Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don Williams timeless
Simply one of the best country singers ever whose voice is as good as it has ever been.
Don't care about the packaging because i will be listening to it not looking at the packaging
a brilliant CD i would definately recommend.
Published 4 months ago by Mrs M Torres

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No CD Box
Great CD but no CD box this was not advertised is Amazon cutting back for more profit so I will buy my CD at another outlet.
I have now heard of other Amazon customers having the same problem
Published 4 months ago by Ian


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don Williams timeless, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflections (Audio CD)
Simply one of the best country singers ever whose voice is as good as it has ever been.
Don't care about the packaging because i will be listening to it not looking at the packaging
a brilliant CD i would definately recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ten golden musical nuggets., 26 April 2014
By 
D. C. Stolk (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reflections (Audio CD)
"Reflections" is the new album by now 74-year-old Don "Gentle Giant" Williams, the follow-up to his 2012 album "And So It Goes." The tracks on this album are not originals but classic tunes from other great songwriters. What is immediately obvious when you start playing this album, is that his smooth bass-baritone, one of the most iconic voices of country music, has lost none of its power to mesmerize the listener with these reflections on a life well-lived.

The songs covered on this album are, as performed by the original artists: "I'll Be Here In The Morning" (Townes Van Zandt), "Talk Is Cheap" (Alan Jackson), "I Won't Give Up On You" (Jordyn Shellhart), "Sing Me Back Home" (Merle Haggard), "Working Man's Son" (??), "Healing Hands" (Steve Gillette), "If I Were Free" (Jesse Winchester), "Back To The Simple Things" (??), "Stronger Back" (Doug Gill) and "The Answer" (??). Sadly, for the songs marked (??), I couldn't find the names of the original artists.

Quality oozes from this album like filling from one of America's best, home-made burgers. The ten songs, carefully produced by Garth Fundis, show that the veteran singer picked ten golden musical nuggets out of the country music catalog, putting together a compilation of beautiful authentic country tracks. Songs like the folksy "I'll Be Here In The Morning," the romantic "Working Man's Son," the tugging-at-your-heartstrings "Sing Me Back Home" or the somewhat snappier "Talk Is Cheap" are exemplary for this. Ever the sensitive story-teller, with the easy, almost conversational musical style in which he sings, he manages to touch the soul of the listener with every intonation.

Don Williams is truly gifted as a singer and the way he interprets these classics lifts this album way above it being "just a cover cd." Personal favorites on this album are "I'll Be Here In The Morning," "I Won't Give Up On You," "Sing Me Back Home" and "Healing Hands." In less than a month, we were blessed by the outstanding, but alas posthumous Johnny Cash album "Out Among The Stars," and now "Reflections" by living legend Don Williams. Highly recommended!

Unfortunately, the bare-bones cardboard CD sleeve provides only the song-titles and the names of those who wrote the music and/or lyrics. No booklet is provided with the lyrics of the songs and their histories, or info about the original artists. For those interested, I've put this in the comment-section. For the songs marked with (??), I couldn't find the names of the original artists who sang these songs, even when using The Encyclopedia Of Country Music, Wikipedia and/or googling the internet. So if anyone can provide them so I can edit this into the review, it would be much appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COMFORTABLE, 11 May 2014
This review is from: Reflections (Audio CD)
Almost 35 minutes of unadulterated pleasure with this newly recorded 10 track CD from Don Williams. From the beginning couple of songs where we hear the pulsating rhythmical accompaniment, you know what to expect even before he opens his mouth. When he does, it is like you a transported back in time because his voice is as good, if not better, now, than it was all those years ago.

The songs are all within the boundaries he has set for himself, even including a Merle Haggard classic, "Sing Me Back Home", which he makes his own. They are sung with a real sensitivity and sincerity, as any Don Williams fan will tell you, is normal. The lyrics are audible and make sense. The accompanying musicians do their part in making this CD one to treasure.

Yes, I think it really is that good. Good value, buy one now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars collections, 17 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflections (Audio CD)
one of his better albums. some lovely tracks.Working mans son ,and If I were free are very good sound tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have followed Don Williams for quite some time and ..., 10 July 2014
By 
Mr. Brian A. Pawson "Paul pawson" (Leeds, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflections (Audio CD)
I have followed Don Williams for quite some time and was lucky enough to see him at the palladium, this CD is Williams at his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Don Williams, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflections (Audio CD)
I love Don Williams and have just been to his concert in Glasgow. This cd is really nice and typical of don
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don at his very best, 4 Jun 2014
By 
William Walley (Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflections (Audio CD)
This album confirms Don Williams' place as the King of Emotion & Feeling. As the title implies, the tracks are very reflective of the misfit between modern life and the heart-felt aspirations of ordinary people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than ever, 29 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflections (Audio CD)
I've been listening to Don Williams since I was a little girl. This album is quintessentially 'him', but also contemporary - great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my Mum, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflections (Audio CD)
Had seen the new album advertised and that it would be a good mothers day presie and it was! Received order within timescale indicated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maestro, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflections (Audio CD)
Don Wiliams just gets better and better, great music to listen to when you want to relax with a beer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reflections
Reflections by Don Williams
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews