Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars18
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 December 2014
Highly readable and highly enjoyable book. Nate Jackson comes across as an intelligent and likeable person, which makes his story more endearing. He doesn't go overboard with detail, so the seasons fly by in what is a relatively short book.
Even so, this gives a great insight into how it is to be on the fringes of the NFL, sometimes in, sometimes out, and how it is for most players that flirt with pro careers. As a Brit, I learnt a bit more about the game I love.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
I highly recommend this to any sports fan. I have read an awful lot of sports biographies and I have to say this is one of the better ones. Jackson engages you at the start, does not fill the book with results and boring timelines. In a wonderful manner of writing he describes his journey into the NFL. I enjoyed this very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2016
I enjoyed this book but whilst it was entertaining and jokey in parts, it explores almost too well he mundane life of a bit part player- constantly injured and just doing enough to stay on the team. Worth reading for a different perspective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
Refreshingly free of the usual sport autobiography trends towards the anodyne or bull...
Entertaining and easily read insight that brings NFL and it's players to life. Hope this chap spends more time writing books in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
Have been reading it on the train to work, and it's making me wish the journey was longer. Really enjoyable story of a loveable d-bag living out a complicated dream. It made me want the Broncos to win, and I hate the broncos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2015
Great book giving a real insiders view of the NFL. Nate has an easy going, whimsical style that makes you root for him, I loved the passage about being Randy Moss. I wish more sport books were like this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2016
A great, honest look at areas of the sport that normally get ignored. Not just a celebration of when things go right but a look at how the league treats those players on the edge of making it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2015
Good 'light read' book. Nate's humour and honesty shine through, and the pace of the book keeps the stories tight. Offered really good insight into the world of being a fringe player.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
Enjoyed reading about the life of an American Footballer who is not a big household name. Gave a great insight into the way players can be transfered/let go with no come back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
Very entertaining and the details on his medical issues/injuries are quite horrific. Only issue is the book is as short as Nate's career was.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)