Customer Reviews


179 Reviews
5 star:
 (122)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Sleeping With The Enemy" should have been on the album and not just a bonus track.
A really nice album but some strange choices of singles, and bonus tracks. Its just seems they decide to always skip releasing some of the best songs on Kylies albums and focus on the least popular and desperate dare I say.

Over the years Kylie has thrown away so many great single potentials and looks like they are doing it again with this album.

Not...
Published 11 months ago by onair

versus
20 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A SAW point. Americans prefer early Kylie!
Hmm, I'm a Brit that lives in the US and have been an advocate of Kylie's over here for many years. For too long in America Ms. Minogue was only known for 2 songs, The Locomotion and Can't Get You Out Of My Head. I have to say that my American friends have never thought much of Kylie, much to my annoyance. But then they didn't grow up with her or watch Neighbours. What...
Published 11 months ago by Rupert


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Sleeping With The Enemy" should have been on the album and not just a bonus track., 2 April 2014
This review is from: Kiss Me Once [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
A really nice album but some strange choices of singles, and bonus tracks. Its just seems they decide to always skip releasing some of the best songs on Kylies albums and focus on the least popular and desperate dare I say.

Over the years Kylie has thrown away so many great single potentials and looks like they are doing it again with this album.

Not including Sleeping with the enemy on the main album is total madness. Million Miles, If Only, Les Sex, Feels so good, Fine all great tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good, if slightly forgettable affair..., 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me Once [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
Being a longtime Kylie fan, and considering the string of hits in her back catalogue, I have to admit to being slightly disappointed by this release. Poorly promoted with bad single choices, the cynic in me feels like this is a rushed perfunctory release to give Kylie an excuse to tour.

Having said that, this is mostly very listenable (if slightly forgettable) pop music and it has definitely grown on me after a few listens. It's got plenty of upbeat songs which suit her voice, and for the most part the songs sound well produced and current.

The standout tracks for me: Into The Blue, Sexy Love, I Was Gonna Cancel, Kiss Me Once, If Only and Sleeping With The Enemy.

NB Sexercise is a really terrible track, I actually struggle to listen to it. Tired, dated dubstep with cringey lyrics. I don't care much for the Enrique Iglesias duet either but it's not awful just my personal taste.

In a nutshell, I like it but wish they had spent a bit more time making this a bit more of a killer album. This is worth a buy for Kylie fans. Get the deluxe edition for "Sleeping With The Enemy"... why that song is a bonus track is a bit puzzling to me as it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, great for work out at gym really ..., 15 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Kiss Me Once (Audio CD)
Love it , great for work out at gym really good sing along tunes, would highly recomend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kylie, 21 Mar. 2014
By 
Rsk Ellis (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kiss Me Once [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
This album is amazing! Kylie sounds soo crisp and sexy on certain songs .her 12th album is one of my favourite albums of her back catalogue , kylie maybe older than half the female singers out there but she is better than all of them she is showing them how its done xx love love this album buy buy it xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A SAW point. Americans prefer early Kylie!, 19 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Kiss Me Once (Audio CD)
Hmm, I'm a Brit that lives in the US and have been an advocate of Kylie's over here for many years. For too long in America Ms. Minogue was only known for 2 songs, The Locomotion and Can't Get You Out Of My Head. I have to say that my American friends have never thought much of Kylie, much to my annoyance. But then they didn't grow up with her or watch Neighbours. What has happened to her voice though? When I played them really early Kylie they did not believe it was the same person. They liked it. A lot. Indeed her voice sounds SO much stronger, richer and fuller on the first 4 albums. On this album she sounds extremely nasally and becomes ever more girly and breathy, quite disposable and with zero depth. As on every album since the brilliant Light Years. It has become increasingly annoying. Sorry Kylie but I want the warmth back. Maybe it was the SAW touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome album but before u buy make sure your music ..., 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me Once [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
Awesome album but before u buy make sure your music system has plenty of Base because it's an album needs plenty off as it is Base shy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me Once (Audio CD)
Very poppy and fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but could be better., 22 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Kiss Me Once [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
I don't quite know where to rate Kiss Me Once. It certainly has some high moments, but unfortunately a few lows too. Overall at first glance/listen it seems to be lacking the strong identity that her last few albums had.

Firstly, why all the sex?? It seems to be marketed at the 14 yr old boy market with sex being mentioned in 3 song titles. Sexy Love is fine, Les Sex I'll let go (though it could have easily had a different title) but Sexercise?? Really?? Kylie always cornered the 'Sexy' market without ever going over the line to 'Sexual' territory. Not here though, the video in particular is bordering tacky and ignoring all that I can think of multiple songs more worthy of a single release.

Several high points despite all that. Into the Blue is a great song, as are Kiss Me Once, Fine, Cancel, Les Sex, and others. If I was reviewing the regular release it might have been 3 stars, however both bonus tracks are great and push it to a definite 4.

I do wish producers had more faith in her vocals though. Often over-produced it covers up how good her voice can be and occasionally she's tweaked into sounding like a chipmonk. The BBC Proms and other live shows have proved she can sing, so let her! 'Beautiful' is near-ruined by the effects and how bland En-reeky sounds. Look forward to hearing any future versions of that. (Bono improved the already-great 'Kids' so there's hope!)

Not my favourite of her last few albums but still better than most other pop artists. Looking forward to the tour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kiss Me Once - A Classic For Kylie!, 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me Once [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Considering this is Kylie's 12th outing, you'd think her songs would start to get a bit redundant - however this album is the complete opposite - this album really feels like a throwback to so many eras of Kylie, but yet sounds so current.

"Into The Blue" is a great lead single and very euphoric, very much an 'All The Lovers' 2.0 i think, though not the best on the album, i feel like this song will work perfectly when she performs it on tour. "Million Miles" for me sounds very much like "Get Outta My Way", but in a good way, great beat, love the vocals on it - great song! "I Was Gonna Cancel" reaaaally sounds like a throwback to way back when, sounds like it could easily been part of 'Enjoy Yourself' or 'Rhythm of Love'; a modern day 80's Kylie tune. With "Sexy Love" i read somewhere that it sounds like a cross between 'Wow' and 'Love At First Sight' and this person couldn't have been more right, so happy, so bouncy and would work great as a summer single. Now we move on to "Sexercise", probably the most talked about song on the album thus far, at first it seems a bit lukewarm, it doesn't really go anywhere, but as the video for the song got released this morning, the song really is running in pole position as the song of the album for me - the video really brings the song to life and makes me just wanna grind on that fitness ball! Been stuck in my head all day and this song too could have easily have been part of 'Body Language'. "Feels So Good" is a cover song (I know, who knew?!),and to me it reminds me a bit of 'Everything Is Beautiful' from Kylie's previous album. We then have "If Only" which i really love. The music to the song is so powerful and i feel again with this song, on tour it would work perfectly. this song is definitely up there with the favourites on this album. Next we have "Les Sex" which again sounds like part of 'Body Language', very quirky beats (which makes it work perfectly as a typical Kylie song) and odd lyrics ("if loves a drug, we're higher than stiletto's") but nonetheless a definite stand out, i think this would work great as a tour opener. We then have the title track, "Kiss Me Once", after a few listens, once you really get to know the song, it's amazing - Kylie herself said that the song is starting to sound great live and i really think it will, so euphoric and a great track to title the album with - a real gem for the album. We then have the only real filler on the album, "Beautiful", i really hope i get to like this song in time, but after a few listens its so bland and forgettable. I really do not understand why this song is so overly auto-tuned, just when you get to the real soothing moments in the song its killed by these robots trying to tell me i'm so beautiful - i think this is the real reason i don't like the song, if it was performed acoustically, i feel like i'd love it, but the album really could have done without the song. The final track on the standard edition of the album is "Fine" which is a good song, but not really anything compared to some of the other songs on the here. The 80's sample used in this song works, and i feel it could have been used more to make the song a bit better, but overall with this song, it just feels a bit 'meh' to end on, same with 'Beautiful', i hope this song grows on me. The first of the two bonus tracks on the album is "Mr. President" which is a complete oddball, it doesn't really fit in with the album and i think it's real home is 2007's 'X', a good song but just doesn't belong on this album for me. The final song is "Sleeping With The Enemy" which i feel is a really nice way to end the album - its soothing, perfectly produced & probably the only song on the album where (as far as i can tell) no auto-tune is used, feels like it could've been on 'Kylie Minogue' - 'Sleeping With The Enemy' is definitely the right vibe to end the album with.

Overall a great album, though not up there with 2010's 'Aphrodite' it's probably one of Kylie's best ever efforts - i cannot wait for some more songs from this new era of Kylie!

P.s - future singles have to be 'Sexy Love', 'I Was Gonna Cancel' or 'Kiss Me Once' - i'd loveeeee for 'If Only' to be released but i doubt it will, oh well, here's hoping! Thanks for the music Kylie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quick delivery, 25 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me Once [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
Bought for a birthday present. Delivered the next day. Very impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kiss Me Once
Kiss Me Once by Kylie Minogue
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews