Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is Maundy Thursday and I have almost finished this book. It has been really worthwhile. Each of the readings look at familiar bible passages in unusual and challenging ways. At the end of each week there are points for reflection. These are suitable to ponder on your own or as a group discussion. Bible study groups could read the daily passages at home and then meet once a week for discussion. This is a book to return to and not just at Lent. Her re-interpreting of parables such as The Prodigal son and The Good Samaritan really shake up your ideas. We hear these stories and those of Holy Week so often and they are so familiar but do we really listen to what they say? Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, 23 May 2010
By 
Rev. M. Bonser (Dunfermline, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are certain authors I have found help me see more clearly and deeply, Henri Nouwen, Eugene Peterson, Richard Foster, C.S. Lewis. Although a relatively new author, Maggi Dawn is up there for her ability to reveal what has always been there but needs a guide to point it out. Both her Advent and Lent readings are full of insight and spiritual wisdom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Giving it up, 3 April 2010
By 
This is a superb book which is well constructed in daily readings and reflections. It is well written and makes an ideal companion as a lent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maggi Dawn succeeds again., 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giving it Up: Daily Bible readings from Ash Wednesday to Easter Day (Kindle Edition)
Informative and a lot of food for thought. Dr Dawn once more amazes with her insight and her fresh approach. Is there no end to this woman's talent ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book on my kindle. This has limitations as was not able to share it, so I bought a copy for my friend to read and then we were able to talk about it. It is a brilliant read for the weeks up to Easter, Maggi puts an unusual view on well known stories and helps us to think in a new way about familiar events. I shall read it every Easter from now on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What is needed, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a valuable offering from a reliable guide - more than that, it is inspiring and adds enormously to understanding and depth of our reflection during this powerful period of growth in the Church's year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Taking it up for lent - would be a better title, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been using this for my lent reading, one chapter /section per day as set out by Maggi Dawn. To encourage me I've been taking a photo ofthe title and posting a thought on facebook

Maggi Dawn really gives some helpful perspectives ... but the book works best if you yourself are willing to give the time to the devotional and take time to reflect on your own life and how the teaching applies to you

Maggi Dawn has some funny but apt stories interspersed in the sections. I really like those. They make the devotional come alive because they include personal testimony and are given with grace and humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars smashing idols, 8 May 2013
By 
Mr. D. P. Jay (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This Lent Book for 2009 is not about giving up chocolate but about giving up false images of God. Classical spiritual direction talks of `purgation' being necessary before `illumination'. So this series of daily exercises helps us to examine our false images, our idols, so that we can see that God really loves us unconditionally.
Giving up false images of God might involve:

not believing one can earn merit by fasting and praying more - all is grace

not believing that God is a hard taskmaster who demands ever-increasing perfectionism, overwork, too much churchgoing etc.
remembering that the God portrayed by Jesus was inclusive, not legalistic and harsh

not believing that he is vengeful - so not being homophobic or judgemental oneself

not believing that atheists, Muslims etc. go to Hell

ultimately, such a stripping of false images that we can enter into the dark night of the soul and say, with Jesus, 'My God, why have you forsaken me?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lent reading, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent reading for Lent. Helpful comments on the Bible reading, which challenges the reader to think more about their own personal faith. Some questions to think about at the end of each week. Don't give up something but do something extra. Recommended Lent book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews