Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Shout.
Absolutely gripping account of the much debated Dyatlov Pass Incident, a story that has now become a firm favourite with conspiracy theorists. Eichar follows his obsession right through to the bitter end, actually retracing the groups' footsteps to the scene of their deaths. His conclusion is unusual to say the least, but the most convincing I've yet come across. I'm...
Published 11 months ago by Fiona Watson

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, though the Author Focuses Too Much on Himself
First, I liked this book. I'd never head of the Dyatlov deaths, and found the story and mystery to be interesting. If you know little to nothing about the circumstances surrounding the deaths, then you likely will find the book worth at least a good skim.

With regard to the conclusion that the author draws regarding what drove the experienced hikers out of...
Published 3 months ago by Cynthia C.C.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Shout., 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely gripping account of the much debated Dyatlov Pass Incident, a story that has now become a firm favourite with conspiracy theorists. Eichar follows his obsession right through to the bitter end, actually retracing the groups' footsteps to the scene of their deaths. His conclusion is unusual to say the least, but the most convincing I've yet come across. I'm writing this review having stayed up all night finishing the book and I feel like a wrung out rag. The title of my post refers to a film starring John Hurt and Alan Bates from the seventies. If you know the film, you'll understand why I chose it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fact filled review of the events surrounding the incident., 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of those rare books that when started you don't want to put it down.

I found myself having to consciously stop reading so as to prolong the life of the book.

The research carried out and the detailed approach make for an excellent read.

Outside of all the nutty sensational theories surrounding the events at Dead Mountain the final chapter is more than probable what actually took place.

I commend this book to all those who feel the tragedy of the events which overtook 9 young friend's on what should have been the most exciting adventure of their lives.

Thank you Donnie Eichar for you're persistence in seeking the facts and truth of the case.

A must read for all those whose spirit seek adventure.

Dave Keegan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A strange tale well told, 9 Dec. 2014
In 1959, nine experienced hiking students mysteriously died in the Urals. The matter appeared to have been covered up – or at least obfuscated by conspiracy theory and political intrigue.

What would make nine people leave their tent in the middle of freezing conditions, venturing out into the desolate snows without boots, waterproofs, or indeed trousers and socks? Their bodies were found scattered around, some of their clothing ripped as if they had been savagely attacked and one had her tongue removed.

This book, written over fifty years later offers a strange, but curiously believable potential solution. Well written and dipping between past and present, this was a real page turner.

I probably shouldn't say I enjoyed such a tale, gruesome as it is, but it is all in the telling and this you should experience. A remarkable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool story! (sorry)., 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I already knew the outcome of this story because it was serialised in one of the national papers and, having just read it, I went straight online to order a copy.
It's a fascinating story and well written and, I couldn't put it down. I've now passed it to a friend and,she's hooked too.
I thoroughly recommend it and, you so not have to have an interest in hiking or skiing, to enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 27 Nov. 2014
This great unsolved incident took place deep in Soviet Russia in 1959 is told in a three stranded story: the author's investigation; the rescue operation and the hikers tale.

This was a fascinating and interesting read; not just because of incident itself but of coverage of the culture and ordinary life in Russia during the Soviet era. Full marks for extensive research and portraying so vividly the young hikers who lost their lives.

The incident at Dyaltov Pass has many theories ranging from the wildly improbable to the almost plausible and this author's conclusion is the best I have come across.

Excellent book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic!, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the most interesting books I have read! Written fantastically! Really explored the possible causes of what happened to the hikers! Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Accurate and Engaging, Slow build up., 13 Jan. 2015
Eichar has first hand experience of going to the site of the incident. He takes pride in accuracy and isn't afraid to dismiss theories that others have simply put forward to entertain. His conclusion makes sense to me- about the only one that does. The only negative is that too much of the book is dedicated to parts of his own journey to which I see to be largely irrelevant to the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This needs a sequel!!!, 20 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book utterly compelling; well researched, well written and with respect and compassion for its subjects. Like many other reviewers I find his theory of what happened to those young hikers on that terrible night convincing and chilling. What I would appreciate is a sequel to the book that charts scientific investigation into this theory that would finally fully confirm what happened back in February 1959.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A treue mystery, but a great tableau of post-Stalinist Russia too, 2 July 2014
By 
R. R. Humphry (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A great, if slightly brief, account of what is first and foremost a terrible tragedy and secondly a real mystery. Donnie Eichar narrates in great style. the book follows three strands - Donnie's own experiences in Russia trying to help solve the mystery, the narrative of the 9 hikers as told by witnesses and from their group diary and the account of the search mission and subsequent investigation.

Donnie proposes a possible solution and it seems semi-plausible but it still leaves massive questions unanswered. For example the 'massive' internal injuries which 2 or 3 hikers had were explained by the hikers falling into a ravine (in which they were found). If it was really this obvious, why didn't the Soviet authorities suggest this? After all, the bodies were found in the base of a ravine…but only 13 foot high, with sloping sides and filled with snow...

What made this book so good is the wonderful portrayal of youth in post-Stalinist times. There is an innocence about these 9 young men and women and the sense of impending disaster adds a palpable tension to what later happens.

My only real criticism is that the book is not long and its a little shirt on detail - anyone interested in mysteries loves the little details and I am sure that Donnie had more information at this fingertips than he is giving us here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a rivetting read and highly recommended. There are fascinating glimpses of life in Russia, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a rivetting read and highly recommended. There are fascinating glimpses of life in Russia, unobtrusively woven into the the fabric of the mystery. While there are no definite solutions to the mystery there are many of theories - and much to think about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews