Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden gem
Fantastic film - see it if you enjoy witty, clever writing, a strong storyline and a first rate cast. Top notch script by Tracy Letts and superb direction in an atmospheric Oklahoma setting with the family homestead taking centre stage. Julia Roberts delivers a bravura performance as a very angry daughter (lots of F words flying about) and Meryl Streep as always is...
Published 5 months ago by Desert Cactus

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starts intensely dark...and then gets darker still..
...after a family patriarch kills himself. And, nope...this plot detail isn't even close to being a spoiler.

This is a film that certainly won't be for everybody. If you are troubled by sensitive topics (to include suicide, alcoholism, drug addiction, physical abuse, emotional abuse, infidelity and incest): this movie won't be for you. If you are troubled by...
Published 4 months ago by North American Technology Consumer


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars and knowing that the cast was excellent, I eagerly anticipated watching this film, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: August: Osage County [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen the trailer at the cinema, and knowing that the cast was excellent, I eagerly anticipated watching this film. Although I did not expect a side-splitting comedy, the trailer hinted at some humour and amusing family interactions. It was, in fact, unrelentingly dreary and although the cast was stellar and there were some superb individual performances, notably the wonderful Meryl Streep, I would not recommend this film if you are, as I was, expecting an evening of gentle amusement and entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as they come if you want a gloves off depiction of a dysfunctional family stemming from an embittered woman. Been there!, 10 July 2014
By 
D. MALTBY - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: August: Osage County (DVD)
I'd like to write a well rounded review of August Osage County, but after having just watched it I am too emotionally drained to complete such a mammoth task. This should go as far to say that its brilliance was so captivating, with so many elements displayed that make life appear as rich and utterly complicated as it is. A few surprising moments and reactions that felt real and genuine which is an obvious testament to the job done by a well sculpted cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A Dramatic Mess, 1 Aug 2014
This review is from: August: Osage County [DVD] (DVD)
Meryl Streep has never been one of my favorite actors, but in the last few years she's been sweeping up around Oscar-season. Proving her chops in films like "Doubt" and "The Iron Lady", I wasn't surprised to hear the immense buzz surrounding her latest role in "August: Osage County". Though her performance shines among the others, I never quite connected with the characters.

Adapted from Tracy Letts' Pulitzer prize-winning play, the film centers around the highly-dysfunctional Weston family. After a recent tragedy, estranged mother Violet (Meryl Steep) is forced to reunite with her strong-willed daughters. Each scene is utterly predictable, and the emotional moments don't come off as natural as they should.

Shot almost identically to the play, John Wells doesn't bring any of his own flare or style to the direction. However, the strong performances by Streep, Julia Roberts, and Margo Martindale elevate the film to some degree. Unfortunately, they aren't able to save it.

Rated R for language, "August: Osage County" was a dramatic mess that never cleaned itself up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Intensely boring!!, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: August: Osage County [DVD] (DVD)
Utter rubbish....unbelievably bad and not what I was expecting after seeing the trailers! Cannot believe Julia Roberts put her name to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Requires patience, 11 Oct 2014
This review is from: August: Osage County [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you want something to cheer you up then this certainly isn't it. I agree with a lot of the critical comments posted here but life isn't always a bunch of roses and certain aspects of the movie just about pull it through. Streep does over egg her performance but this made me dislike her character even more with the added satisfaction that at the end of the movie - housemaid aside- she was all alone. I could relate to some of the family problems - siblings do not always see eye to eye and cracks are papered over. The problem here is that just about every facet of a dysfunctional family rears it's ugly head The pace is also too slow and it takes about 50 minutes in (with the row at the funeral dinner) to get the story out of first gear.

Streep aside the acting is top quality. It is a little stagey being based on a play and I think the message is that like it or not we inherit many of our parents shortcomings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant brilliant filmmaking!!, 25 July 2014
This review is from: August: Osage County (DVD)
Excellent film!! Loved it!! Outstanding acting and storyline -the kind of the film that does not come along everyday. Well worth a watch but not if you a feeling like a light hearted comedy. Although I did find myself laughing on occasion at the shear excellence of the writing-bravo bravo standing ovation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There was some good acting, funny moments and interesting family secret revelations, 24 July 2014
This review is from: August: Osage County [DVD] (DVD)
There was some good acting, funny moments and interesting family secret revelations. While I enjoyed watching the film, I was left feeling bereft and particularly robbed by the ending. This film could have been so much more but its washy storyline and lack of depth, despite a great cast, let it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worth a look, 22 Jun 2014
This review is from: August: Osage County [DVD] (DVD)
A really well acted film all round with a very good script that is funny and poignant also. Running time maybe a tad too long (?) but very engaging nonetheless. Felt like watching a play at times, which I like. Initially, I thought it might be a bit hammy and overly sincere due to it's dull title, general premise (3 sisters meet at family home of cancer-sricken mother after the suicide of their father), and largely big-name female cast - but not at all! I bet the book is a pretty good read - must check it out sometime. Worth a look then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Life Is Long, 9 April 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: August: Osage County [DVD] (DVD)
"Life is very long" T.S.Elliot

Oklahoma in the summer is suffocating, summer in Osage County is worse. Not because of the stifling heat, but because of the horrible behavior of this suffocating family. If you think your family has troubles, 'you Ain't seen nothing yet'.

The film opens as Beverly, the patriarch, played by Sam Shepard is talking about the family to the new housemaid he has hired. Bless this woman ,she know not what she walks into. We have Violet, Bev's wife, played by Meryl Streep, in another magnificent role. She is the kind of woman you never want to meet. We Learn her mother was mean,vindictive and abusive, and that describes Vi to a 'T'. The entire family comes home when the father gives missing. Daughters, Barbara, played by Julia Roberts; Julianne Nicholson, plays Ivy,and Juliette Lewis plays Karen. This family is hard to take. Barbara, her husband played by Ewen McGregor and her daughter, come home and all is not well with this portion of the family. Margo Martindale, who plays Mattie Faye, Vi's sister, is almost as mean and nasty. Her husband played by Chris Cooper has some real balls, but too late. Benedict Humberbatch plays her son, whooped and beaten into shape by Mattie Faye.

The film certainly captures your interest. One nasty scene after another where we get to know them all. The acting is so superior, it keeps the film intact, and us glued to the screen. One thing after another as the family disintergrates and falls apart. We can see them going, and it is one of those films, you will long think about. Julia Roberts is superb, as are all of the actors, but she and Streep earn accolades. Not for the faint of heart.

Recommended. prisrob 04-08-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I found it boring., 7 Aug 2014
This review is from: August: Osage County (DVD)
Good cast and acting, but in the end I just got bored. Maybe it is me, but nothing much seemed to happen and I got fed up with all the rows. In the end I didn't care about the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

August: Osage County [Blu-ray]
August: Osage County [Blu-ray] by John Wells (Blu-ray - 2014)
£14.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews