Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Written YA with Forbidden Love and Danger
WOW!! Seriously just WOW! Crossroads is one of those stories that you can just lose yourself in. With a gripping storyline and adorable main characters its everything that is wonderful about Young Adult Literature.

Crossroads is about 16 year old Claudia who while sleeping enters into a world called the Crossroads. There she meets Michael who has fallen in love...
Published 24 months ago by Wee Shubba

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mixed feelings
Young Adult

3*

This is the story about a young girl, Claudia, whose friend dies in a car accident. Soon after her death Claudia keeps having strange dreams, in the dreams she always finds herself in the same place. While there she meets Michael a broody mysterious being who turns out to be an Alkin (half human half Angel) We soon learn that the...
Published on 22 Oct 2011 by MJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Written YA with Forbidden Love and Danger, 2 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads (Paperback)
WOW!! Seriously just WOW! Crossroads is one of those stories that you can just lose yourself in. With a gripping storyline and adorable main characters its everything that is wonderful about Young Adult Literature.

Crossroads is about 16 year old Claudia who while sleeping enters into a world called the Crossroads. There she meets Michael who has fallen in love with her before she even knew him. However, Claudia shouldn't be able to get into the Crossroads and soon everything she thought was true in life is turned upset down and she is being hunted by fallen angels.

The characters in this book are all so likeable. Claudia is really down to earth and even when faced with terrible situations she is still strong. When she meets Michael she is completely smitten. It's really easy to understand why. Even though at first Michael is rude to her. It's only because he confused about why he is feeling human emotional. You see Michael is an Alkin, half angel and half human. It's not long though until they are both madly in love and seriously the thing Michael say's to Claudia is so romantic it makes me jealous. My favourite character is another angel, Davin. He is just so funny and cute. There is just something that make you connect with him. He is just an all round nice person who is loyal to his friends.

Now the story at first was a little slow for the first couple of chapters. However, after I got into it I was completely hooked! The storyline is simply fantastic!! It's about angel but Mary has created a story that is completely different to more angel stories. She has put alot of Mythology behind her angels and it just makes the readers understand and connect easier with the characters.

Crossroads is a beautifully written debut novel that has everything you need for a outstanding read. Forbidden love, danger, angels and demons what not to love?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Read!, 29 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Claudia Emerson has a best friend with the same first and surname. When her friend is killed in an accident, Claudia is distraught. However, she is also unsettled by her dreams, which takes her to another place called Crossroads. Crossroads is neither heaven, nor is it earth. It is a place where the souls of people who are in comas or have near death experiences wander. Claudia meets Michael on one of her visits. Michael is a Nephilim, half angel and half human. Claudia has visited Crossroads on more than one occasion. However, she it the only human to do so, which intrigues Michael. Now the fallen and the demons are after her, as they suspect she is special. It is up to Michael and the rest of the Nephilim to protect her. Can Michael fight his growing feelings for Claudia and protect her as a guardian angel should?

Claudia is a typical teenager, with one exception. In her dreams she visits a place called Crossroads. It is a real place where the souls of humans wander before moving on to heaven or hell. However, she is unaware of this and just thinks she is dreaming. I love her character, but I think that the Nephilim are just as interesting. Michael comes across as being cold and unfeeling, but he is hiding a secret. Another of my favourite characters is Davin. He has a wicked sense of humour! I love the brotherly camaraderie between Michael and Davin; It makes me wish I had a brother! The story is touching in places and full of action in others. I loved it! I highly recommend this book. I am now looking forward to continuing Claudia's story in Between, which is now available. I hope to read it soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crossroads, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads (Crossroads Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Wow this this author her books are great glad that I saw you on Facebook can't wait for more of her books to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Omgggg, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was beautifully written i loved all of the characters and their part in the story and also this book was such an easy read i didnt realise what was happening an how i finished the book untill now. It wa just shamazingggggggggggggggggggggggg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 1 Feb 2014
By 
Jewels "Julie" (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What an amazing start to a series. You'll fall in love with these characters. I highly recommend this book :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 30 Sep 2012
`Crossroads' by Mary Ting was a refreshing, easy read. I thoroughly enjoyed this book! The characters were lovable, especially Michael! You witness Claudia blossom into a more mature individual and the romance between these two characters was beautiful! The storyline flowed easily, the writing was beautiful and the imagery created was gorgeous. I read Crossroads in less than a day. I was hooked; I really could not put it down! This was a fabulous holiday beach read! I cannot wait to see what book two has in-store! I would recommend this book to any angel lovers out there!

I have rated this book 5*!

*(I won this in a giveaway)*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing book of angel lore!, 4 May 2012
My review:

Before I started reading Crossroads, I had heard a lot of positive things about it, but I did not expect it to be that good. I absolutely fell in love with it! Crossroads by Mary Ting is the first book in Crossroads Saga and it is a book which draws you into it. It is written full hearted and you can see and feel, that the author has put a soul into this book. It is not only easy to read, but the language used is beautiful in its simplicity, the descriptions of the scenes and dialogues are poetic, tender and sweet. It's a very good example of Young Adult book. I can't wait to finish the second book!

Regarding the plot:

Meet Claudia Emerson. She is having dreams about a weird place, which seems very real to her until she finds out that it is. The place is called Crossroads, a gate between Heaven and Earth where angels and alkins live. Claudia meets a gorgeous young man there - Michael. Michael is rude to her when they meet and tries to get her to leave Crossroads, which is not a place for humans.

Approximately at the same time, Claudia gets a phone call that her friend, who has exactly the same name, dies. After that event Claudia's life is changed, for the first time in her life, she meets grief and loss of a person who is close to her.

During the nights Claudia is back at Crossroads and learns more about the world above, and also about her. Crossroads is a home for children of angels' and humans - alkins. After Claudia is touched by one of the alkins, her life is in danger, because fallen angels can smell and feel that she has met and been touched by angels.

Michael is decided to be Claudia's guardian angel and from there their relationship take a different turn, they fall in love and this love is forbidden by the heavenly laws. Their relationship grows as quickly as the threats to Claudia's life.

I loved the world what the author has created. I do like books involving angels, fallen angels and demon, but this plot gave much more and it was refreshing experience of unique settings. The world was magical and fascinating. I loved the idea of Earth angels; I think this was a part which made the plot unique.

The story was told from two different points of views, from Claudia's and Michael's. The change was smooth between them and it was interesting to see the world above through Michael's eyes.

The relationship between Claudia and Michael was sweet and tender, where every glance, flirt, touch and word had meaning and substance. It was intense and beautiful, just like young love is.

Regarding the characters:

Crossroads is a real pearl when talking about characters! There we many well developed characters also besides the main characters, but let's start with the main couple.

I liked Claudia. She was down to earth, brave, smart and yet real like a teenage girl would be. She managed the information what she gets from the alkins about their world bravely, she does not freak out. It is also interesting to see, how she handles the facts about who she is and what Gamma actually meant to her. Claudia was a lovable protagonist.

Michael was adorable. He was protective, supportive and sweet and the author was capable of writing him sweet in a way which was not fulsome. There was enough masculinity in him and that balanced his tenderness towards Claudia nicely.

Gamma was brilliantly created, her whole story was. She loved Claudia like her own granddaughter trying to protect her from the enemies. She has a key role in the first book, even though it is revealed towards the end of the book.

I adored Michael's friend Davin! He was cute, fierce, boyish, brave, smart and such a good friend both to Michael and also to Claudia. I really hope that we will hear more about Davin and other alkins - Vivian and Caleb - in the coming installments.

Mary Ting created a wonderful world for lovers of angel lore!

Generally:

Crossroads by Mary Ting is definitely a MUST-READ for lovers of paranormal romance. The world is enticing, the characters are fun and captivating and the plot has some surprising twists and turns!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definite MUST read!, 9 Aug 2011
On the same night as the tragic death of a once very close friend Claudia Emerson encounters another world, called Crossroads through her dreams. Whilst in Crossroads she learns about a mix breed of angels and humans called the Alkin. Claudia learns of the supernatural powers that the Alkin possess. Among the Alkin lies evil known as the "fallen" . The Alkin that choose not to follow the Divine Rules. It is certain that because of her ability to go to Crossroads that the fallen will be after her/ So she is assigned a guardian angel named Michael. The leader of the fallen is called Aden, he is convinced that Claudia somehow holds the key to help him destroy Crossroads. Her dream, at times becomes a nightmare, as more secrets are revealed. Who she really is, and the true identities of the people she loves the most.

What a beautifully written book!, It has great descriptions of the things, and places Claudia sees. The battle scenes are so well described you feel like you are part of them too. I love the humorous parts where the Alkin Angels are trying to blend in with the humans. This book has a touch of everything, there's, action,humour, mystery,and of course a little romance thrown in too. Hmmm for a favourite character who would I choose? Well of course there's Claudia, but then there's Michael and don't forget Davin, Caleb and Vivian. Even though he is a fallen Aden is also a great character you learn lots about the characters. I really could go on and on but I don't want to slip and put spoilers in my review! A definite must, must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotion filled read, 29 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Crossroads (Paperback)
Dramatic with a maze of twists, this descriptive tale of love & loyalty beyond the boundaries of reality had me absorbed in to a world I wanted to understand. A place where fantasy crosses with what is true; with each turn of the page CROSSROADS led me on an enjoyable journey of discovery allowing time to relate to even the most obscure of characters.

Whilst it would be easy to give away what is a fascinating plot, I feel that each reader will see & discover something unique within the emotion & adventure filled life of our heroin Claudia Emerson.

A fine & well written peace of fiction: which I would recommend for any YA & those of us who are still young at heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful love story, 22 May 2011
This review is from: Crossroads (Hardcover)
I read Crossroads in just two days because I couldn't put it down. The plot is a new and unique one: Claudia sees people in her dreams, beings who warn her to stay away. Her friends calls to ask whether she's okay because, for a moment, they thought Claudia was dead. But instead, it's someone else with the same name who dies the same way Claudia dreamed.
At first, Claudia thinks everyone worrying is the result of her friend's death, but that soon turns enigmatic when the people around her become obsessive when it comes to Claudia's safety, fretting over her late night shift at her after-school job as a sales assistant.
Claudia keeps meeting people in her dreams, beings of light, beings who want something from her, and these beings are starting to cross over into the physical realm, beckoning Claudia to come to them. They've been ordered to take her somewhere. Soon, the visions of meeting these beings blur, and Claudia can no longer tell whether they're just dreams or reality--or something in between.
When she falls for Michael, the boy she keeps meeting, she knows he's someone she can never be with because she's different. And being different has never been more dangerous.

I don't write reviews unless I found the book remarkable and worth reviewing. I thought this was a great book, original, sad at times, with beautiful writing and description. I liked Michael straight away. He was protective, yet broody and mysterious. Claudia is not a wimpy heroine; she's fiercely protective of those around her and tries to keep them safe, even if it means staying away from the one she loves. I also liked the twist at the end when I found out what Claudia really is.
Mary Ting's story of angels and a world in between was a stunning read with plenty of drama and twists and turns. The cliffhanger at the end left me eagerly awaiting the next book in the series. I recommend this to all fantasy readers and those interested in the paranormal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews