Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Assault on Wall Street
Despite some of the mixed criticism on here I still went ahead and bought it. And I was pleasantly surprised. The first 2/3 of the movie are about Jim and and his wife trying to cope with their financial struggles and her medical condition. Felt quite moved by the performances, and felt angry for them as everything just goes from bad to worse. The last 1/3 sees Jim go...
Published 1 month ago by El Foley

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The view from www.drunkenmovieramblings.co.uk
The mad mind that brought us stinkers such as "House Of The Dead", "Alone In The Dark", then shocked the world, well me with the decent effort, the totally bonkers "Rampage", yes Uwe Boll's back, and its got to be said this was the sole reason I gave this a viewing.

A working class guy Jim (Dominic Purcell) life hits rock bottom, his wages just about support...
Published 12 months ago by Rob Williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The view from www.drunkenmovieramblings.co.uk, 2 Sep 2013
By 
The mad mind that brought us stinkers such as "House Of The Dead", "Alone In The Dark", then shocked the world, well me with the decent effort, the totally bonkers "Rampage", yes Uwe Boll's back, and its got to be said this was the sole reason I gave this a viewing.

A working class guy Jim (Dominic Purcell) life hits rock bottom, his wages just about support himself and his Wife who needs expensive meds, the insurance refuse to pay the full expense, so he relys on investments he made, but he loses all the money on bad advice from his broker...this becomes too much for his Wife and she can only see one way of 'lestening his burden'

Well acted and directed, yes this is another decent effort from the bonkers German director, it's a slow burner but it all kicks off big style in the final third with bankers blown away 'Grand Theft Auto' style, the twist finale is preposterous admittedly, but this is still a decent watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS NOT A GAME, THIS IS MY LIFE SAVINGS, 30 Aug 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Jim (Dominic Purcell) is a security guard during the market crash. While he is losing his shirt on bad investments his wife (Erin Karpluk) has major medical complications which further exacerbates their situation, especially now that they have reached their "coverage cap limit." From the title and DVD cover we know where this is going to go. 10 minutes into the film we know who will die and even know what will trigger Jim to go into the berserker mode.

Jim becomes the envy of every 99%er vigilante, yet a guy we immediately condemn for not having enough self restraint. The problem I had with the film was the sniper mode in which he killed people, with all but one person knowing why they are getting killed. There are no sit the guy in a chair and slowly torture them scenes. It takes an hour before the first person dies, and he is hit by a fast moving taxi.

This makes for a fair action film rental.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No se or nudity. Fairly tame for Uwe Boll production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The alternative to setting up your own crystal meth empire, 18 Jun 2014
This review is from: Assault On Wall Street (DVD)
‘Assault on Wall Street’ does kind of do what it says on the tin (eventually). It’s about your everyday guy who, upon learning that his wife’s medical bills can’t be paid, resorts to some pretty drastic measures to get the job done. However, instead of doing a ‘Walter White’ and turning to a devious life of manipulation and crime, he decides to just gun down those he feels are responsible for him losing his money on some particularly dodgy Wall Street deals. I’m pretty sure that’s not a ‘spoiler’ as, if you’ve seen any of the promotional material, you’ll probably have already figured that out from the picture of the main character dressed in a suit and carrying a high-powered machine gun.

But is it any good?

Yeah, it’s not bad. And, when you consider it’s come from the same guy who brought us Alone in the Dark and House of the Dead, it’s actually a lot better than it deserves to be. However, don’t expect a continuous, long-drawn-out bloodbath (if you’ve seen Uwe Boll’s other maniacal film ‘Rampage’). It’s actually pretty slow-moving. The first two thirds are all about the human element of losing all your money (and house to follow) to a bum trading deal. It also touches on the American healthcare system and how difficult it is for the ‘little guy’ to do anything about it when the lawyers charge extortionate amounts of money and you don’t have any. Due to this and its – quite literal – attack on capitalism, some have labelled it ‘liberal propaganda.’ I’m not sure how fair that is; it just seems to tell a lot of it the way it is.

So, if you’re looking for something that’s two parts drama and one part shoot-em-up, plus a dash of social commentary thrown in there for good measure, just sit back and try not to think that it’s been made by Uwe Boll (and definitely don’t dwell on how much Edward Furlong has sunk).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad but Not in the Same League as Falling Down, 24 Aug 2014
By 
Bill Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Assault On Wall Street [DVD] (DVD)
Dominic Purcell (of Prison Break fame) plays a security van driver, whose wife has terminal cancer. Their medical insurance won't cover all the medical bills. He runs into debt covering the medical bills. His pension pot disappears as a result of bad investments by a Wall Street firm of stockbrokers. His credit cards hit their limits. Their home is repossessed, he loses his job, and his wife commits suicide. This all seems to happen in less than a week. At the half way stage of the movie, I was kind of hoping they might start playing Always Look on The Bright Side of Life. Purcell's character, inevitably, snaps, and he goes on a killing spree against the Wall Street bankers and brokers who he blames for destroying his life. I got the feeling the movie was plagiarizing Falling Down with Michael Douglas, but not overly successfully. In Falling Down, Michael Douglas was estranged from his wife, sacked from his job, and stuck in a traffic jam, and that treble whammy was enough to push him over the edge. Here, the director Uwe Boll works too hard to show why the van driver cracks - victim of fraud, mountains of debt, suicide of wife, sacked from his job, well...why not give him a cat and have a New York taxi cab run over it! The attempt to show that the guy's life is a disaster is almost a parody, you can imagine Leslie Neilson in the role playing it as a spoof. The killing spree in the second half of the movie is okay but not particularly imaginative, it takes up where Uwe Boll left off with the mass killer in his similar film Rampage. Dominic Purcell is a likeable actor, and a few other famous actors make cameo appearances, including Eric Roberts as a somewhat callous attorney. Overall the film is a passable effort, Uwe Boll has certainly made far worse movies than this one and he is not without talent, but the main flaw is that the film tries too achingly hard to be a serious work, and ends up with the faint whiff of being a lampoon. Try Falling Down first, and if you like that, this is worth a view too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Assault on Wall Street, 15 July 2014
This review is from: Assault On Wall Street [DVD] (DVD)
Despite some of the mixed criticism on here I still went ahead and bought it. And I was pleasantly surprised. The first 2/3 of the movie are about Jim and and his wife trying to cope with their financial struggles and her medical condition. Felt quite moved by the performances, and felt angry for them as everything just goes from bad to worse. The last 1/3 sees Jim go mental and take out his anger on the people that have wronged him. No major gunfights just Jim just killing everyone. All in all a solid B-movie which I would recommend to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another case of the drunken cameraman, 26 Aug 2013
This movie could have been interesting, unfortunately, it suffers from that new phenomena that is 'shaky camera syndrome', why the director feels the need to film this way i have no idea, it really irritated me and i felt like shouting at the camera man to 'Keep still for Petes sake!!!' maybe its just me but im sure others will feel the same, i hope this is a fad that dies away quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Round one to the man in the street, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a pretty interesting film highlighting the effect of the recession and how the banks screwed over the ordinary people. It is also action packed and a great watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK but still worth watching, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I may have only given it a review of OK but still watch it. There is an underlying message to this film however it may have been put together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Assault On Wall Street [DVD]
Assault On Wall Street [DVD] by Uwe Boll (DVD - 2014)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews