Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am the resurrection!, 30 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dung 4 (Expanded Edition) (Audio CD)
I still have my Inspirals DUNG4 cassette from the 80s.

I don't. however, have a cassette player to play it on. I bought the cassette, back in the day, in Eastern Bloc records when all I'd heard of the band was a single track on a vinyl compilation of Manchester indie bands.

After playing the cassette, I was an immediate fan, and ended up seeing the Inspirals play live 6 times: Hacienda (complete with the "Inspiral Carpets? Bunch of f***ing wan***s!" looping audio track before the performance and the eclectic slide show. Various other places, whose venues elude me, owing to a hazy memory of the era, culminating into the 1990 G-Mex extravaganza, complete with drum troupe, I've got the milk bottle to prove it!

Having lost all means to replicate DUNG4, I was overjoyed at the prospect of owning DUNG4 in a playable format. And I can honestly say it's lost none of its original magic - the rawness, the catchiness, the unique sounds, all come through perfectly in the CD.

If in doubt, purchase 3 copies, at least. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiral Carpets Dung 4, 21 May 2014
This review is from: Dung 4 (Expanded Edition) (Audio CD)
Dung 4 is the band's original cassette demo from 1987/88 and has been remastered from the original master tapes (as detailed in the liner notes). The cassette was very popular with fans in the late '80s and is said to have sold 8000 copies! Not bad for a demo! So it's the first time Dung 4 has ever been released officially on CD (vinyl too on Record Store Day) and it includes the older Cow demo tacked onto the end of the CD. Not only is it just great, but it's also interesting to hear earlier versions of songs such as Joe etc. and has the original singer (now back in the band for their first album in 20 years in September), Steven Holt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frankly, not my scene., 5 May 2014
This review is from: Dung 4 (Expanded Edition) (Audio CD)
Strangely that quote is about the only thing missing in this version compared to the original tape which I still lovingly treasure, bought in Piccadilly records in about '89. The rawness, especially that of the cheeztastic organ are still vibrant dspite the clean up. I hoped this band were going to carry on from this rather than end up with the stuff they put out later. I love every track on the original, especially Joe, Keep the Circle Around and the psycho cover of 96 tears. Let's hope their new offering is as exciting. And Noel, don't forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, 8 May 2014
This review is from: Dung 4 (Expanded Edition) (Audio CD)
Long awaited Inspirals album comes to light.. fully recommend this and the BOB album Leave the Straight Life Behind which I bought as a package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars cool as...., 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dung 4 (Expanded Edition) (Audio CD)
Purchased this and glad i did, different versions of already familiar songs, Causeway stands out on this for me and is definitely one of my favourite carpets tunes. Glad the band re-mastered this but i dont buy the hype of it being the first album proper. That's in no way a negative slur as this compilation is a necessity for any true inspirals fan, an album that captures a band on the road to success. There are many a gem on this 'love can never lose its own' is a song i would love to hear played live today it has a timeless pop feel to it. Its all in there Boons farfisa driving it along with the manic drumming of Craig and Graham's ripping guitar. Looking forward to the new material but in the mean time this is suffice. The quality of this for having been originally recorded on a tascam 4 track is amazing. Buy this just to hear the raw garagey sound before the heady heights of Madchester.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, 4 May 2014
This review is from: Dung 4 (Expanded Edition) (Audio CD)
A Great band, this is a remastering of their earliest work, and it's an unqualified success.

A few songs appeared in their albums, however this is still worth buying as the earlier versions are sufficiently different and interesting to warrant buying this too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest band ever to come out of Oldham!!!! and this proves it, 4 May 2014
This review is from: Dung 4 (Expanded Edition) (Audio CD)
I first discovered the Inspirals through Dung 4 when someone copied me it year's ago on tape from their tape, the good old days of tape to tape. I played that tape to death in my Vauxhall viva.
This release is a must for all. Trully brilliant. And for 7.50 a bargain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars back to their roots., 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dung 4 (Expanded Edition) (Audio CD)
Perfectly remastered, very raw garage sound. must have for any inspirals fan. well worth the 20 year wait, cool as ......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing classic remastered, 4 May 2014
This review is from: Dung 4 (Expanded Edition) (Audio CD)
Has been remastered brilliantly, clear sound. A great band and an album full of great songs. Would definitely recommend it. Moooo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but my cassette had a version of Gimme ..., 27 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Dung 4 (Expanded Edition) (Audio CD)
Very good, but my cassette had a version of Gimme Shelter on it? I don't think I imagined that, but if so then where is it on the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dung 4 (Expanded Edition)
Dung 4 (Expanded Edition) by Inspiral Carpets (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews