Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melodic, dark, refreshing
Nicely layered synths with elements of Depeche Mode, Pet Shop Boys, a bit of NIN, with vocals that are sweet without ever becoming overly saccharine.
My new favourite band.
Published 16 months ago by MR B KESZEI

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad!
I was looking forward to the new Chvrches EP since i heard The Mother We Share and was excited to listen to this, but was ultimately disappointed by tracks 2 and 3, and then 4 and 5 are just remixes...

Good thing the title track is good, VERY GOOD and for that i give it a 3.
Published 15 months ago by Connor Coop


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melodic, dark, refreshing, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recover - EP (MP3 Download)
Nicely layered synths with elements of Depeche Mode, Pet Shop Boys, a bit of NIN, with vocals that are sweet without ever becoming overly saccharine.
My new favourite band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CHVRCHES, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recover - EP (MP3 Download)
A very good ep, makes me want to hear more of CHVRCHES, discappointed there were 3 versions of the title track though, rather than adding a new song entirely, they have such great stuff on you tube. (The Mother we share). can't wait for the full album to be released on CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 April 2013
By 
S. Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recover - EP (MP3 Download)
Brilliant EP, the three original tracks are all superb, and the remixes are pretty good too (although I'm holding out hope that 65daysofstatic eventually do a remix for them).

This isn't 'normally' the sort of music I'd seek out, but I'm interested in everything Cook does musically. I'm expecting the full album to be stunning. This could be big.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait for the album, 4 April 2013
By 
This review is from: Recover - EP (MP3 Download)
Glasgow has a recent history for powerful gloomy music like Mogwai, Arab Strap, Twilight Sad etc. Chvrches seem to marry their melodic power with a catchier wider appeal. Crashing guitars are replaced by catchy synths and you can't help but fall in love with Lauren Mayberry's vocals.

After repeated listening of The Mother We Share and Lies, I was anxious to hear more and am not disappointed. As you would expect, the title track is the best song here but the whole EP is confirmation that Chvrches are a band to keep an eye on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic song., 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recover - EP (MP3 Download)
Production wise, a bit overcompressed but it's such a great song I can forgive that. The main version is easily my favourite but the other mixes add a nice bit of variation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Power Pop At Its Best, 6 Aug 2013
By 
Snaggletooth (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Recover - EP (MP3 Download)
Love it. Recover is just a perfect pop song. Massive melody, massive production. Cant wait for the album based on this. Should have great things ahead of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recover EP by Chvurches, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recover - EP (MP3 Download)
Interesting mixture of songs on here. The songs, zvvl and Now is Not the Time are different and also good. A good quality E.P. I look forward to the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Synth Pop, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recover - EP (MP3 Download)
If you did not manage to get a copy of the limited edition 12” WRD release of Recover then this download will fill the gap. The trio of Lauren Mayberry, Martin Dohery, and Ian Cooks formed in Glasgow during 2011. Recover is a nice piece of synth pop, good melody, nice bass, synth lines and Mayberry’s wonderful vocals. Doherty leads vocals on “ZVVL” and unfortunately he does not have the same presence as Mayberry and really the guys should consign themselves to backing vocals. This could be Chvrches downfall if all three members see themselves as lead vocalists. I say leave the vocals to the woman – she does a better job! The first remix of Revover is rather good, the 80’s Remx rather less so – sounds like recover sped up. Overall a better release than their debut ‘The mother we share’ and worth a download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good buy, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recover - EP (MP3 Download)
Worth your money if you're into Electropop, its uplifting and nice on the ears! It's got a similar feel to some of the stuff Ladytron put out so if you like them then this should be up your street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad!, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recover - EP (MP3 Download)
I was looking forward to the new Chvrches EP since i heard The Mother We Share and was excited to listen to this, but was ultimately disappointed by tracks 2 and 3, and then 4 and 5 are just remixes...

Good thing the title track is good, VERY GOOD and for that i give it a 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Recover [Explicit]
Recover [Explicit] by Chvrches
Buy MP3 Album1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews