Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars28
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 May 2014
You can't 'enjoy' a book like this - it's too harrowing for that, but it is an exceptionally good read from a completely different view of the Holocaust. I've read many books by survivors of the concentration camps, but this book tells the sad story of a little girl who dodged the massacre that killed her family, and who survived the rest of the war in hiding. The depths of her fear and despair are felt page after page, and it's so terribly sad. I can't imagine what it must be like to be left with no living relative so brutally and suddenly. But survive she dud, with a steely determination to honour the request her beloved mother asked of her. Download this book, be prepared to shed tears, but it's worth it, because we must never forget the atrocities that were carried out against the innocent Jews - God's chosen people.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
Very moving. Such courage of a young girl and despite all her determination helPed her to survive and honour all who perished.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
This must be one of the finest personal accounts of survival during the vicious period of WW2 known by the general term "Holocaust". I rank it alongside "Parallel Lines" by Peter Lantos, another moving memoir written by someone caught up in tragedy when a small child.
The language is simple and the narrative completely honest with vivid details of a life suddenly shattered by the mass murder of almost an entire community. Maria's life in hiding is painful to read, almost incomprehensible to me, a near contemporary born far away on the Isle of Man.
The strength of her faith, the dogged determination to fulfil her vow and her on going search for love shine out in the bitter darkness surrounding this brave child.
I strongly recommend it, both as further evidence of "Man's inhumanity to Man" and also as an outstanding contribution to the body of literature on The Holocaust.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
an account of a young girls life during the holocaust. Makes for sad reading a true event most would forget
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
this book the memories of a child only six at the beginning but very believable the impact it had on her, from a loving home and family tells of her constant longing to belong to someone who will love her and take care of a little girl happy to give back her love, nothing reads as untrue written in a way of truth and fear and bewilderment of what is happening I would recommend this as a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
How sad for a little girl to have experienced such loss, how grateful should we be that she survived to be a witness and tell her story. I am beyond understanding how this could be done to an innocent people and do not wish to understand the depravity of the people who did this. Thank you Miriam for your story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2014
I am moved by this personal recount of a little girl's struggle to survive, her suffering and loss of family for no other reason than her race. We must never forget the atrocities committed by the Nazis, that disrupted so many lives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
A brave and wonderful, righteous woman. I'm honoured to have been able to read this amazing book. A courageous journey. Helps me reflect on what happened to my great-grandparents and their families. Thank you and bless you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
It was ok but not the best book I have read.About a young Polish Jewish girl during the war and the loneliness ,hardships and challenges she faces not only against the Germans but also against the Polish people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
A sad BOOK of a child's experience of the War, DEATH of her parents and siblings making her very frightened of all she met, but MANAGING to get out of Poland with a group of other youngsters to Israel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)