Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..AN ACTION CLASSIC.."
I actually truly must stick up for this movie as I love it, its just an old school classic action movie! hell yeah its cheesy in places but that just adds to the charm, its big, bold and lots of fun on a massive scale, way more than the original, am I the only one who actually thinks the original is boring? speed the original had Keanu who just is a donkey turd at acting...
Published 7 months ago by S. Drury

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I just bought a condo here...
Annie is thrilled when her boyfriend Alex presents her with two tickets for a cruise to the Bahamas on a Norwegian luxury liner.

The trip is a peace offering presented because Annie has just learnt that Alex is a police officer who's been lying to her about his job.

Alex lied because Annie didn't want to date any more cops after what happened with...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I just bought a condo here..., 14 Feb 2014
Annie is thrilled when her boyfriend Alex presents her with two tickets for a cruise to the Bahamas on a Norwegian luxury liner.

The trip is a peace offering presented because Annie has just learnt that Alex is a police officer who's been lying to her about his job.

Alex lied because Annie didn't want to date any more cops after what happened with the bus in Los Angeles. The cruise ship's passengers include members of a diamond dealers' association, who have filled the ship's vault with valuable diamonds.

Little do they know that passenger John Geiger, the designer of the ship's computer system, has planned to take over the ship, steal the diamonds, and set the ship on a collision course with an oil tanker. Geiger was fired and cast aside by the computer company he worked for, and he wants revenge......

Nowhere near as bad as what people are saying on here, the film is dumb in many ways, but it's a little bit of fun, very bright and breezy, and features a really good explosion at the end.

Bullock does her ditsy shtick here, and it really grates at times, so we switch to Patric, who looks more concerned about getting wet and wondering what happened to his hair in The Lost Boys, a dull hero.

So we are left with Dafoe, who is clearly having a ball and enjoying the sun and fat pay-cheque.

For some reason, UB40 are on the ship, but you never see them again, and then guess who pops up near the end, the annoying bloke from speed, and they homage his scenes front that in this!!!

It's lethargic at times and knowing that the budget on this was $160 million, would make anyone hate it, but it's not a bad film and certainly not De bont's worst film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Speed 2 blu ray, 29 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'Speed 2: Cruise Control' is not a great film but personally I find it to be a guilty pleasure. The dialogue is really awful in parts, a lot of the acting is equally as bad, the story is contrived, the bad guy (Willem Dafoe) seems to just wonder about and not actually do anything apart from look sinister and take the heroine hostage at the end and overall it gives off the bad movie vibe. However....'Speed' was just the same yet that film gets praise (and even won an Oscar). One reason I like this film is the lead actress Sandra Bullock - nice to look at, has strong screen presence and is fun to watch. The action sequences are pretty good, although they do seem a bit OTT. This was intended to be a light hearted, switch your brain off, sit back and enjoy type of film and not a pretentious slow paced art film (although i'm not saying theres anything wrong with those type of films).
The Blu-ray looks great and the audio is outstanding (we are talking demo material here folks!) Dialogue is clear and the action scenes really do sound like your in the cinema all thanks to the DTS-HD track. Supplements are a 30 minute HBO special and a the usual trailers.
Worth a look if you a) have a thing for Sandra Bullock b) enjoy light hearted cheesy action films or c) love a boomy audio track to annoy your neighbours and impress your friends with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..AN ACTION CLASSIC..", 9 May 2014
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speed 2: Cruise Control [Blu-ray] [1997] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
I actually truly must stick up for this movie as I love it, its just an old school classic action movie! hell yeah its cheesy in places but that just adds to the charm, its big, bold and lots of fun on a massive scale, way more than the original, am I the only one who actually thinks the original is boring? speed the original had Keanu who just is a donkey turd at acting in anything, Dennis hopper who was boring, I think Willem Defoe was a great villain, much better, an over the top eccentric performance and a good story arc, of course Sandra Bullock is back who I love, crazy over the top again but she's a fine actress and good to look at, this sequel has bigger action, more plausible as they are on water and not in traffic, great budget explosions etc., Jason Patric is a decent lead, better than Keanu any day, this is top popcorn fun and classic action from start to finish, underrated I say, go back to it you will probably enjoy it!!
This Blu-ray import is region A but is not locked so it plays on UK players no problem!! great picture, has a HBO behind the scenes 30mins, and trailers!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How could it possibly go wrong?, 24 Jun 2004
By 
Tom Robinson (Norwich, Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The sequel to one of the decade's defining action blockbusters should have been pretty straightforward. All Jan De Bont (the film's director) had to do was follow five rules. One, come up with an immensely high concept. Two, maintain the action at a relatively swift pace. Three, give Annie (Sandra Bullock's character) plenty to say because audiences love her. Four, introduce a psychotic villain to scowl and yell like Dennis Hopper. And five, give us plenty more of Keanu Reeves character, SWAT boy Jack Traven, to woo the hearts of the female audience and bust the balls of anyone who gets in his way.
Rule one receives a big fat tick, as the filmmakers come up with a neat reversal of the original. If the newly chosen mode of transport DOESN'T stop, then everyone is in trouble. From this point on though, everything else receives a big fat cross. Rule two is immediately stuffed up by setting the forthcoming events on...wait for it...a cruise ship, meaning the action now progresses with the momentum of a wounded snail attempting to navigate through a puddle of treacle. Rule three also screws up with the screenwriters' decision to relegate Sandra Bullock to the sidelines, oohing and aahing as the men battle it out.
Rule four dies the moment that Willem Dafoe begins to gurn like Jim Carrey with severe constipation. Worst of all, we are informed that his nutjob has a strange blood disease that requires him to apply leeches at regular moments throughout the film...to think that someone actually got paid to write this stuff. And as for rule five...well, it appears to have been thrown out of a very tall building, as it is goodbye Keanu Reeves and hello Jason 'mahogany' Patric. Add dialogue that lands with the thud of a computer instruction manual, as well as clumsy and quite simply pathetic directing, and you are left with a film that sinks to the ocean floor. A one star film at best and it was lucky to get that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Speed 2: Crap Control, 14 Sep 2008
By 
Mr. W. Joseph "wayne5241" (Luton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Oh Dear. Speed never need a sequel. It was a solid action movie with good performances and - most importantly - lots of speed, the essence of the film. Unfortunately, Speed 2 lacks both of these things, as well as anything else which could make it a good film.

Annie (Bullock) is off on a cruise with her new boyfriend, Alex (Patric). But surprisingly things don't go to plan when a crazy ex-employee of the ferry company with a terminal disease (Dafoe) takes over the ship using only his laptop. So its up to Alex, Annie and a few stupid crewmen to save the day.

So that's it in the way of plot. I'd go onto character development but there's nothing to say about that so I'll skip to the acting. Although Bullock is given top billing, she is (unfortunately) relegated to the sidelines and Keanu replacement Jason Patric does most of the work. As for his acting abilities, lets just say a coffee table would have been more convincing. And you thought Keanu Reeves was wooden. Dafoe is almost as bad.

Another area of dire quality is the script. Actually, atrocious would be more appropriate. Unlike the original it's filled with lots of "funny" bits, which only made me cringe even more than I was doing before. Even the action is poor. Where Speed screamed along at 100mph, the sequel kind of meanders along like a pensioner driver.

Verdict: Bad story, bad acting, bad script, bad film. Sitting through this film is as torturous as listening to Westlife. So in case you haven't caught on yet, AVOID THIS FILM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Truly Dire, 23 Dec 2002
By A Customer
From the moment the ship leaves port, anything smacking of plasuibility is thrown overboard. An example is our hero swimming through the bilges of the ship, where one would expect him to have to endure dark, dirty, stomach churning conditions. Instead, the water is crystal clear and brightly lit. This sums up the anti-septic nature of the action of this film, which never gets anywhere near emulating the pain and suffering the hero has to endure in, say "Die Hard". It's as if the director and his cast gave up on the idea of creating a suspense thriller and instead thought they'd have a go at picking up where "Carry On Cruising" left off - they failed here too. Final confirmation for me that they'd lost the plot came when our hero turns the ship by manually operating the ship's bow thrusters. The ship must weigh in at 20,000 tons minimum - Somehow I think Schwarzenegger would even have met his match here.
Not much else to say except watch out for UB40 as the ship's band - funny, haven't heard much from them lately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Speed - more like stopped!, 11 July 2000
By A Customer
Possibly the worst film I have ever seen, it is full of impossibly stupid situations. The fact that the title refers to a more-than fast-paced situation, you would expect some action. But no. All you get is an annoyingly monotonous two hours of boredom. Sandra Bullock is especially disappointing considering her fiesty role in the original blockbuster. Jason Patrick is fairly likeable, but Bullock is irritatingly shrill to the extreme. My advice is to look elsewhere, as Jan De Bont here has delivered a poor movie on a not-too-exciting disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Disaster Movie Or A Disaster Of A Movie?, 22 Jun 2009
By 
Andrew Kerr (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
"Speed 2 Cruise Control" is the sequel to the hit blockbuster movie Speed. Directed by Jan De Bont it was released in 1997 (three years after it's predecessor) and stars Sandra Bullock, Jason Patric, Willem Dafoe, and Temuera Morrison.

I was a big fan of Speed and therefore I was really looking forward to watching it's sequel when it was released, but like so many others I was left rather disappointed.

Where Speed was more of a thriller, Speed 2 is more of a disaster-like adventure movie with some comedy (some unintentional) thrown in. This tended to upset some people who had certain expectations before watching the film. This change in film style while unexpected wasn't enough alone to condemn the film, but was simply the first insult.

In the film we encounter a computer genius who developed the navigation software in use on a number of cruise ships. After he is laid off due to ill health, he decides to take revenge by hi-jacking a large cruise ship called the Seabourn Legend. After taking over the ship, and forcing most of the crew and passengers to abandon ship he intends to navigate it to disaster. In his way and trying to put an end to his plans is a cop called Alex and his partner Annie who are on board for a holiday, as well as several remaining crew members. For the most part that's the entire plot - well the parts that I can remember anyway as Speed 2 didn't leave a good or lasting impression.

There's no denying that this film has some major faults. The first has to be the acting, which sadly isn't exactly great. The bad guy was more annoying than anything else. Jason Patric delivers a reasonable performance, but at the end of the day he's no where near as good as Keanu Reeves was in the first film. I'm not a big fan of Sandra Bullock at the best of times, but even she fell short of what I was expecting. I'm glad that Keanu Reeves turning down a part in this film, otherwise we may have someone different playing Neo in The Matrix.

The relationships portrayed between the characters was very unconvincing and shallow, and in general none of the characters were that interesting or memorable. Many of the characters are just run of the mill stereotypes and the script and awful dialogue does nothing to help matters.

The film is very slow to get started, which would be forgivable if the time was used to build up to something more that what we got. Things do pick up towards the end but in a somewhat predicable way, and doesn't justify the waste of time that the rest of the film is.

The plot of the film may seem interesting but is ultimately flawed. The idea of one man running around the ship being chased by another man tends to become old fast. The cruise ship seems to have rather fragile windows considering the pounding they must ensure at sea. More to the point however, did mobile phones not exist in 1997, or was it just that not a single person or crew member on board had one to alert the rest of the world to what was going on.

The bad guy has an unlikely illness and unlikely motive, which never really works and leaves a number of unanswered questions.

The ending to the film was flawed and insulting, without wanting to give anything away, I'll just say it's highly unlikely that so many people wouldn't see or hear something that big coming towards them.

At the end of the day while there was some briefly entertaining action and explosions, I doubt that a slow moving cruise ship was the correct setting for this film. If it wasn't for the poor acting, script, dialogue, characters, and plot, then Speed 2 may have been better. But then again that would mean having to abandon the film completely and start again fresh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 10 July 2014
cant beat this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's Sandra bullock., 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have loved this lady since first seeing her in demolition man the conversion is good picture sharp no extras except a host hbo making of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Speed 2: Cruise Control [Blu-ray] [1997] [US Import]
£5.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews