Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic read
I read and enjoyed the author's first novel, Monsoon Memories, but I absolutely LOVED The Forgotten Daughter. Set partly in England but mainly in India. It is the story of three women.

Nisha is mourning the death of her parents when she comes across a letter from them announcing to her that she was adopted. We follow her coming to terms with the news and...
Published 6 months ago by ElaineG

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a confusing novel
I am still reading this book and am only half way through. I find it very confusing jumping from one situation to another and have to keep going back over it. Perhaps when I get to the end I shall understand it all!
Published 4 months ago by Roselind Evans


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic read, 27 Feb 2014
By 
ElaineG (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Forgotten Daughter (Kindle Edition)
I read and enjoyed the author's first novel, Monsoon Memories, but I absolutely LOVED The Forgotten Daughter. Set partly in England but mainly in India. It is the story of three women.

Nisha is mourning the death of her parents when she comes across a letter from them announcing to her that she was adopted. We follow her coming to terms with the news and making the decision to travel to India to discover her roots.

Devi is holding a vigil by her sick mother's bedside. She has always felt angry at her mother who tended to smother her with love and possessiveness. Her part of the story is told in the letters she writes to her sick mother, Shilpa, whose part of the story is told by her diary entries. I particularly loved the way the entries were interspersed with recipes for the food she loved to cook. It really made my mouth water and is tempting me to try some of them.

To say much more about the plot would be to spoil the read for anyone else, but it is a story of mothers and daughters with the underlying theme running through it of Nature versus Nurture as we come to understand the very different lives Nisha and Devi lead. They have had very different upbringings as Nisha has always felt that she was never shown love by her parents, whereas Devi feels smothered by her mothers' love. The Indian setting was brilliantly portrayed - the food, the colours, the people, the sights and the smells.

It is a fascinating read with some truly wonderful characters who grow and mature throughout the book. I absolutely adored the book and can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Indian Tale, 1 Mar 2014
By 
C. Bannister (Jersey, CI) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Forgotten Daughter (Kindle Edition)
What is it like to find out you are adopted? How much worse would it be to find out on the death of your parents by way of a letter?

The Forgotten Daughter examines the life of three women, Nisha who lives in England and the recipient of the news that she was adopted. The only piece of information she has is the address of a convent in India to start the trail of why her mother gave her away. Nisha longs to know why her parents chose to bring her to England to start a new life with no knowledge of her roots. Nisha narrates her journey of discovery from a dispassionate young women who finds solace in analysing numbers to one who begins to remember some long buried memories.

In India Shilpa is a traditional Indian mother, determined that her daughter Devi abides by the familiar traditions while Devi wants to break free from her claustrophobic love. When Shilpa is admitted to hospital Devi gets to know her mother through her diary. This isn't any old diary though, this has the notes of the dishes she has cooks interspersed with the story of her life. These recipes included are complete instructions, not just a list of ingredients so you too can have a go at recreating the food Shilpa cooked for her family.

Devi's story of a young woman desperate to break free from the constraints of her upbringing where her culture dictates that she behave, dress and abide by traditions that she longs to leave behind.

If you want a book to savour then this is the book for you. Renita D'Silva writing means the smells, sights and sounds of life in India come to life through her brilliant descriptions. The beautiful saris the weight of the gold, the gaudy sandals that the women use to adorn themselves with shimmer on the page. The more or less constant companion of the food that Shilpa prepares will make your mouth water as the story of the three women unfolds. I have rarely read a book where the picture painted by the author is quite so vivid.

Like Renita's debut novel Monsoon Memories, the contrast in culture of life in England compared to that in India is apparent and as the reader we get to see these first hand through the stories of Shilpa and Devi and through the eyes of Nisha who sees it as a newcomer. As the women examine their lives you get the feeling nothing will be ever be quite the same.

A quietly emotional book of discovery this is an accomplished second book to follow Monsoon Memories.

I received a copy of this book which will be published on 28 February 2014 from the publishers Bookouture, in return for this honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Escape to India, 27 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Forgotten Daughter (Kindle Edition)
This is the second book that I’ve read from Renita D’Silva, and I love how her writing completely transports you to India. I’ve never been there, but you can almost feel the heat and dust and smell the cooking as you turn the pages!

A wonderfully told, emotional story and perfect for travelling from the comfort of your armchair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great story, 27 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Forgotten Daughter (Kindle Edition)
This is another great story by a new and upcoming author. This is Renita D'Silvas second book that ive had the pleasure of reading and i loved it. Its a little gem with a good story line and interesting and likeable characters, and the way its written makes you feel that your in India. Will be telling my friends and family to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and moving, 2 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Forgotten Daughter (Kindle Edition)
This is a beautiful and moving book. Renita D’Silva skilfully weaves together the distinct voices of three women into a compelling, bittersweet story of the joy, pain and complexity of the love between a mother and her daughters. Sumptuously described, the lyrical prose paints a vivid picture of the sights, sounds, smells and tastes of India, evoking the beauty and the richness of culture alongside the poverty and the mystery. A highly recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching, thought-provoking, beautiful, 7 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Forgotten Daughter (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed discovering India through the eyes of Nisha - a woman who goes on an emotional journey of self-discovery after finding out that she was adopted. For me the book was an interesting insight into Indian culture and a touching story - all beautifully described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forgotten Daughter (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. It took me a few chapters to get into it and realise who the characters were. Once this was established,I really enjoyed it.
I visited India ten years ago and because of the excellent descriptions,I felt that I was back there again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The forgotten daughter, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forgotten Daughter (Kindle Edition)
A little bit slow to start but soon became a brilliant and very emotional story, very well written and very well worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten daughter dilemma, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forgotten Daughter (Kindle Edition)
I have really enjoyed reading this story, though I was confused at first about the relationship between Nisha, Devi and Shilpa. It is descriptive, evocative and well crafted throughout . I was sad to say goodbye to the characters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a confusing novel, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forgotten Daughter (Kindle Edition)
I am still reading this book and am only half way through. I find it very confusing jumping from one situation to another and have to keep going back over it. Perhaps when I get to the end I shall understand it all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Forgotten Daughter
The Forgotten Daughter by Renita D'Silva
1.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews