Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hi-spec performance from such a tiny box - very impressed
This is a BT-badged Humax DTR-T2110 digital TV recorder and, having previously owned a Humax, I can vouch for the brand being very reliable and offering a good range of features. This model also lives up to and has exceeded our high expectations.

At just 23 x 15 x 4.5cm high is is a fraction of the size I anticipated and is only slightly larger than one of my...
Published 10 months ago by KWren

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Compact
This is a compact if rather old fashioned looking box.

Set up was easy and straight forward.

Picture quality was very good, especially in HD.

If you want catch up TV you need to connect it to the internet so it is surprising that it doesn't have built in wi-fi. You need to mess around with cables, which can be a chore if your internet...
Published 9 months ago by Biff


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hi-spec performance from such a tiny box - very impressed, 27 May 2014
By 
KWren "KWren" (Wye Valley) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: BT Youview+ Set Top Box (500Gb) Recorder with Twin HD Freeview and 7 Day Catch Up TV - no subscription (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a BT-badged Humax DTR-T2110 digital TV recorder and, having previously owned a Humax, I can vouch for the brand being very reliable and offering a good range of features. This model also lives up to and has exceeded our high expectations.

At just 23 x 15 x 4.5cm high is is a fraction of the size I anticipated and is only slightly larger than one of my external hard drives. Although entirely plastic, build quality is good and basic controls can be operated either via the remote control unit or the buttons on the top.

Set up was easy and for anyone unfamiliar with connecting a TV tuner/recorder to the internet, the set up manual has a series of very easy to follow photographs and clear diagrams which couldn't be simpler to follow and is one of the best guides I've seen. The procedure is - connect a coaxial cable to the external aerial, HDMI cable (supplied) to the TV or a SCART cable (not supplied if your TV doesn't have an HDMI socket) and the ethernet cable (10m cable supplied) to a spare socket on your router. The TV recorder doesn't have a wireless capability so at this point, some purchasers will probably realise their router is at the other side of the room or in a different room in which case powerline adapters such as Netgear XAVB5401 Powerline 500 Nano PassThru 1 Port Adapter Kit will be needed.

Once plugged in and connected, the rest of the set-up procedure is mostly automatic, ie switch on the box and the TV set, and follow the highly intuitive menus to select a programme to watch live or recorded TV, pause or rewind live TV, or record a new programme - or even record two programmes at the same time while watching another via Catch Up, On Demand or MyView. No BT television (or any other) subscription is needed but if you have BT broadband then additional TV services are available. I can't comment on these because we have neither BT broadband nor any paid-for TV package and rely on Freeview (in HD), BBC iPlayer and other internet TV channels such as ITV player, Channel 4oD, Dave etc.

Picture quality is good, there's a good range of recording options and a full series can be recorded without having to select individual programmes, subtitles are available and the screen can be zoomed into to make them easier to read. For families wanting to control viewing of age-restricted programmes then there are parental controls via a PIN.

In short, this box performs admirably, is easy to set up and use, doesn't have a noisy fan and is highly responsive to its remote control unit. My only observation is, and this relates to the broadband line not the YouView box, ensure your broadband line is fast enough to deliver HD TV. Our broadband line is 12mb during the daytime when we get perfect performance. By the evening, this can fall to 2-4mb and then programmes break up which would happen with any digital TV recorder. So, if you have a reliable 5mb+ broadband connection speed then you should enjoy the perfect performance this box can offer. A good buy with a 12 month warranty and a BT Technical Helpdesk accessed via a freephone number for any queries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great - but why can't it do wireless internet., 22 Oct. 2014
By 
This review is from: BT Youview+ Set Top Box (500Gb) Recorder with Twin HD Freeview and 7 Day Catch Up TV - no subscription (Electronics)
As someone said this is the future of TV, no doubt in a few years this will all be part of the TV.
I love the integration with the internet to get all the catch up, the interface is really easy. Remembering where you watched a recording to is great. This is such a step forward from my last digi box it is almost unbelievable.
If anyone is interested in power consumption: 6 watts in standby, 9 watt in quick startup standby and 10 watts when running.
There are a few things I don't like.
- By default the aerial out doesn't have a signal in standby, you can set this in the settings but takes more power apparently.
- There are inner and outer navigation buttons on the remote, get the wrong one and it drops out of the menu you are in.
- Why does it need cable internet connection, BT claims to be the king of wireless connectivity, so come on get your act together. at least it comes with a 5 metre Ethernet cable to give you a chance to get to the router.
Rather than run an internet cable I used the bt broadband extender to run it over the mains. Note these expect a socket rather than an extension lead. Mine worked with the transmitter in a socket and the receiver in the extension lead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ITV or not ITV? that is the question!, 4 Jun. 2014
By 
lovemurakami "tooty2" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: BT Youview+ Set Top Box (500Gb) Recorder with Twin HD Freeview and 7 Day Catch Up TV - no subscription (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I don't want to repeat what other reviewers have said because together they have mentioned almost everything. The unit is very small at 23 x 15 x 4.5 cm and Set up was very easy ( we moved the box to another room and set it up without any help,instructions or reference to the manual) Don't be put off by the BT branding as you can watch the Freeview and on demand channels through a non-BT broadband connection. That's a plus for me (access to the on demand/catch-up services (like BBC iPlayer, ITV Player, 4od and Demand 5), as my *Panasonic DMR-HWT230EB Smart 1TB Recorder with Twin Freeview+ Tuners and my Sony smart TV are limited to BBC iPlayer! The box alone will not work over Wi-Fi and must be connected to the internet via an Ethernet cable (10m cable supplied) or you can buy an additional Wi-fi dongle.If your normal internet is in a different room or you don't fancy trailing cables you could buy a pair of power line adaptor (which uses the mains electricity sockets in your house but the signal will not be as strong, saying that,your broadband should be as strong as you can afford as slower speeds will result in picture break-up especially with HD content and at peak times.

If you have never used a pause or rewind live TV feature before you'll soon grow to rely on it - so much that you'll miss it when it's not available e.g. in another room or in a hotel etc. The on-screen programme guide (EPG) makes it easy to set up either individual recordings or series links but don't switch the box off at the socket or it can't record or update the EPG.

The only thing I was a bit concerned about was the amount of heat that comes from the power supply! but it must be safe..... right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Having "catch up" on demand services is really useful, 17 May 2014
By 
H Jackson (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: BT Youview+ Set Top Box (500Gb) Recorder with Twin HD Freeview and 7 Day Catch Up TV - no subscription (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This Youview+ box is essentially like a recordable Freeview box but with the addition of on demand channels for BBC iplayer, ITV player, 4oD, 5 player and UK TV (which consists of Dave, Really and Yesterday). You can also access Sky player and a few other subscription services if that is something you're interested in paying extra for.

The Youview+ box comes with a long (10 metre) ethernet cable for connecting to your internet router. However, our router is on the other side of the room. In order to avoid having a cable trailing across the floor, I bought some TP-Link Powerline Adapters TP-Link PA411KIT AV500 500 Mbps Powerline Adapter - Twin Pack. These have worked very well to provide a cable-free solution.

Please note that you do NOT have to have BT at home to use this box. We are with Talktalk and do not use ANY BT services and this Youview+ box works fine.

Things I like about the Youview+ box:
- Set up was very straightforward. You plug in the box, follow the instructions in the illustrated quick start guide and you're up and running within about 10 minutes. A lot of that 10 minutes is simply waiting as it sets itself up and tunes in the channels. The options are very clear and easy
- There is an option for automatically hiding all of the Adult channels and then using a PIN code to protect them if you have children in the household. Very useful.
- The on demand services work really well. I have already wasted far too much time going through Channel 4's library of old shows from the last decade or so!
- You can put the box either into high eco mode or low eco mode. In high eco mode, the box only consumes 0.8 watts of energy in standby mode but it takes around 2 minutes to warm up and be ready for use. In low eco mode, the box consumes more power (12 watts) but only takes 8 seconds to warm up. Depending on whether you are eco and budget conscious or just want everything to happen fast, you can change the setting accordingly.
- The box is very small and much lighter (about half the size and weight) of our previous Humax box - but they both have the same hard drive capacity.
- You also get access to the free-to-air HD channels and these look crisp and clear (even using the cable-free powerline adapter option rather than an ethernet cable plugged into a router).

My only tiny criticism of the Youview+ box:
- I can't seem to reorganise the channels into an order that suits us. On our old Humax Freeview+ box, you could create different 'favourites' lists. For example, I like certain channels but didn't want all of the kids and news channels so I could create my own favourite list with only the channels I like. I would have liked this function on this box (but it's admittedly a minor criticism).

Overall, a great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, highly recommend, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BT Youview+ Set Top Box (500Gb) Recorder with Twin HD Freeview and 7 Day Catch Up TV - no subscription (Electronics)
Had an old humax box for the last few years but had the common problem of the tv guide not showing all the channels or recordings not working whenever it felt like it.

Bought this box instead and I'm glad I did.

Very easy to set up (just follow the on screen questions) and within a few minutes I had all the freeview channels and a tv guide which was populated for ALL channels for the WHOLE week ahead.

Plugged in the included 10 metre ethernet cable to my router (luckily they are next to each other!) and now I can browse backwards a week in the tv guide as well and select play from the guide which then opens the programme in the relevant on-demand player.

The remote works perfectly and anything you press happens very quickly. On my old humax box everytime you paused a recording and pressed play you would have to rewind a few seconds as there was a delay so you missed some of the programme but with this box everything is instant. Even pressing the fast forward 60 sec button a few times quickly will skip the adverts and then start playing instantly again.

The search button on the remote works very well (although it didn't work at all until I plugged the box into the router) and as you type it auto-completes, looking for any programmes with the letters in as you type. You can then choose whether you want an on-demand version of the programme (to watch) or a current one which is on in the future (to record)

The HD channels look really good (even the standard ones look better than they used to) and if you try to record something in SD and it's available on an HD channel then you get a message asking whether you want to record the HD programme instead.

There's also an Android youview app which shows you the tv guide and you can record the programmes directly from the app even when you're out of the house (This has been a bit hit and miss when I tested it, I get errors a few times in a row when attempting to record something and then eventually it does appear in the recording schedule on the box, but I wouldn't rely on this too much. Not much help around either to try and work out why it doesn't always work!)

Been using this for just over a week now and so far it's very impressive. Also very small compared to other dvr's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product but read about connection before committing to buy., 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BT Youview+ Set Top Box (500Gb) Recorder with Twin HD Freeview and 7 Day Catch Up TV - no subscription (Electronics)
I bought this item to replace SKY, which just gets more expensive every year.

I have rated it as 4 stars, only because it should really be designed with built in wi-fi, other then that it would merit 5.
when you unpack the item it contains clear instructions. You need a digital aerial and not a dish. The box also needs to be plugged into (or wifi connected) into a broadband router. My internet connection was not in the same room so I bought a home plug (2 x three pin plugs.one connects to the router. The other to the box - both are then wifi connected)
Two things to consider - (1) the home plug must be suitable for streaming large amounts of data. So dont pick the cheapest with a small capacity.(2) is your internet package of suitable size (speed & capacity) so as NOT to take you over your monthly allowance.

The box was easy to set up. The on screen instructions are clear. Recording, 'On demand' & general use are easy to navigate.
you can record one channel and watch another. You can record two programmes, but if the tv is on, you must watch one of them. So you cant record two programmes and watch another channel. The recording memory is large, with 10 films taking up approx 10% of the memory size.

The box is preloaded with the following 'On demand' services :-
BBC I player, ITV player, 4 on Demand, Demand 5, BT player, Milkshake, UKTV, S4C, Quest, SKY store, NOW TV and Net flix.
The last three listed are subscription services & are not free. I can't find an option to add additional apps for other services.

You get all freeview channels but not freesat, which I believe are slightly different.

To sum up, Im very pleased with the whole package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great bit of kit, 21 Jan. 2015
By 
N. Hornby (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BT Youview+ Set Top Box (500Gb) Recorder with Twin HD Freeview and 7 Day Catch Up TV - no subscription (Electronics)
What a great bit of kit!

I cancelled my Virgin account due to their insistance on increasing the price by over 10% year-on-year (if only my salary where so inflationary) and ultimately not being that impressed with the service anyway. I purchased this box to fill the TV gap, I wanted one that supported HD and this seemed to be the best option.

What I wasn't expecting was an upgrade, but this really is an upgrade to at least the few Virgin boxes I've used.

Everything is idiot-proof, setup is easy, the UI is smart and responsive. This is an early review but it's so rare to see good UX on a product like this I needed to jump on and pen my thoughts! If you're in a similar boat to me then don't flinch, cancel that hideously expensive media package and pick one of these up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seamless catch up is great - the app is even better!, 25 Jun. 2014
By 
J. Lyne (Forres, Morayshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: BT Youview+ Set Top Box (500Gb) Recorder with Twin HD Freeview and 7 Day Catch Up TV - no subscription (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is probably the best Freeview recorder box on the market. Not only can you record two channels at once in top quality HD, but the seamless integration of catch up for the previous seven days is an indicator of where our TV services will be going in the next few years.

Plugging it in is very simple. All cables required are supplied and there is an extremely easy to follow guide for those who are not techno heads. The only thing which will cause some people problems is the fact that it requires a cable connected to the router. Wireless is not an option. This means that if your phone line is not next to your telly then you will need either a suitably long Ethernet cable or a set of power line adapters. Once connected you simply switch on and follow the guided set up and within a few minutes you are up and running.

The box itself is very responsive, with easy to read menus and a logical control scheme. The remote is well laid out with a satisfying click action. Catch up integration is so seamless as to be transparent. The machine is also pretty much silent in operation - several other Freeview recorders I have had have either had noisy fans or a rumbling from the hard disk drive. A small point I know but some people (like me) can be quite sensitive to these quiet but constant noises. Start up time is quite long if you have it in Eco mode - taking a minute or so to start - although you can disable this and it will start up within ten seconds or so.

No subscription is required to use the box as described, but there is also the option to subscribe to BT for more services including on demand TV and movies. This is in addition to the inclusion of the normal internet TV services like 4OD and BBC IPlayer, which already have an extensive library of content for free.

For me the best feature is the app. Free to download for Android or IOS, and easy to set up once you find the option hidden away in the box menu, the app lets you browse the guide and set recordings remotely. This means that if you are a frequent traveller like me you can set your machine to record from literally anywhere you have mobile data or wifi signal. Also useful for browsing the guide whilst watching TV.

Overall this is an incredibly useful and well designed box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good concept, well executed, 17 May 2014
By 
Dave M (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: BT Youview+ Set Top Box (500Gb) Recorder with Twin HD Freeview and 7 Day Catch Up TV - no subscription (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Provided you have a reasonable broadband connection (3Mbit recommended, 8Mbit if you want to stream HD) and are on unlimited package this is a great device.

It provides all the usual functions of a PVR, plus you get a programme guide going forwards one week (normal), but also back one week. If you click on something in the past, on most channels, you get the opportunity to watch it as a streamed programme through your Internet connection.

The bit I think is really neat is that your smartphone (iphone or Android) to your box and this gives you a channel guide exactly as you would see at home. In addition, you can click on any programme in the future and schedule it for recording. This can be useful if you know that you're about to miss an "unmissable" programme as you can record it (subject to a maximum of two programmes being recorded at any one time - from the App, you don't get a warning if you're about to try to record a third programme, so the recording does fail).

Only one point to consider is the distance of this box from your router. If they are next to each other, no problem. If, however, your are more than a couple of meters, then you will need either a longer ethernet cable or, to extend your network over the house mains circuit, powerline adapters.

As I say, I am very impressed with this device and, so far, the software seems to be very reliable.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FREEVIEW BOX WITH FREE HD PROGRAMMES, 17 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BT Youview+ Set Top Box (500Gb) Recorder with Twin HD Freeview and 7 Day Catch Up TV - no subscription (Electronics)
bought this to replace freesat...this little box is full of goodies..perfect hd picture quality..perfect surround sound..easy to operate..with very quick response..records two programes together...much much better than my old humax freesat...and with this box FREE hd programs.....would recommend to buy if you are thinking about it.....also the box arrived on time.....so overall ...me a happy customer.....10/10..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews