Customer Reviews


186 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your nose will turn red, your children will disown you and your wife will run off with a Spanish waiter called Pedro.
I bought this book to read on my hols in sunnier climes and I wasn't disappointed, in fact it became a struggle to put the book down, lever myself from my sun-lounger and plop into the pool. Gripping, fast-paced and well written this has to be up there with the best of genre. As others have said, the "story" was one that wasn't widely reported and was new to me...
Published 4 months ago by Jeff

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable story... too much repetition
Much as I admire some of his previous books this narrative is fairly repetitive & slow reading. No doubting the sentiment & bravery of the guys involved but story strung out & far better if written in half the words.
Published 12 months ago by Jim.M


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your nose will turn red, your children will disown you and your wife will run off with a Spanish waiter called Pedro., 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book to read on my hols in sunnier climes and I wasn't disappointed, in fact it became a struggle to put the book down, lever myself from my sun-lounger and plop into the pool. Gripping, fast-paced and well written this has to be up there with the best of genre. As others have said, the "story" was one that wasn't widely reported and was new to me - had it been a work of fiction I would probably be marking it down for its unbelievability.

My only criticism is that it ended a little abruptly: the story was told, but it would have been good to have a little more detail on what some of the main players did next. But if a book leaves you wanting more then it has probably done its job well.

If you enjoy this sort of book, buy this - you wont be disappointed. But watch out for that red nose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awe inspiring, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having served in the forces, it is not difficult to understand the reality of what these men had to endure. The sad part is the bulls*** Intel could have cost them their lives. I personally would be honoured to shake the hands of those men and consulate them.
Thanks to the author the truth has now been told.
Excellent read from start to end, feels like I know some of the men of M troop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable story... too much repetition, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Much as I admire some of his previous books this narrative is fairly repetitive & slow reading. No doubting the sentiment & bravery of the guys involved but story strung out & far better if written in half the words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inaccurate fiction novel, 7 Aug 2013
As other people have said, this book is light on facts, and heavy on 'Boys own' fiction. A Sqn (-) task to take the surrender of a Corps, seriously!!!

Having been in the military for over 30 years, 5 of which spent in the Middle East in various countries, there are times I have almost thrown it in the bin (but it was a present so I am persevering!).

There are so many holes I don't know where to begin, but lets start at the beginning of the book. We are supposed to believe that Sgt Grayling (Grey) is an experienced SF op but when almost discovered by a boy goat herder, in order to try to keep the mission a secret (and not let the boy escape) he considers blowing him away (and half his goats) with a .50 Cal HMG!!! They dont make much noise do they, oh and unlike an assault rifle (which most Arabs have access to - from the 1st Gulf War) it couldnt be passed off as celebratory fire. Or, now heres an idea, why not take him down by hand and silently.

Terminology is incorrect, JTAC stands for Joint Tactical Air Controller Damien, not what you wrote. The Squadron Sergeant Major (SSM) goes from being the 'Troop SSM (!), to the RSM, back to the SSM. The clue is in the title. Now the SF boys tend to shy away from 'the rules' as we know but no one, ever, in my experience, says 'Afirm' on the radio (unless they are a Yank or been watching too may war films). The answer should be Roger over, or Roger out or even Ack but come on. These seemingly small issues undermine the credibility of the book.

If you are after a serious book with credible insights, avoid this like the plague!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
By 
Mr. Andrew C. Marks "eng man" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent and very revealing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome book, great story well told, 9 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zero Six Bravo (Audio CD)
awesome book , great story well told , hope more of Damien's books are made into audio books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True grit, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What an excellent read this was.
Showing true determination and proving that British special forces are and always will be the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it read it like I was there with them, awesome book, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read it and you will feel like part of the team , out there with them in Iraq , the lads certainly got some balls of steel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, couldn't put it down., 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Fast paced and action packed. The author really gets across the tension and desperation of the situation they found themselves in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping tale of bravery and brotherhood, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good book. Good writing. Good story. Good descriptions of the battles, complete with maps. A Very interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews