did grow on me in the end. With the exception of Katy Treharne - her voice is very grating and annoying to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love on 42nd Street
Love on 42nd Street by Various artists
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews