Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a State of Affairs!
What a state of affairs! Bad enough that Violet Weston has oral cancer and a drug addiction that makes her just plain cantankerous but then her alcoholic husband, Beverly (Sam Weston) goes and dies and causes further confusion amongst the dysfunctional family. Violet's three grown daughters at least try to rally round and two bring their other halves along for the...
Published 6 months ago by Valerie J.

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars and knowing that the cast was excellent, I eagerly anticipated watching this film
Having seen the trailer at the cinema, and knowing that the cast was excellent, I eagerly anticipated watching this film. Although I did not expect a side-splitting comedy, the trailer hinted at some humour and amusing family interactions. It was, in fact, unrelentingly dreary and although the cast was stellar and there were some superb individual performances, notably...
Published 17 days ago by Heather


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a State of Affairs!, 21 Jan 2014
By 
Valerie J. (West Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: August: Osage County [DVD] (DVD)
What a state of affairs! Bad enough that Violet Weston has oral cancer and a drug addiction that makes her just plain cantankerous but then her alcoholic husband, Beverly (Sam Weston) goes and dies and causes further confusion amongst the dysfunctional family. Violet's three grown daughters at least try to rally round and two bring their other halves along for the funeral. Barbara's (Julia Roberts) still married to Bill (Ewan McGregor) whose found a younger fish to 'fry'. Karen (Juliette Lewis) has got herself a fiancé, Steve Huberbrecht (Dermot Mulroney), a bit of a wide boy who's already had three wives. Violet doesn't like him or his name much. Ivy hasn't anyone yet, or at least she's not letting on. When she does let on, that just causes further grief. Then there's Violet's nagging sister, Mattie (Margot Martindale), wife of long-suffering Charlie (Chris Cooper) and their equally long-suffering son, Charles (Benedict Cumberbatch). Petulant fourteen year old Jean Fordham (Abigail Breslin), daughter of Barbara and Bill, is in the midst of all this mayhem, as is the native American nurse/housemaid/cook (Misty Upham), hired by Beverly and possibly the only normal one among them, who has to turn a deaf ear to Violet's prejudiced and scornful remarks. And to add to frayed tempers, it's a scorching hot August in Osage County.

While August: Osage County (2013) is a bittersweet tale of a dysfunctional family, and sometimes rather dark, it's fascinating viewing. What a cast! Meryl Streep dominates the stage and not just because she is such a fine actress but because Violet is larger than life. For a woman with a mouth problem, she doesn't half talk a lot. The movie, however, doesn't dwell so much on the fact that Violet has cancer but that she has a drug problem. The storyline digs down into each character's foibles, showing the sadness and secrets in present and earlier times. With such a strong cast, I don't see how this movie can fail to entertain and there is an element of humour throughout if you can look past the madness of it all.

I should mention that there's some pretty strong language in August: Osage County (2013), mostly coming out of the mouth of Barbara (Julia Roberts) who is prone to having hissy fits.

VJ - Movies and Books World
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars and knowing that the cast was excellent, I eagerly anticipated watching this film, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: August: Osage County [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen the trailer at the cinema, and knowing that the cast was excellent, I eagerly anticipated watching this film. Although I did not expect a side-splitting comedy, the trailer hinted at some humour and amusing family interactions. It was, in fact, unrelentingly dreary and although the cast was stellar and there were some superb individual performances, notably the wonderful Meryl Streep, I would not recommend this film if you are, as I was, expecting an evening of gentle amusement and entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIFE IS TOO LONG, 19 Jan 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: August: Osage County [DVD] (DVD)
Beverly (Sam Shepard) is a drinker and poet. He is married to Violet (Meryl Streep) a smoker with mouth cancer and pill addict. Beverly hires a person (Misty Upham) to take care of Violet because sadly he knows his daughters won't. After his suicide, Violet's three daughters and sister (Margo Martindale) come to her home. Violet is pill drunk, yet incredibly astute as to what is happening. The daughters all have their issues as they strive to make a mess of their own lives. During this get together, old wounds are opened, new ones created, and secrets revealed.

If the goal of the film is to make the audience feel uncomfortable, this one succeeds as much as "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?" Indeed I imagined the director viewing the audience wringing his hands as they squirm in their seats. This is not a feel good film, and indeed, I have a family of four cats (mother with 3 daughters) that get along better than this dysfunctional family.

The production is well acted. I was glued to the screen as I watched a tragedy unfold as Barbara (Julia Roberts) turns into her mother.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sub-Tennessee Williams melodrama., 12 July 2014
By 
Sue Kichenside - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: August: Osage County [DVD] (DVD)
An all-star cast hams it up to the eye-balls in this appallingly written and directed film. It's rare to see Meryl Streep give an unconvincing performance but virtually all the actors here are badly miscast and guilty of chewing the carpet, with the possible exception of Julianne Nicholson. Unbelievable - and unbelievably bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars... "This madhouse is my home!", 17 Jan 2014
By 
Paul Allaer (Cincinnati) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: August: Osage County [DVD] (DVD)
"August: Osage County" (2013 release; 120 min.) brings the story of one dysfunctional family. As the movie opens (pre-credits), we see Beverly (played by Sam Shepherd) interviewing a live-in housemaid to help him deal with Violet (played by Meryl Streep), who has mouth cancer and pops pain medicine like it's candy. The opening credits then roll to the tune of Eric Clapton's "Lay Down Sally" (which will play a few more times in the movie, it is Vi's favorite song ever). Not long afterwards, Bev goes missing, and the three daughters Barbara (played by Julia Roberts), Karen (played by Juliette Lewis) and Ivy (played by Julianne Nicholson) and their husbands/significant others are all coming to Osage County, OK. To tell you more of the plot would ruin your viewing experience, you'll just have to see for yourself how it all plays out.

Several comments: ah yes, the performances! Let's start with this: as big a fan as I am of Meryl Streep, I think she is way off course in this one, with her performance so borderline over the top that it almost ruins the movie. You can just feel the ACTING dripping off the screen. On multiple occasions Meryl's character Vi dishes out zingers left and right that just end up hurting the people she supposedly loves, but Vi insists that "I'm just truth telling". The big surprise for me instead was Julia Richards, now 46, and possibly turning in her most mature movie role in her career, "Erin Brockovich" notwithstanding. At one point we see her character Barbara getting into an argument with her husband, who claims this place is a madhouse, to which she snorts back "This madhouse is my home!", ha! Other noteworthy performances are from Chris Cooper, perhaps the "sanest" guy in the entire dysfunctional family, and Abigail Breslin (yes, the erstwhile little girl from "Little Miss Sunshine"), playing the 14 yr. daughter of Julia Robert's character.

The movie opened recently here in Cincinnati, and I couldn't wait to go see it. When I arrived for the late matinee showing at the local art-house theatre, there was a line around the block, literally, so I got in line and asked "is there something special going on?", but no, it was simply "August: Osage County" opening! The screening was PACKED, tilting heavily towards toward seniors for some reason (not that there's anything wrong with that). Bottom line: at times the movie is highly enjoyable, and emotionally HEAVY, but at other times the acting is so OBVIOUS and almost over the top, that it really detracts from the movie. Hence my mixed 3.5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There was some good acting, funny moments and interesting family secret revelations, 24 July 2014
This review is from: August: Osage County [DVD] (DVD)
There was some good acting, funny moments and interesting family secret revelations. While I enjoyed watching the film, I was left feeling bereft and particularly robbed by the ending. This film could have been so much more but its washy storyline and lack of depth, despite a great cast, let it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worth a look, 22 Jun 2014
This review is from: August: Osage County [DVD] (DVD)
A really well acted film all round with a very good script that is funny and poignant also. Running time maybe a tad too long (?) but very engaging nonetheless. Felt like watching a play at times, which I like. Initially, I thought it might be a bit hammy and overly sincere due to it's dull title, general premise (3 sisters meet at family home of cancer-sricken mother after the suicide of their father), and largely big-name female cast - but not at all! I bet the book is a pretty good read - must check it out sometime. Worth a look then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Life Is Long, 9 April 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: August: Osage County [DVD] (DVD)
"Life is very long" T.S.Elliot

Oklahoma in the summer is suffocating, summer in Osage County is worse. Not because of the stifling heat, but because of the horrible behavior of this suffocating family. If you think your family has troubles, 'you Ain't seen nothing yet'.

The film opens as Beverly, the patriarch, played by Sam Shepard is talking about the family to the new housemaid he has hired. Bless this woman ,she know not what she walks into. We have Violet, Bev's wife, played by Meryl Streep, in another magnificent role. She is the kind of woman you never want to meet. We Learn her mother was mean,vindictive and abusive, and that describes Vi to a 'T'. The entire family comes home when the father gives missing. Daughters, Barbara, played by Julia Roberts; Julianne Nicholson, plays Ivy,and Juliette Lewis plays Karen. This family is hard to take. Barbara, her husband played by Ewen McGregor and her daughter, come home and all is not well with this portion of the family. Margo Martindale, who plays Mattie Faye, Vi's sister, is almost as mean and nasty. Her husband played by Chris Cooper has some real balls, but too late. Benedict Humberbatch plays her son, whooped and beaten into shape by Mattie Faye.

The film certainly captures your interest. One nasty scene after another where we get to know them all. The acting is so superior, it keeps the film intact, and us glued to the screen. One thing after another as the family disintergrates and falls apart. We can see them going, and it is one of those films, you will long think about. Julia Roberts is superb, as are all of the actors, but she and Streep earn accolades. Not for the faint of heart.

Recommended. prisrob 04-08-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AWFUL!!!!!, 28 July 2014
This review is from: August: Osage County (Blu-ray)
I thought this film would be fantastic as I am a huge fan of Meryl Streep... omg - I've never seen such a depressing film.
The rowing, the shouting, the tears - how this is called a comedy is beyond me. We watched it for 45 minutes and turned it off.
Awful film. Don't bother...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Okay, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: August: Osage County [DVD] (DVD)
I had several tries before I could understand this film; it was a great piece of acting and I suppose directing but it has been edited violently; I felt there must be explanations, and missing bits raising questions and making me want to know more of the characters' history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

August: Osage County [DVD]
August: Osage County [DVD] by Adriano Goldman (DVD - 2014)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews