Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars364
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 April 2014
What I so love about 'Endeavour' is the fact that Shaun Evans is so one hundred percent the character that we saw John Thaw play. Because of this, watching these brilliant detective stories is truly like reading Thaw's Morse's biography. Evans has all of Morse's classic mannerisms worked out to a tee. From his love of classical music, his outbursts of frustration when dealing with those 'higher up' to his tendency to ' mentally live and breathe each case 24/7'.

In this second series we find out how Morse got his gammy leg and acquired that famous limp, we begin to learn (I suspect) the story behind why he never married, there is early evidence of his over-reliance upon drink and we get to see that even as a young man Morse was never a 'hell raiser' but always a man who loved quality, serenity and his beloved Jaguar...

Roger Allam is also also immense as Morse's boss, Fred Thursday. A traditional copper through and through, Thursday has Jack Frost's passion in pursuing a criminal and like Jack, if pushed into a tight corner, is prepared to take things into his own hands if needs be. What with other stellar performances from the rest of the cast, a brilliant attention to detail regarding the sets and the reflected attitudes/morals of the times, this second series of 'Endeavour' is a DVD to buy and enjoy many times over.

I'm not going to go into detail about each of the four episodes featured here suffice to say that all four are brilliant, original and thought provoking. Personally, I love how the series ends because to my mind it leaves things at a point where we just know there HAS to be a third series and on this evidence that is all that matters...
11 comment|77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
I'm not a massive fan of detective programmes but I always made an exception for Inspector Morse and now feel the same way about Endeavour. Superior writing and acting and of course the gorgeous backdrop of Oxford helps too. I love the Endeavour/Fred Thursday relationship and both Shaun and Roger are amazing in their roles. The rest of the cast are brilliant too and I love the fact that Abigail Thaw is involved and of course the little cameos from Colin help make the whole thing unique.

I thought Trove, Sway and Neverland were all excellent but in very different ways. I didn't like the Nocturne quite so much but still enjoyed it as it was filmed just a mile from my house and having the World Cup theme running through the episode was great.

Neverland was an amazing finale and I was on the edge of my seat for about the last 20 minutes and shouting NO at the TV probably along with 5 million others! I think the ending means that there will definitely be a series 3, surely they wouldn't leave it like that, would they? Endeavour locked up, Fred at death's door, Jakes on the brink of a breakdown and poor old Monica looking out the window waiting for her lovely man to come home! More of the same please ITV!!
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
This new season of 'Endeavour' keeps its promises, and more! Our favorite Oxfordian detective finds himself in a terrible situation after a series of events running throughout the four episodes.
After a long convalescence, Morse is thrown back into the world of murders, police corruption and politics, with the added shadow of a Freemasonry lodge. The young DC makes enemies during his inquests and some of them would stop at nothing to prevent the unearthing of dreadful secrets.. In 'Trove', Morse's dedication in finding a missing young woman leads to the arrest of a showbusiness manager with connections. In 'Nocturne', a seemingly haunted school for girls hides a killer with a century-old grudge. In 'Sway', Morse's intelligence is confronted to a strangler whose weapon of choice is women's silk stockings. And in 'Neverland', a former correctional facility for boys hides a terrible secret involving high-ranking policemen and property developers.
This show benefits from Russell Lewis' brilliant writing and from an excellent casting of actors. Shaun Evans is as endearing as ever in his portrayal of a traumatized but determined Morse, who finds romance with his beautiful next-door neighbor played by Shvorne Marks. Roger Allam is wonderful as DI Thursday, whose paternal feelings turn him into a protective lion whenener Morse is endangered. And the secondary characters are also excellent: PC Strange, torrn between his friendship with Morse and his ambitions; Dorothea Frazil, diligently providing our hero with information from the press; DS Jakes' overconfidence is shattered at the recollection of his childhood in the correctional facility; and Chief Superintendant Bright finally understands his 'friends' in spheres of influence actually consider him a fool.
This series ends with a major cliffhanger: how will Morse ever get out of the trap set by his enemies? Will DI Thursday survive the shoot-out?
The worst part is having to wait for another year to find out!
22 comments|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
2 in and this gets better and better. The casting is the key and whoever gave Shaun Evans the green light deserves a lot of credit. Roger Allam is one of this countries most gifted actors and both deserve praise in their portrayals as a genuine "father son" type relationship. Evans Morse is shy, unsure, uneasy with female company but his detective skills cant be underrated. Evans plays Morse not as an impersonation but its understated (like John Thaw) and shows a vulnerability. Sometimes though there are glimpses of the Morse to come. With another series of Lewis even though we no longer have John Thaw im sure he would be very complementary on the legacy continuing and the quality (in both shows) shows no sign of diminishing. great locations and a real 60s feel to the series just adds to its quality.
22 comments|57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
This series is on a par with the best of the original Morse years, if not better. Shaun Evans & Roger Allam's relationship goes much deeper and has more drama than the Morse/Lewis relationship and I think this is the reason why many people seem to be favouring Endeavour over Morse more and more.
This series had many nods to the original Morse series, even copying camera angles and dialogue, but it is set apart from Morse because it only has occasional nods to the past/future and is a really exceptional drama in its own right. I stopped thinking about John Thaw after episode 2 of the first series. Shaun and the Endeavour team have been very clever in going back to the grit of the books and allowed themselves to not only enhance the original Morse episodes but also present a Morse who we feel we barely know, but who we are desperate to find out about. I really hope they carry on with making Endeavour, even if they just finish off the 1960s which would give us 3 more series at least. Still plenty of stories to tell and relationships to discover, especially Morse & Macnutt, who is mentioned twice in the last episode of this series.
A wonderful series, always keeping the audience guessing, never becoming too comfortable and filled with actors who are at the top of their game, especially Shaun, Roger, Anton, Abigail & Sean. 'Neverland' may be the most dramatic and moving episode in the entire canon. 'Like a bird set free, soars the delightful day . . . '
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 October 2014
Truly brilliant series! The scripts are comparable with Morse at its best. Shaun Evans is excellent as the young Morse, with just the right blend of intellect, determination and vulnerability. Roger Allam is also excellent as Fred Thursday and the supporting cast are good. The plots have been criticised as being too complex, but I believe they reflect the complex mind of the central character and engage his intellect. I love the hints of the Morse to come, for example in the final episode, when Endeavour quotes a poem referring to 'the remorseful day.'
As ever, Oxford exerts its visual magic and exalted background music lifts the tone and creates a mood of beauty and melancholy. The stories are pretty dark and the series ends on a cliffhanger as Morse is falsely accused and we are left wondering whether Thursday is alive or dead. Poor old Endeavour - he gets a rough ride!
There are four episodes. In 'Trove', Morse investigates a murder and the theft of treasure trove. 'Nocturne' links two modern murders with one that took place a century before. 'Sway' is about a serial murderer of housewives who strangles them using a silk stocking. The final episode, 'Neverland', links some murders with a disused boys' reformatory and the investigation has devastating consequences for both Morse and Thursday.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I enjoyed the pilot, liked the 1st series and absolutely loved this series. The acting from Shaun Evans as Morse and Roger Allam as DI Fred Thursday is nothing but first rate and the relationship between the two is mesmerising.
These stories are not like so many American shows of dazzling car chases, bloody mayhem etc, these are well constructed stories that get the audience to do a little thinking of their own.

Excellent and very highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2015
We really enjoyed this second series, and hope there will be more. Have been a fan of Morse since the first tv screenings years ago. Have the whole Morse series and have watched them time and again, the same for the Lewis series, hopefully will be the same with Endeavour!
Oh for more british series where we can understand every word spoken and the programmes are so beautifully crafted. Can't get enough of them!
review image
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
What an amazing series. Incredible and fascinating storylines. Shaun Evans is a triumph. With such an cliff hanger ending on Sunday, it can be hoped that there is going to be a third series - which is likely to be just as fantastic.

Apparently the great Colin Dextor is involved in the making of Endeavour and it shows!! I only hope that Roger Allams brilliantly portrayed Fred Thursday is included in the next series, as it will be poorer if he does not at least have some presence. Thursdays family life, and its warmth has given heart to Endeavour, and I believe that to take this away completely, would be a very big mistake (inevitable if Thursday dies). At a recent TV interview Shaun Evans indicated that he is happy to continue in the role - I imagine that millions of avid viewers are hoping that he will - for many more series.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
When the Endeavour was first announced, I was a bit dubious about an additional attempt to mine the Morse universe. The excellent performances of Shaun Evans and Roger Allam, and a rather nice mystery, allayed those fears. Evans made the wise choice not to attempt an impersonation of John Thaw, apart from an evocation of the timbre of his voice, and concentrated his efforts on creating a melancholy and clever young man. The subsequent series was well acted and again with some nice mysteries. Nevertheless, there was something missing, an indefinable spark.

While I expected the second series to be eminently watchable, the sharp upturn in the quality of the writing was a very nice surprise. The first story in the series, Trove, carries all the hallmarks of original Morse. Disparate stories eventually connecting, Masonic allusions, obscure clues and one instance of Morse getting it spectacularly wrong. It's perhaps not quite as clever as it thinks it is, but has the benefit of also including an incredibly satisfying verbal smackdown, by Morse, of a truly odious arrogant academic. Nocturne strays into apparently supernatural territory. I'm not prepared to say if there are genuine paranormal occurrences, but the eerie atmosphere that is created mean that it might be wise to keep a light on somewhere if you're watching this on your own. While one part of this particular mystery may be quite obvious from the outset, the story includes multiple strands that come together quite ingeniously and provide the audience with genuine surprises.

Sway is the standout story of the series, quite simply a perfect murder mystery. At the heart is a standard serial killer story but a very cleverly constructed one with clues, as much for the benefit of the audience as they are for the characters themselves, elegantly scattered throughout the film and an eventual outcome that proved pleasantly unpredictable. In addition, this story features a series of beautifully drawn supporting characters . From the sad eyed Italian émigré, to the former RAF fighter pilot who has never quite gotten used to peacetime, the wonderful writing and acting on display bring unexpected depth when such characters would be little more than plot functions in another series. The final tale, Neverland, proves to be the darkest of them going in unexpected directions with far -reaching consequences. This particular story proves that while we know where Morse ends up, a fact that lends this series a melancholy air since we know any apparent opportunity for happiness is always doomed to failure, it's fair to say that there is still a lot about his past that we don't know. Roll on season 3.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)