Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another hit!
4.5 Stars
Another Mary Calmes book.....life is such a chore.......NOT!!!

So this has the dreaded cheater in it. Don’t let that put you off reading it though as it has so much more than the devious Breckin who can’t keep from dipping where he shouldn’t. Karma is a bitch as they say!
This book really does have everything. It has...
Published 14 months ago by Caroline

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay but not up to standard.
Enjoyed this book but felt that it was set in a different universe to the one I live in - one where two men can have heavy snogging sessions in public and no-one seems bothered. Also felt that Tracy thought and behaved more like a girl than a boy in some ways. This is always a danger when a writer is trying to get into the head of her/his opposite gender. So, although it...
Published 9 months ago by Pam T


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another hit!, 9 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Floodgates (Kindle Edition)
4.5 Stars
Another Mary Calmes book.....life is such a chore.......NOT!!!

So this has the dreaded cheater in it. Don’t let that put you off reading it though as it has so much more than the devious Breckin who can’t keep from dipping where he shouldn’t. Karma is a bitch as they say!
This book really does have everything. It has Tracy who is fun, self deprecating and so very kind. It has Breckin his boyfriend who is good looking, suave and a cheating horror bag. It has Cord the self proclaimed man whore who has changed his life so he stands a chance of getting what he wants. It has Celia who claims it was an accident but who I personally think is a devious moo. It has Dimah who should really get his own book and who may or may not be in the Russian Mob. Lastly it has the two hot brothers Alex and Evan.
Tracy meets Dr Breckin Alcott when he is trapped in a car after a crash. Two years later the pair are living together and talking about marriage when Tracy arrives home early and catches him in a very compromising position with another man. Four months later and separated Tracy is quite sure the relationship is over but Breckin is like a dog with a bone and just won’t let go. What is it that Breckin sees him in?
When Tracy is shot at in his work place it brings all the characters in the book out to play. Breckin turns up at the hospital because he cares...eugh. Alex turns up in angry big brother mode along with his best friend Cord. Tracy and Cord have a strange and tense relationship. They bounce insults off each other constantly but there is always an underlying tension between the pair. Dimah is Tracys business partner and friend and very protective. He is a huge bone of contention with the rest of the family but that won’t keep the man away when his friend has been injured.
The plot is clever and twisty and just as I was sure it was going one way it went another which kept it interesting to read. I loved that the very thing that Tracy wanted so badly was under his nose the entire time but he didn’t realise until he needed to feel safe.....then it became so obvious he was left in awe that he hadn’t previously realised.
I loved how supportive the brothers were and how they each filled different rolls to each other. Tracy was lucky to have such support and understanding. The side characters add a lot to this story and some of them deserve their own stories.
This book is a real lesson in how looks and actions can be deceiving!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 4 Mar. 2014
By 
Gabs (London,GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floodgates (Kindle Edition)
I just love MC's stories. Yes some of the characteristics of the "main men" are similiar in most of her books but so what! The story in each is always exciting and her way of words just satisfying. I could read a book a day but alas I have to make do with a book every few month...LOL. Her books are worth every penny with a decent lengths (unlike so many other books in this genre) and storyline, always a happy ending (sigh) and a feel good buzz left behind. She is the only author of whom I re-read ALL books frequently...ok often. Just love her books and hope her creative juices continue to flow for many, many years to come. I salute you Mary Calmes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floodgates (Kindle Edition)
There's just something about Mary Calmes' books that put me in a good mood. The characters are thoroughly likable, the plots, although a bit unlikely, don't push us totally beyond our limits, and the writing is polished. All in all, a winning combination. 'Floodgates' is a stand-alone novel, so far, at least, but it could easily be the beginning of a really appealing series. Tracy is a sweetheart, Cord is as sexy as hell and the supporting characters are charming - I would love to know more about Alex, Evan and the Russian contingent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great tale, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floodgates (Kindle Edition)
I have lots of Mary Calmes books and I think they're all great, this one was no exception. Great story, good plot and I didn't want to put it down. I really love the way she makes her characters interact, they way friends would snipe at each other and back chat, she has that down pat. You're left wondering who the bad guy is right up until the end, but as soon as he's introduced you know its him, nevertheless its a particularly absorbing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Floodgates, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floodgates (Kindle Edition)
I love this book,couldn't put it down,great story. I want my own cord x x will read more from this author x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay but not up to standard., 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floodgates (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this book but felt that it was set in a different universe to the one I live in - one where two men can have heavy snogging sessions in public and no-one seems bothered. Also felt that Tracy thought and behaved more like a girl than a boy in some ways. This is always a danger when a writer is trying to get into the head of her/his opposite gender. So, although it was okay, I didn't think that this book is the writer's finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it., 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floodgates (Kindle Edition)
another great read by mary,she sure knows how to write and it has a good balance for me.it's an investigator who finds his man after playing the field for a long time.as usual there was the right amount of elements in the story that just keeps you hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floodgates (Kindle Edition)
I have a massive soft spot for the 'brother's best friend/best friend's brother' theme (Bear, Otter and The Kid etc.) with great characters and a great plot - this book did not let me down on either front. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it's good, 4 May 2014
By 
Jeremy W Williams (Braintree, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floodgates (Kindle Edition)
I've loved reading Mary's books after reading Change of Heart, and I'm happy to say, I'm hooked.
Another great book, hopefully one of many!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I found the story a little confusing at times., 19 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floodgates (Kindle Edition)
I read the story from start to finish, it got better toward the end, but I found parts of it confusing, especially some of the character conversations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Floodgates
Floodgates by Mary Calmes
£4.55
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews