Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clichéd start, but quite enjoyable
Yep, it's another 'bang, transported to a magical world' story, but that doesn't mean that it's not a fun ride once you get past the setup.
I would have liked to see the magic system fleshed out a bit more. Possibly too many Harry Potter references.
I really like wizard school stories, and if there's a sequel, I'd buy it without sampling first.
Published 4 months ago by Andrew Davie

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Derivative and slightly pretentious but enjoyable enough
Main flaws are: 1. Numerous references to Harry Potter do not stop the story being derivative of HP.

2. The author has an irritating sense of self-importance and feels the need to lecture the reader at various stages on the problems with other fantasy novels through the device of the main character.

3. Badly edited with numerous words missed...
Published 3 months ago by Craig Rajgopaul-Hicklin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Derivative and slightly pretentious but enjoyable enough, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schooled in Magic (Schooled in Magic series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Main flaws are: 1. Numerous references to Harry Potter do not stop the story being derivative of HP.

2. The author has an irritating sense of self-importance and feels the need to lecture the reader at various stages on the problems with other fantasy novels through the device of the main character.

3. Badly edited with numerous words missed out/spelling mistakes.

But an enjoyable enough read of a wizard in a magical school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clichéd start, but quite enjoyable, 12 Mar 2014
By 
Andrew Davie "AndrewDavie" (Cambs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schooled in Magic (Schooled in Magic series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Yep, it's another 'bang, transported to a magical world' story, but that doesn't mean that it's not a fun ride once you get past the setup.
I would have liked to see the magic system fleshed out a bit more. Possibly too many Harry Potter references.
I really like wizard school stories, and if there's a sequel, I'd buy it without sampling first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy with a Twist, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schooled in Magic (Schooled in Magic series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Not your standard out of the box fantasy and all the better for it. Personally prefer it to the Royal Sorceress series, and greatly look forward to the sequel.
Definitely worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schooled in Magic (Schooled in Magic series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
boring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book that needs more publicity, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schooled in Magic (Schooled in Magic series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I was a bit sceptical about the book when it got recommended to me, the summary isn't nearly good enough to do it justice, but I bought the book and had a very enjoyable read.

It is apparent at times that the author has been inspired by other books because of the subtle references he has put in the book, it was always amusing to catch them and be able to identify where they came from. That being said he has managed to create a rich world all of it's own with magic that feels realistic (as far as magic can at least).

The book revolves around Emily, a girl from earth who is kidnapped from earth by the necromancers Shayde. While this sounds like a bit of a poor introduction there is a rather humorous justification to it early on it the book. The rest of the book is about how Emily starts to fit into and adjust to her new magical school with all the problems that come with it.

This was a thoroughly enjoyable book that I would recommend wholeheartedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hogwarts move over, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schooled in Magic (Schooled in Magic series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent tale, look forward to sequel. I intend also to obtain the paperback version for my grand-daughters birthday. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 14 April 2014
By 
Mr. Mr. Morris (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schooled in Magic (Schooled in Magic series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Having read a couple of Chris Nuttal's books recently (Ark Royal & A Learning Experience) and enjoyed the writing style I gave this one and go and thought it had a good storyline and characterisation. Well worth a look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun story, 6 April 2014
By 
I. Buchanan (Northeast Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schooled in Magic (Schooled in Magic series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Like all Mr. Nuttall's books, this is an engaging story in am imaginative but not too challenging environment with believable characters acting out entertaining story. Some may find it a bit juvenile, but it's very readable and fun, and, of course, the "good guys" will win. Not great literature (thank goodess!) but an enjoyable novel. Recommended to anyone who just wants a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schooled in Magic (Schooled in Magic series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
An interesting take on magic - very relaxing read. I very much enjoyed it and look forward to reading more by the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice easy yarn, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schooled in Magic (Schooled in Magic series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Liked the whole premise and found it a nice easy read, just what I was looking for, to wile away a few hours
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews