Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sequel to The Sword Brothers
A good following book to The Sword Brothers with plenty of action, some successful, some less so. I have to admit thet before reading The Sword Brothers that I had no idea that crusaders had christianised the baltic states - Latvia, Lithuania, etc. so this was a learning curve, all be it fictionalised. I would suggestst that to better understand The Army of the Wolf,...
Published 5 months ago by A Dawson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars review
Historically interesting. Plenty of action and good story line. A lot of names to remember including different tribe names and a little to much detail where not really required, almost as if to pad the book out. But I still recommend it.
Published 6 months ago by KennF


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sequel to The Sword Brothers, 21 Jun 2014
By 
A Dawson (Notts, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Army of the Wolf (Crusader Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A good following book to The Sword Brothers with plenty of action, some successful, some less so. I have to admit thet before reading The Sword Brothers that I had no idea that crusaders had christianised the baltic states - Latvia, Lithuania, etc. so this was a learning curve, all be it fictionalised. I would suggestst that to better understand The Army of the Wolf, first read The Sword Brothers, which is an equally good read if you like historical books with plenty of action.
I think that Peter Darman puts into a book of fiction many of the probable alliances of the time, the living and existing conditions, and sets the story into the reality of that period of history. Both books are worth reading, both for the history, completely new to me, and the various plots and subplots, and of course the action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Susi's army, 5 Aug 2014
By 
JPS - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Army of the Wolf (Crusader Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is book 2 of the “Crusader Chronicles” telling the story of the Crusades of Bishop Albert and the Order of the Sword Brothers in what are nowadays Latvia, Estonia and Lithuania during the 13th Century.

The first volume focused on the younger years of Conrad Wolf, the book’s hero, allowing us to follow the hard and tough apprenticeship of a Sword Brother and their lifestyle. This is made up of almost constant warfare as they seek to conquer more and more territory over the native tribes and people in almost incessant warfare and hold out until the next batch of Crusaders reinforces them and allows them to continue their expansion.

This volume shows the young Conrad as a warlord of Estonia and focuses on his multiple deeds (of course). Those who (like me!) are looking for masses of battles set in a historical context that the author follows as scrupulously as he can will enjoy this one just as much as the previous volume. Although it is just about possible to read it without having read the previous volume, if only because a number of references and mentions of what happened in volume 1 are included, it is much preferable to read “The Sword Brothers” first.

The few reservations I have were also very similar to the ones I had for the previous volume. The editing could be improved, with a number of avoidable typos and the narrative of some battles tending to mix up right and left wings of the respective armies. The author also tends to multiply enumerations, treated you systematically with the numbers making up each contingent for each campaign and battle. Since there are many of these, some readers might find this a little bit repetitive and tedious, even if I did not mind.

I also liked the references to Estonian gods and myths (hence the title of my review) and the introduction of a female warrior even if the Sword Brothers do not seem to have been historically as “nice” as depicted in the book, and this may be putting it rather mildly. Four strong stars for a warmly recommended book. I will certainly read volume 3 when it comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars review, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Army of the Wolf (Crusader Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Historically interesting. Plenty of action and good story line. A lot of names to remember including different tribe names and a little to much detail where not really required, almost as if to pad the book out. But I still recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Northern Europe historical novel, 11 April 2014
By 
Stephen M. Lock "Hendonman" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Army of the Wolf (Crusader Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Peter Darmen has managed to write a completely enthralling historical tale based on the little known Catholic expansion into the Baltic territories. Forced by the Holy Roman Empire, bribed by various Northern European factions, including Bishops, Kings and disgraced knights. It is a terrific tale and one, I hope, carries on for a couple more novels. The only downside to this and many other e-books is the parsity of maps and diagrams that can be actually read and easily accessed during the tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Army of the Wolf (Crusader Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Peter Darman writes historical fiction well researched exciting and very readable.
I am looking forward to the third instalment of Conrad Wolff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good second book, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Army of the Wolf (Crusader Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
The story line followed exactly from the ending of book 1 and you can imagine the events occurring with the words written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Follow up, 24 April 2014
By 
R. Whalley (Kenilworth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Army of the Wolf (Crusader Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
The story follows on well and follows the history of the region closely.
Great story and looking forward to Vol 3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good second book in the series, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Army of the Wolf (Crusader Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A good historical novel concerning Crusaders in the Baltic States. Great action sequences and I await book 3 in the series. I have also read Peter's Parthian Chronicle books which were also excellent. If you like Bernard Cornwell or Conn Iggulden then I think you will enjoy reading Peter Darman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Army of the Wolf (Crusader Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I considered book one as good enough to risk reading book two and I was rewarded with what I considered a fascinating story that took the introduction that was book one and vastly improved the story. Really enjoyed this book and now look forward to continuing the story in book three'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars set in regions of medieval europe i knew very little about this book is a brilliant continuation of the series, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Army of the Wolf (Crusader Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
i thought peter darmans parthian chronicles would be a hard act to follow but he proved me wrong.set in regions of medieval europe i knew very little about this book is a brilliant continuation of the series.if you enjoyed the parthian chronicles you will like these .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews