Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They just get better
I've been waiting months for this to be released, and it's worth it. There's the jumping up and down primo victories type To Hell and Back, Resist and Bite, Night Witches looks definitely a shout at being able to match Ghost Division as a concert opener, and they've done a reworking of 7734 from Metalizer, kin of a Devin Townsend/Kingdom type way where they breathe new...
Published 13 months ago by TigersMetalhead

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Special but one for the fans
Not their best effort to follow their excellent previous 3 albums. I bought the digibook version for the 2 bonus tracks don't make the same mistake as both bonus tracks are rather weak and could be described as unnecessary fillers - all too common with so called 'bonus tracks'.
Of the remaining tracks forget the ballad "The Ballad of Bull" it's impossible to...
Published 9 months ago by Nightman


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They just get better, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
I've been waiting months for this to be released, and it's worth it. There's the jumping up and down primo victories type To Hell and Back, Resist and Bite, Night Witches looks definitely a shout at being able to match Ghost Division as a concert opener, and they've done a reworking of 7734 from Metalizer, kin of a Devin Townsend/Kingdom type way where they breathe new life into an old song. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tubthumping Bombastic Heavy Metal, 14 Aug. 2014
By 
M. G. Chisholm "chiefengineer3" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
Crikey, this is a tub thumping chest beater of an album. Proper manly stuff and no room for wimps that's for sure. This is only my second Sabaton album and to be honest the other didn't grab me for whatever reason. However, I have to say that this one has managed to stick itself to my playlist pretty comprehensively over the last few days.

As per their other albums the theme is war. Given the human history it allows a large scope for expression and Sabaton seem to be ploughing a good furrow through it. Of course heavy metal does lend itself to the subject perfectly so hardly a surprise there.

Sabaton have created a very heavy record that's packed full of catchy chorus's, thundering riffs and tunes that worm into your brain. Singing is suitably forceful but not at all shouty. The singer can hold a note and a tune well with a deep and clear voice.

I guess this could almost fall into the 'Power Metal' genre but thankfully avoids the sword and sorcery imagery that other bands use.

Simply a great heavy metal album and Sabaton should be justifiably proud of their efforts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sabaton come out swinging...again, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes (MP3 Download)
Sabatons' latest offering is another fine slice of history in the making for them.

To keep it short, song like 'Night Witches', detailing the famous female-led Russian Night Bomber regiment of World War II and the frankly quite brilliant 'To Hell and Back', a song honouring Americas' most decorated soldier, Audie Murphy, will keep you listening to this album for a good long while.

it might not be there best album but I still loved it and I await the day Sabaton will come back to the UK for another gig and I will be waiting expectantly for these tracks to blast my eardrums bloody with their sheer brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best yet, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
got this cd in post this morning and it's not been off since! Only recently became familiar with Sabaton - firstly Carolus Rex, which was until today my favourite but Heroes is brilliant! musically great as always but the content of the lyrics is superb - this album definitely stands out ( being a book format slightly larger than regular cd it does this literally as well). In the forward the band state 'Mission Accomplished' - it certainly is .this will be my favourite album for a long time - look forward to their next one but really don't know how they will equal let alone better this one . my advice to anyone reading this is - listen, enjoy and buy . THANK YOU SABATON
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thundering drums and great lyrics. The album deals with military heroes, 5 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
Powerful melodies, thundering drums and great lyrics. The album deals with military heroes, but the lyricist does not take sides. A hero is a hero even if he fights in a war created by politicians for the wrong reasons. The songs are mostly short and fast, no unnecessary fillings here.The writer clearly has read his military history; the stories are real. As an infantryman (serving in the FDF) my favourite song is, of course, "Soldier Of 3 Armies", about one of our own great warriors: the legendary Lauri Törni aka Larry Thorne. Thanks to Sabaton, no longer an unsung hero. I had never heard of this group before I bought this album, but now I'm a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album, 4 Aug. 2014
By 
J. Duffy (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
Another fantastic album from Sabaton. I always enjoy their use of historical events in their music and this succeeds again. Will be seeing them live in November and can't wait to hear these in person.

Edited my comment about their CD. It's not setup with multiple available file formats as I believed, it's just been so long since I stuck an audio CD into my PC that I didn't realise Dolphin in Arch Linux now automatically does that for audio CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what one would expect from Sabaton!, 19 May 2014
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
I received my limited edition copy of this album today, and I have to say that it is another epic Sabaton masterpiece. Some say Sabaton do not vary their style enough; however, why change a winning formula? Personally, as someone knowing every Sabaton song in detail, I can say that there are one or two brief moments that sound like earlier Sabaton songs, but these last no loner than a few seconds here and there. Every song is fundamentally fresh and original, yet still irrefragably Sabaton.

There are no nasty surprises, no irritating growling or "experimentation", just non-stop heavy metal/power metal. There is a ballad, but it is a very emotional and powerful one, therefore good enough to be included on the album. As a whole, this album is faster than Carolus Rex (their previous album), and is more like Coat of Arms. Each song deals with a different wartime heroic individual, hence the title of the album. As always Sabaton are very educational! And as always, I can highly recommend this album for all Sabaton fans, and indeed any fan of metal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is what music should sound like, 19 May 2014
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
Just got this and it says on the sticker the best sabaton album ever and guess what its true hearts of iron what a song and 7734 fantastic if you like music buy it brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite at thier best, 24 Jun. 2014
By 
N. J. Beech "grey_nomad" (East Anglia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
Good..................but not as good as Art of War. Seen them live twice and the stage shows are extremely good. The last two albums before this were fresh, dynamic and and exciting, but this seems, after 5 playings, to be just a bit "samey". There are songs on here with about 70% of the same riffs and melodies of the songs on the previous albums, just slightly different in their delivery. But all in all, I look forward to seeing them perform these songs when I see them in November.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh and Brilliant, 13 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes (MP3 Download)
If you think Sabaton are boring and monotonous, then this may be a break of form for you. This is is the first album with the new line-up and it has wonderful stuff like the "wild-westy" riff of To Hell And Back and the nice driving riff for Resist And Back, which both really fit their respective songs. There's even a soft ballad, if you're into that. Good listen, whatever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heroes
Heroes by Sabaton (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews