Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHAKIRA'S BEST ALBUM YET!!
I was so excited in the build up to her latest album release, and was not disappointed when I was finally able to download. This is by far her best album - both musically and lyrically! Whether you have been a fan of Shakira for years already, are only recently a fan of hers or are not yet a fan, this album is a MUST BUY! I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this...
Published 9 months ago by George

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hits don't lie
Following 2010's "Sale el sol", Shakira returns with her new, self-titled album, her first since becoming a mother, first for her new label, and first English since 2009. Her last two English albums, although succesful, proved mixed affairs as far as her personal objective was concerned: "She wolf" saw her sacrificing her latin flavour in favour of the glossy dancefloor...
Published 8 months ago by Scarlet Jupiter


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hits don't lie, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Scarlet Jupiter - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shakira. (Audio CD)
Following 2010's "Sale el sol", Shakira returns with her new, self-titled album, her first since becoming a mother, first for her new label, and first English since 2009. Her last two English albums, although succesful, proved mixed affairs as far as her personal objective was concerned: "She wolf" saw her sacrificing her latin flavour in favour of the glossy dancefloor diva that she transformed into; and the super-ambitious 2-disc "Oral fixation" opus nearly buried her vision underneath - not her clothes but because of - its sheer volume. Here, with a variety of genres on display, and a nuanced balance of different musical styles, Shakira is enriching her sound furthermore while keeping intact her distinguishable roots, as she addresses the joy of new love from both her child and partner, a reminder that beneath the global superstar there is heart and soul.

Anthemic dance opener "Dare"'s mix of electronic backgrounds with brazilian beats, the explosive duet with Rihanna "Can't remember to forget you", the superb new single "Empire", an unlikely rock ballad, the beautiful retro-feel of "You don't care about me", "Cut me deep"'s reggae / ska rhythm, "Spotlight"'s power guitars, the delicately string-ladden "Broken record", "23"'s romantic minimalism, the universal love song "The one thing", and the closing "Loca por ti", homage to partner G. Pique, are all solid pop numbers. This new offering may lack the lyrical depth and thematology of previous albums where she exhibited a unique flair for writing, still it is a lovingly made concentrated product, radiating confidence and maturity. She is a pop star who can pull something great together through force of personality, a mighty achievement no doubt. Her hips don't lie, neither her songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHAKIRA'S BEST ALBUM YET!!, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shakira. (Deluxe Version) (MP3 Download)
I was so excited in the build up to her latest album release, and was not disappointed when I was finally able to download. This is by far her best album - both musically and lyrically! Whether you have been a fan of Shakira for years already, are only recently a fan of hers or are not yet a fan, this album is a MUST BUY! I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this album.

Track listing:

1. Dare (La La La)
2. Can't Remember to Forget You feat. Rihanna
3. Empire
4. You don't care about me
5. Cut Me Deep feat. Magic
6. Spotlight
7. Broken Record
8. Medicine feat. Blake Shelton
9. 23
10 The One Thing
11. Nunca Me Acuerdo de Olividarte
12. Loca por Ti
13. La La La
14. Chasing Shadows
15. That Way

This is a truly wonderful album, not a single song I do not love. BUY IT AND YOU SHALL NOT BE SORRY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sexy Shakira!, 9 Oct 2014
By 
P. Young (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shakira. (Audio CD)
After dancing to a few of the tracks at my Jazzercise classes over the last few weeks, thought I'd take a chance on buying the album - what a good choice that was. Enjoyed every track, which is unusual for me, even those sung in her native language, and will be playing it often. Good choice if you have no other Shakira albums, it'll keep you singing and dancing for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait., 28 Mar 2014
By 
D. C. Stolk (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The album "Shakira" by Colombian singer-songwriter Shakira is her tenth studio record and follows on her previous 2010 multi-lingual album "Sale El Sol." Shakira decided to scrap and/or rework some of the tracks she worked on since late 2011, as she wanted to set both musically and lyrically a new direction for this album since she became a mother. The music on the finished product is a mixture of rock, folk, reggae, dance and even some country, to name just a few influences, so this album should appeal to a wide range of musical tastes.

She starts off with a bang, as the album opener "Dare (La La La)" is a very catchy dance-floor-ready track. This is followed by the ska-flavored song "Can't Remember To Forget You," which has also some elements of reggae and rock, and is a duet with Rihanna. The epic pop-rock ballad "Empire" is a bit of a return to her original sound at the start of her career. "You Don't Care About Me" is a delicate song with a folksy feel to it, but has also some reggae-influences.

"Cut Me Deep" is a "duet" with the Canadian group Magic!, and a mixture of reggae, ska and rock in which she sings about the fact that break-ups suck. Next track "Spotlight" is another pop-rock song. It has a great chorus and might have enough potential to be a future single as it's certainly catchy enough. The guitar-driven "Broken Record" is a semi-acoustic ballad which has lovely lyrics.

"Medicine," the incredible catchy pop-country crossover duet with Blake Shelton, is one of my favorites on this album. This is followed by the ballad "23," beautifully sung by Shakira while delicately accompanied on acoustic guitar. Shakira dedicated this song to her husband and son Milan, making this song one of her most personal ones on this record. At the end, you can hear a snippet of her son's voice. Next track, the mid-tempo "The One Thing," is a mixture of dance, pop and rock.

"Nunca Me Cuerdo De Olvidarte" is the Spanish version of "Can't Remember To Forget You," and this track, without Rihanna, is even more catchy than the English version. The ballad "Loca Por Ti" ("Crazy For You") is the only cover on this album, a song originally performed by pop rock group SAU from the Catalonia region in Spain. On a side note: Shakira also made a Catalan version of this track, "`Boig Per Tu," which sounds even better.

The Deluxe Edition adds three tracks: "La La La" is the Spanish version of "Dare (La La La)," and in my opinion the better version. The electro-pop "Chasing Shadows" is a Sia-penned song, a radio-ready musical love letter that is perfectly suited for the dance-floor. "That Way" is a beautiful acoustic song, on which Shakira is also supported on piano, and shows the value of the adage "less is more."

With "Shakira," her first English-language release since 2009, the Colombian songstress has delivered an appealing album that is a real showcase for her vocal prowess. Just a few minor critical notes: the album is a bit too reggae-flavored (not that I dislike reggae as a genre, far from it) and ballad-heavy. Also, there's a tad too much switching between genres, so the album lacks a bit cohesiveness. These nit-pickings aside, it was certainly worth the four-year wait. Recommended to all lovers of great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, True & Sexy!, 14 Aug 2014
This review is from: Shakira. (Audio CD)
Shakira's music just makes me want to dance! It always takes me away to some place hot! Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of her best in English, 25 Mar 2014
By 
Michael Gross - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having followed Shakira's output for nearly 15 years now, I expect nothing less than brilliance from her releases in Spanish but approach the English ones with some trepidation. Conflicts between the artist's vision and the label's views on commercial viability have obviously damaged past English releases. Considering this, the self-titled album is surprisingly good. All the eccentricities we've come to expect from her are firmly in place, and spiced up with new blends of styles. The only obvious input from the sales guys is the duet with Rihanna, but as I like both the collaborator and the song, I'm fine with that. Prick up your ears for the slower, more sensitive numbers, including cut me deep, 23, and broken record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shakira. (Audio CD)
her voice is amazeing good upbeat tunes give a feel good factor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shakira. (Audio CD)
Loved this CD. Amazing voice and lyrics. What more can I say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shakira. (Audio CD)
i love shakira, great cd, would love to be her man. xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shakira. (Deluxe Version) (MP3 Download)
I've always loved Shakira, but this is (in my opinion) the best one she has ever done - by far. I LOVE IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews