Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album, Mellow, Chilled...
I don't normally listen to the show, but I heard Foy Vance on the radio and his version of Where Everybody Knows Your Name. I loved it and bought this album. The whole album is a collection of mellow acoustic covers of songs, the perfect background to a mellow night. As a traditional master of the failed romantic atmosphere, I'm hoping this could be my secret weapon...
Published 4 months ago by R. Lowe

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I hoped
This isn't as good as I was expecting. It all felt a little lacking in terms of flow through the cd, choice of songs and in terms of energy. There isn't anything wrong with the collection, it's just that it is one of those that you could take or leave. Having bought his collection from last year, this didn't quite meet the expectations.
Published 4 months ago by SM


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I hoped, 20 April 2014
By 
SM (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This isn't as good as I was expecting. It all felt a little lacking in terms of flow through the cd, choice of songs and in terms of energy. There isn't anything wrong with the collection, it's just that it is one of those that you could take or leave. Having bought his collection from last year, this didn't quite meet the expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album, Mellow, Chilled..., 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Saturday Sessions from The Dermot O'Leary Show (MP3 Download)
I don't normally listen to the show, but I heard Foy Vance on the radio and his version of Where Everybody Knows Your Name. I loved it and bought this album. The whole album is a collection of mellow acoustic covers of songs, the perfect background to a mellow night. As a traditional master of the failed romantic atmosphere, I'm hoping this could be my secret weapon! Love it, and in Foys' case I think his version is better than the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great covers and originals for great listening. Love the picks and the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Buy, 1 July 2014
Just Brilliant -so much variety in music- easy listening and sometimes i have to have a double look at the unknown artist amazed at the justice they do to other artists songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this to play at work
Cd one is fine but as always with big cd's the second one is not as good!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't stop these albums coming., 18 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Saturday Sessions from The Dermot O'Leary Show (MP3 Download)
If I listen to the radio, I haven't a clue who half these people are - tattooed pretty boys and (alledgedly) badly behaved ex-Disney actresses. Even if it is a good tune - it's probably made up using an App by some record company.
This is different, broken down, acoustic, raw, simple, heartfelt and actually, the more you listen to some of the songs you realise how brilliantly written and beautiful they are when performed stripped down, not dipped in sugar for the masses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dermot does it again!!!, 14 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As usual Dermot chooses the right tunes. Varied artists and music choices make this a CD to play in the car or on in the background chilling with friends or just reading a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant CD, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as present but find i am listening to it too!
Diverse selection of music - live presentation even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting album of established and new performers, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Saturday Sessions from The Dermot O'Leary Show (MP3 Download)
Excellent album. I am an occasional listener to parts of the show when I am out and about on a Saturday afternoon and have heard a good few of the sessions and thought "That's an interesting cover" but have never been able to hear them again. This album allows you to become familiar with a lot on new artists doing songs in an interesting minimalist way. Favourite is Chim Chim Cher-ee by Turin Brakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews