Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tests done in a Lancashire setting
I have purchased this solar panel based on some of the reviews that it can charge well portable 5V USB devices. I have actually bought 2 of these panels and I can put some numbers based on a field test I have conducted.

This product is rated as 14W power output at 5V meaning that each port theoretically can output using ohms law 14W / 5V = 2.8/2 ports= 1.4...
Published 13 days ago by J. Linares

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nice product
nice product but its very slow at changing ideal for days out or caravan ing ideal if u are not in a rush
Published 1 month ago by paul ellis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tests done in a Lancashire setting, 16 July 2014
By 
J. Linares - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AnkerŪ 14W Solar Panel Foldable Dual-port Solar Charger with PowerIQ™ Technology for 5V USB-charged Devices Including GPS Units, iPhone, iPad, Android Phones and Android Tablets (Electronics)
I have purchased this solar panel based on some of the reviews that it can charge well portable 5V USB devices. I have actually bought 2 of these panels and I can put some numbers based on a field test I have conducted.

This product is rated as 14W power output at 5V meaning that each port theoretically can output using ohms law 14W / 5V = 2.8/2 ports= 1.4 amps.

These tests are done between 3pm and 7pm in Lancashire with cloudy and sunny periods.

First I would like to state that the website solarizen.com there is a statement that says that these panels do not charge when it is cloudy; it is not true, it does charge but the charge may not be enough to charge a large battery that may need some charge to recognise it, but may be enough to charge a small portable USB appliance. Another thing to note is that choice of USB cables does make a significant difference when charging from a solar panel as outputs can vary quite significantly and affects charging efficiency.

Using an ammeter and a portapow USB fast charge cable, I managed to pull from a single port around 100mA on a very cloudy and rainy day to charge 2 Anker 15Amp batteries. When it is sunny, it manages to pull out from a single port between 600mAh to 1000mAh which would in theory take between 15 hours and 25 hours provided that the sun is out for that long.

I have also tried to chain these panels together using a Y cable and the difference is noticeable when the skies are cloudy; from 100mAh to 250mAh when combined with a Delock Y cable. When it is sunny, both panels will not output double capacity; from my field test, I noticed only 300mAh jump from 700mAh to 900mAh when charging with both panels at the same time.

During 3 hours of occasional sun and cloud, it managed to keep charging both Anker batteries (one is at 50% charge whilst the other was >75%), a Garmin 510 GPS module from 75% to 100% charge and a samsung BT headset. One panel managed to output a total of 1.3Amps (0.9Amps to the battery and 0.3Amps to the Garmin and 0.1Amp to my BT headset).

Despite that the company claims it can output 14W which translates to roughly 2.8Amps per panel, the efficiency was 46.4% at around 6pm in a Lancashire setting. I would still need to test this during noon which is when UV tends to at its highest levels.

Overall, the product does charge well and it does do what is in the tin. My only gripe with this product is that the pockets could be large enough to accommodate batteries to keep it away from the heat as it deteriorates battery condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, great product, only hampered by Lancashire weather in April, 19 April 2014
By 
Stemcgoo (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: AnkerŪ 14W Solar Panel Foldable Dual-port Solar Charger with PowerIQ™ Technology for 5V USB-charged Devices Including GPS Units, iPhone, iPad, Android Phones and Android Tablets (Electronics)
Ok so firstly, by way of disclosure, I was supplied a sample for test and evaluation, and I promised to write a review that is fair and honest.

***EDIT - MAY 2014***
so, just got back from camping in Cornwall at the end of May, not perfect Summer sunshine, but some decent periods of sun to test out the 14w panel. Results? Well I had it sat on my dashboard in the car for 2 hours and it fully charged the iPhone 5 from 50%. Pretty impressive I'd say.
******

Well, firstly the delivery, prompt and on time, the packaging is simple a straightforward, no fuss to get in, no need for scissors. A simple Anker printed manilla card box. Not as aesthetically pleasing as Ankers boxes normally are with a white colour printed sleeve but fuss free and functional and there is a certain appeal to simple function over form packaging, no waste, less cost etc

Ok so opening the box the solar charger is simply presented folded up, no overpacking inside! Included are the care card and simple instructions.

The solar charger is quite large, even folded its definitely a backpack carry, no chance of fitting in even the most generous of coat pockets. Folded it measures approx 28x17cm with a depth of up to 4cm. Unfolded the length is 89cm (x28cm) but the actual distance between the eyelets is 70cm.
Each of the 4 PV panels measures 21x13cm.

The "5th" fold/panel is reserved for the USB port connectors contained in a handy little pocket secured with Velcro - at best, expect to fit in only one smartphone, although it's still a squeeze trying to coil up a metre long charging lead with the phone in the pocket. more likely you'll not bother trying to put your phone in here so i just use it to store the instructions. Thankfully the small strip of Velcro doesn't seal the flap fully (bad thing if you did want to securely store your device while charging on a hike) so it doesn't prevent cables trailing out.
There's a nice bit of text printed here as well reminding that it is reliant on decent levels of sunshine (so no complaining if it doesn't work while you're stargazing....) but also supplying the anker support email address.

It appears to be made from a good quality heavy duty canvas fabric well stitched and constructed with handy eyelets for the creative user, no complaints there. I intend to put them to use on my next camping trip, can put guy ropes through them to secure it during the day perhaps, and even considering hanging it out the bedroom window on a string for testing, but not brave enough yet!
I do think it may be a problem that the eyelets don't cover the full unfolded length, the cover the 4 solar panels, but not the USB panel, so if you are hiking and have this fixed to your backpack, that 5th USB panel may be a bit flappy, won't be held in place, not sure folding it back behind will work if the eyelets are in use, but it's only an inconvenience and maybe Anker can revise in 'v2'?

The panels themselves are protected by a plastic facing to prevent scratching, appear sturdy enough but I am sure they will only work so long as they haven't been stood on, bent, cracked etc.

So actual use for what it's intended....
Admittedly this has not been helped by some lacklustre weather here in Lancashire in April - it's been terribly overcast with rain and frankly, on those days, don't even bother to get this out, it barely registers any charge.
Thankfully the last week has seen some improvement and I have been able to test the Charger under the burning sun!
The good news is it exceeds my expectations when the sun is out. It works thankfully through glass for those who are security conscious, so if like me you want to leave it on the windowsill, or even on your car dash while parked, it does work. I imagine performance will improve under naked sunlight, after all some glass (windscreens) include UV filtering, but I haven't been able to fully review the improvement yet so watch this space.
So far I have successfully charged a kindle fire, blackberry playbook, iPhone 5, 5c and a blackberry curve 9320. (Please note it has 2 USB ports only)
I managed to pick up about 25% battery on my wife's iPhone 5c yesterday over 2 hours, while trickle charging my sons Kindle Fire which had earlier picked up 40% battery to full over about 6 hours. An app on the kindle indicated charging at about 300mA but not sure how reliable or periodic/snapshot this is. On this point perhaps Anker should look to develop a battery performance/monitoring App that will allow buyers to check performance? (Equally useful for monitoring other Anker products such as the chargers and external batteries....)
I do intend to update the performance as I get more time to monitor what and how well it does.

The USB ports are marked USB1 and USB2 and appear to be identical straightforward ports (Not Ankers Smart ports, or specific to Apple or Android, just plain USB) sharing a max of 2A output at 5V. so one might give 2A, or 2 at 1A each. Theoretically it should charge an iPad...will advise soon.

Another side note here, Anker do recommend always using your supplied OEM charging cable for the device being charged. It might be disappointing at first that Anker don't supply cables, but it's a universal charger, so it's a guess for them which you'd want anyway, and speaking from experience, not all cables are made equal, regardless of whether they have the same connector. For instance I discovered that micro USB cables shared with Blackberries, most android phones, Nokias, and numerous others are just not the same - a blackberry does not like other cables, my sons kindle didn't like the Nokia cable or the Blackberry one...so be warned, if your device isn't charging so good, it may be the cables fault, not the charger!

Clearly of most benefit to those that are camping/hiking/on holiday, it does in fairness represent a benefit to those that are simply environmentally minded (and subject to a good supply of sunshine) this is better than leaving your device plugged in during the day (although clearly recharging your mobile phone overnight is a non-starter) - useful for topping up your ipad or tablet on the south facing windowsill while at work no doubt. Anyone familiar with roof mounted solar panels and value/benefits can surely apply much of the same logic here, not that I'm suggesting you can buy 100's of these to be mounted on your roof...

So my final scores are;
Packaging 5/5 - simple, fuss free, minimal waste

Appearance 4.5/5 - functional appearance, good sturdy quality and finish, folds up neat and tidy, not sure about eyelet position

Value 4/5 - Ģ49.99 is a fair amount of money, it's a serious purchase that will benefit a serious user. For those travelling abroad, hiking, camping etc, this might easily become a 5/5 proposition depending on frequency of use!

Performance 4.5/5 - ok I'm reserving to 4.5/5 for now, and this might seem cruel as some of that is my local geographic limitation and clearly performance is linked to available sunshine, and it does work, when the sun is out. I've tried a different (smaller) solar charger in the past that was useless so it's already one up on the fact it delivers!

Overall 4.5/5 - it's a genuinely useful, practical device. Of phenomenal value to those that will maximise its use when either A. The sun is shining (lots) and/or B. Are detached from regular Electrical supply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nice product, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AnkerŪ 14W Solar Panel Foldable Dual-port Solar Charger with PowerIQ™ Technology for 5V USB-charged Devices Including GPS Units, iPhone, iPad, Android Phones and Android Tablets (Electronics)
nice product but its very slow at changing ideal for days out or caravan ing ideal if u are not in a rush
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super bit of kit!, 18 Jun 2014
I received one of these to review. I have been so pleased with it, I would have no hesitation in buying one as a gift. I have recharged both smart phones and a tablet with the unit. In really bright sunshine the phones charged as fast as they do with the mains. Overcast conditions make it slower, but it still charges. I have solar panels on the roof of my house and this is what happens with them.

I have found that the pocket does not keep the items being recharged cool. In very bright conditions the phone can get very hot. By putting the panels in the direct sunshine and trailing the USB cable complete with phone into a shady area works brilliantly.

We are long distance walkers, and I have attached the panels by their loops to the front of my rucksack with my phone in my pocket attached to a long lead. It keeps my phone battery topped up no matter how long we are out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent charger, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AnkerŪ 14W Solar Panel Foldable Dual-port Solar Charger with PowerIQ™ Technology for 5V USB-charged Devices Including GPS Units, iPhone, iPad, Android Phones and Android Tablets (Electronics)
Does everything it says, I'm camping as I type and last evening in very overcast conditions this thing was still pumping out power to my lantern, phone and Anker battery pack using a 4 US hub. This Anker solar panel has just replaced my slow bulky Smokey biolite thermo stove and i will be buying a second one. Very handy to have in emergencies. Highly recommended at this price....looks the part too. Just needs a better pocket system for securing cables and phones /batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome solar charger, 28 July 2014
By 
ivoconk (london, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AnkerŪ 14W Solar Panel Foldable Dual-port Solar Charger with PowerIQ™ Technology for 5V USB-charged Devices Including GPS Units, iPhone, iPad, Android Phones and Android Tablets (Electronics)
Awesome solar charger. Great build quality. In full sunlight it charged my iPhone 5 as quickly as the regular wall charger in a mains socket and did a good job even in bright overcast conditions. The little pouch that contains the USB ports is great as you can tuck your devices in there whilst charging. Very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb build quality, plenty of power in bright conditions, even cloudy, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AnkerŪ 14W Solar Panel Foldable Dual-port Solar Charger with PowerIQ™ Technology for 5V USB-charged Devices Including GPS Units, iPhone, iPad, Android Phones and Android Tablets (Electronics)
Shropshire is a long way from Barbados and so camping last week was a good test of this unit. Under bright cloudy skies this solar charger does, indeed, work well. It won't charge your phone super fast under those conditions but once you can get to a patch of blue sunny sky then this unit is brilliant compared to other solar chargers I've used. The key is obviously the sheer number of quality panels and this is the advantage. The unit is really well built, certainly built for the rugged outdoors and the metal rings provide a great way to secure it. I bought a small wire padlock to thread through and secure it to a washing line on site. If left unattended I'd recommend purchasing a battery pack rather than leaving your mobile in there. You could leave that charging during the day and use the battery to charge your mobile in the evening.
This item works and works really well. Highly recommended. Especially if you're a camper who only requires a mobile or speaker or lamp to be charged. This is ideal. The panels fold up to give an A4 size footprint maybe 20mm thick. Easy to fit into a backpack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
By 
G. Williams (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AnkerŪ 14W Solar Panel Foldable Dual-port Solar Charger with PowerIQ™ Technology for 5V USB-charged Devices Including GPS Units, iPhone, iPad, Android Phones and Android Tablets (Electronics)
Excellent item works well I had no problems with it other than finding some sun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Attracted a lot of attention. Travelled over 35km of ..., 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AnkerŪ 14W Solar Panel Foldable Dual-port Solar Charger with PowerIQ™ Technology for 5V USB-charged Devices Including GPS Units, iPhone, iPad, Android Phones and Android Tablets (Electronics)
Attracted a lot of attention. Travelled over 35km of my trek through most olympus and the highest peaks, charged the gps watch from 30 percent to full in twenty mins at full capacity. Not too heavy to carry for the three days of hut hopping. Durable n functional
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
By 
FrankVerbreyt (Oud-Heverlee, Belgium) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AnkerŪ 14W Solar Panel Foldable Dual-port Solar Charger with PowerIQ™ Technology for 5V USB-charged Devices Including GPS Units, iPhone, iPad, Android Phones and Android Tablets (Electronics)
Perfect for outdoors recharging.. Excellent quality of build. Very practical for travel in sunny areas. Quick battery charging times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews