Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this band
Having been a follower of their music for a number of years and feeling as though they were not receiving the critical acclaim the band are deserving of, the performance on Letterman, and this new album has seen to that.

Think 80s synth music, with one of the most raw voices, full of emotion out there presently, and great writing, and you will hopefully find...
Published 7 months ago by Mr Michael S Stott

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good album, distinctive vocals
Good album, with a large percentage of the tracks being decent.
Very distinctive vocals from this American group.
Discovered it on Spotify.
Certainly worth a listen before you buy.
Published 3 months ago by Nick


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this band, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles (MP3 Download)
Having been a follower of their music for a number of years and feeling as though they were not receiving the critical acclaim the band are deserving of, the performance on Letterman, and this new album has seen to that.

Think 80s synth music, with one of the most raw voices, full of emotion out there presently, and great writing, and you will hopefully find yourself a little intrigued. Then give them a listen and find a catalogue of catchy brilliant music that can become the soundtrack to many moments of your life.

Luckily, I have now seen the band live on the back of the 'Singles' tour and left the show feeling shell-shocked at how brilliant they were, how perfect their sound carried to a live performance and of course Samuel T. Herring's ability to enrapture an audience and have them in his theatrical grip.

Watch the ever captivating Letterman performance of 'Seasons' to get an idea.

Great album, well worth a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely excellent - a must buy!, 4 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles (MP3 Download)
To describe Future Islands in a nutshell I'd probably say they're an authentic band with great credentials and great heart.

Samuel T Herring, the tour-de-force lead singer, personifies Future Islands. His lyrics are poetic - often quite lovely - and his original, heartfelt expression is properly refreshing (sometimes even stunningly brave) in a world where music is so cut and paste and full of marketing fakery and paper-thin shallow individuals. Listening to Future Islands might even help restore your faith in popular music as an art form, I kid you not. You can tell they are in it for the music and not for those greasy, talentless money-grabbing marketing men and their vapid, cliched hangers-on. There's meaning in Future Islands' music.

The sound itself - you can listen for yourself, but it has a nice 80s synth flavour from a keyboard, bass and drums set-up. Herring's voice is fantastically nuanced and dynamic - strong and sensitive. The album is melodic and memorable and you won't tire of listening to it.

Their previous album is worth listening to: it's more raucous, more of a work in progress. But I'm very much looking forward to their next album; I just hope I won't have to wait too long!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars and great sounding tracks overall, 4 Oct 2014
By 
Martyn Smith "music junkie" (Rochester, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singles (MP3 Download)
Well, having seen them on Later with Jools, and listening to them online, I have to say this CD will have to become part of my collection. A passionate and somewhat different delivery from the front man (nice moves!), and great sounding tracks overall, it's a no brainer, to coin a phrase. They seem to be one of those bands that come along from time to time and offer something a little different, that just elevates them from the pack. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem, 24 Oct 2014
By 
R. D. Jackman "RickJ" (Cheltenham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
Shades of Talking Heads, Talk Talk, early Depeche Mode, New Order, Yazoo and Avalon-era Roxy Music - but they have a sound all of their own and it sounds like now if that's not a complete contradiction? There is something lyrical and really affecting about his voice and delivery. This is a really special album I think. I don't love every track but I really really love almost every track. This album is a complete joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of No Where Came...Brilliant, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
Catch these lads on the Lettermen show on You Tube. They blew the roof off the show. Now on with the CD. It's good, very good. Lashings of mid-period Bowie synth sounds with a heart rending soul voice on top. Nothing quite like it which makes it new and refreshing. You will want to listen to it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A first-rate album, 5 Nov 2014
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
I agree with the chorus of praise for this album here. Like several others, I hadn't heard Future Islands before seeing them on the Jools Holland programme. I thought they were excellent and risked the album; I wasn't disappointed.

The music is great - it took me back to the early 80s with strong echoes of Vince Clarke, Steve Strange, New Order and any number of other bands in the arrangements in various places (I thought there were hints of The National, too). What really makes this special, though, is their excellently named frontman Samuel T. Herring. He manages to look like a slightly overweight nerd from the accounts department while also delivering fantastically emotional, powerful vocals and producing his own unique dance moves. It's a great combination and this is a first-rate album in my view.

My advice is to listen to a few samples. If you like them don't hesitate - this is an album of real quality from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well what can I say. Its taken Future Islands ..., 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles (MP3 Download)
Well what can I say. Its taken Future Islands eleven years to become an overnight success on the Letterman show in the states and on Jools Holland in the UK. The highest praise I can raise is that Future Island are what Kraftwerk aspired to. The more you play the album the more you realise what a serious piece it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Album Of The Year, 16 Dec 2014
By 
Syriat - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
Four albums in and they call the fourth album Singles. Is this a compilation, a greatest hits? No. Its a new album whereby they appear on Letterman and Later, win friends on both sides of the Atlantic and yet again appear on best of lists. Why? Because its a very good set of songs here. Synthpop delivered with luscious hooks, some growling lyrics and light as a feather production.
Seasons (Waiting on You), Fall From Grace and Spirit are high water marks but there is beauty in each track here. The trick of the delivery is in the bass delivered alongside keyboards. It just builds a momentum and supports the vocal. It sounds very modern yet has a strong sound of the 80's. Listen to the almost 8 bit intro of Spirit and you could transplant this back two decades.

Deservedly this is an album of the year contender.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... just had to buy the album and I wasn't disappointed., 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
Saw these on Jools Holland and just had to buy the album and I wasn't disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous, 13 Dec 2014
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
Wonderful album. I love how the husky voice melts with the electronic music; the lyrics are very personal and they make this record special. One of those records you'll find as a "cult album" in few years One of the best CD I lestened in 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Singles
Singles by Future Islands
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews