Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and exciting from start to finish!
First, let me start by writing that this is a real story and the events described in it are non-fiction, which makes it even more amazing.

When M SQN of the Special Boat Service (SBS: the Navy equivelant of the SAS) was tasked with infiltrating Northern Iraq and forcing the Iraqi 5th Corps to surrender, they didn't know what they were in for.

60...
Published 6 months ago by K. McArdle

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An oportunity missed....slightly!!
I was surprised it took this long for this story to surface as a book. There were so many interesting angles to the actual story and unfortunately not that may are included in the book. The narrative seems to have come from one perspective, of course difficult with SF disclosure. A shame all the same as the author seems to have missed some of the subtleties and humour of...
Published 11 months ago by russell taylor


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An oportunity missed....slightly!!, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was surprised it took this long for this story to surface as a book. There were so many interesting angles to the actual story and unfortunately not that may are included in the book. The narrative seems to have come from one perspective, of course difficult with SF disclosure. A shame all the same as the author seems to have missed some of the subtleties and humour of Royal Marines Special Forces humour as well as the bravery and determination. A good read but only half done....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable story... too much repetition, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Much as I admire some of his previous books this narrative is fairly repetitive & slow reading. No doubting the sentiment & bravery of the guys involved but story strung out & far better if written in half the words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and exciting from start to finish!, 7 Jan 2014
By 
K. McArdle (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First, let me start by writing that this is a real story and the events described in it are non-fiction, which makes it even more amazing.

When M SQN of the Special Boat Service (SBS: the Navy equivelant of the SAS) was tasked with infiltrating Northern Iraq and forcing the Iraqi 5th Corps to surrender, they didn't know what they were in for.

60 sepcial forces operators and twenty modified Land Rovers against 100, 000 Iraqi soldiers supported by main battle tanks and heavy machine guns.

British "intelligence" suggested that the 5th Corps' morale was low, they weren't going to fight and would more than likely surrender at the first sight of M SQN.

Unfortuantely, nothing could be further from the truth. An incredible story of courage, resilience and dogged determination in the face of insurmountable odds.

This book is well written and I found it difficult to put down. I hadn't heard of M SQN's plight before, which was part of the reason I purchased the book. I'm glad I did.

An incredible true story. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
By 
Mr. Andrew C. Marks "eng man" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent and very revealing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome book, great story well told, 9 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zero Six Bravo (Audio CD)
awesome book , great story well told , hope more of Damien's books are made into audio books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True grit, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What an excellent read this was.
Showing true determination and proving that British special forces are and always will be the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it read it like I was there with them, awesome book, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read it and you will feel like part of the team , out there with them in Iraq , the lads certainly got some balls of steel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, couldn't put it down., 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Fast paced and action packed. The author really gets across the tension and desperation of the situation they found themselves in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping tale of bravery and brotherhood, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good book. Good writing. Good story. Good descriptions of the battles, complete with maps. A Very interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fast paced and exciting story. Hard to believe the outcome in terms of casualties but the story doesn't come a cross as over hyped. The author has really given a great insight into what it was like to be there behind enemy lines and living by their wits, skill and experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews