Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really solid Epica album
I never really gelled with the previous album ('Requiem ...') but this one is right back on form. Plenty of all the good stuff that made previous Epica albums stand out from the crowd plus some extra heaviness sprinkled in here and there. Plenty of orchestra and choir use which is critical in this genre. Nearly every track is a winner. If you like Epica or symphonic metal...
Published 2 months ago by Retset

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A litlle bit less Symphonie/melody and it would be great
I bought it because the single The essence of Silence. It was not so symphonic and more brutal, but on the long run, its not brutal enough :)
Published 9 days ago by Marco


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quantum Enigma (Audio CD)
Epica have not released a duff one yet and this is right up there with the best. Love Simone's voice. Keep rocking Dudes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent symphonic metal, 30 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quantum Enigma (Audio CD)
I felt the last Epica album was something of a let down - the songs just weren't strong enough. I have no such doubts about this record. Easily Epica's strongest for some time. As usual Mark Jansen's lyrics are a bit naive - but the performances and music certainly make up for that.

There's an odd quirk in the mix of the first track - a horn mixed so low you can just hear it farting in the centre channel - but other than that this is a great sounding CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 6 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Quantum Enigma (Audio CD)
Sometimes one can like a band and its body of work and then they do something extraordinary, this album is that "extraordinary".
The album is just under 70 minutes of pure symphonic metal brilliance and I defy any fan of Nightwish, Within Temptation, Delain & Xandria not be blown away by this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!!!, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quantum Enigma (Audio CD)
Just Wow...

I didn't think Epica could get any better after the release of Retrospect, but here we are.

The music sound new and fresh, but at the same time has little nods back to material from all of Epica's previous albums, The acoustic tracks included on disk 2 were absolute genius.

Definitely worth a listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's a change, but a nice one., 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quantum Enigma (Audio CD)
This is one of those albums that gets better as you listen to it more than once. I'll admit, I was disappointed at first. I've always loved the more "lyrical" aspects of Epica' songs (such as the studio album "We Will Take You With Us" where Simone sounds absolutely wonderful) but having seen them perform live, I know that Simone's voice on stage doesn't quite live up to what is present on the CDs.

With that being said, on this CD her voice is more alike to what she can deliver whilst on stage. Some of the lyrics are a bit vague (Essence of Silence), but overall I quite liked them. Instrumentally speaking, it's as good as ever, perhaps more. There are faster paced songs which are wonderful and some slower ones which are just as good. Additionally, this CD includes 4 accoustic tracks where you can focus more on Simone's voice. Very nice overall, and worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back on top form!, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quantum Enigma (Audio CD)
I could never get into Requiem, Design Your Universe was my favourite but this album is great from start to finish & has got me right back into Epica. I especially like Unchain Utopia, The Essence of Silence & The Quantum Enigma - Kingdom of Heaven Part II (which is just shy of 12 minutes long).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Pinnacle of Achievement, 28 May 2014
By 
Peter Grant (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quantum Enigma (Audio CD)
Epica's best album since their very first (Phantom Agony) and perfect to recommend if anyone ever asks what is meant by 'symphonic metal'. All the band's strengths are on display, intelligent lyrics, beautiful vocals from Simone, plus the orchestrations are becoming ever more confident. Essentially the voices and lead instruments are now performing solo parts in an overal symphonic vision rather just acting as counterpoints to the orchestral passages. Really Jansen and his collaborators now ought to attempt a full-scale metal opera and/or a major film director should let him score their next epic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brutal and beautiful, a new era, a new album, EPICA never sounded better., 19 May 2014
This review is from: The Quantum Enigma (Audio CD)
Straight out of the gates, this album is stunning. I wasn't a huge fan of Requiem, Design was my favorite EPICA album. I was a little cautious that this one would follow suit to the former.

It didn't, and what we have is a thing of beauty. Brutal at times, and sweepingly wonderful the next. The production personifies the quality of the tracks perfectly. Every nuance can be heard. The musicianship is first rate and incredibly tight - as we have come to expect from EPICA, but this really raises the bar! Simone sounds incredible.

It's difficult to pick favorites when so many of the songs are brilliant. I love Essence of Silence, the chorus alone is an absolute belter, and will surely be a live favorite.

In short, this is EPICA at their very very best. If somebody asked me to tell them what EPICA sounded like, and what they were about. I would simply hand them this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic!!!, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quantum Enigma (Audio CD)
A stunning album,epic in scale. Tracks 2,3,6 are as goo as anything they have done previously. Can't wait to see them live
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A litlle bit less Symphonie/melody and it would be great, 21 July 2014
This review is from: The Quantum Enigma (Audio CD)
I bought it because the single The essence of Silence. It was not so symphonic and more brutal, but on the long run, its not brutal enough :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Quantum Enigma
The Quantum Enigma by Epica (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews