Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The End of an Era, and What an Era!
Love Gun represents the end of an important part in Kisstory. It is the last album to feature the band at its best before fame, excess and changing styles set them back for several years.

It is blood and thunder rock metal from the start. I Stole Your Love is frentic as is the magnificent title track (still my favourite KISS song to this day) and Tomorrow...
Published on 23 Jun. 2006 by Mr. A. E. Hall

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A few classics - a good Kiss album
(3.5 stars) Hot on the heels of `Rock and & Roll Over', 1977's `Love Gun' again taps into the template created with 1975's `Dressed To Kill', with an album of straight-forward rock and roll. Though, like its predecessor, it is not quite in the league of the 1975 release. It does however contain Paul Stanley's stellar composition of the title track - another example of his...
Published on 26 Jun. 2011 by B. S. Marlay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The End of an Era, and What an Era!, 23 Jun. 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Gun (Audio CD)
Love Gun represents the end of an important part in Kisstory. It is the last album to feature the band at its best before fame, excess and changing styles set them back for several years.

It is blood and thunder rock metal from the start. I Stole Your Love is frentic as is the magnificent title track (still my favourite KISS song to this day) and Tomorrow and Tonite. Gene chips in with Christine Sixteen and Plaster Caster (the Demon shows his horns) and there is the long overdue vocal debut for Ace Fehley on Shock Me (with a solo that will blow your mind). There are a few filler songs, notably And then She Kissed Me, Got Love for Sale and Almost Human (which sounds like a wispy rip off of Watchin' You to me).

Thanks to a few abolsute classics, the album stands out. It is mostly a divide between great songs and not so great songs, but where it's good, it rocks. Sadly after the this, the band went into decline, losing their way for 5 years before coming back in the 1980s, but this was a fine way to end an era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of their Best., 21 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Gun (Audio CD)
Firstly, I must say that this is not my favourite KISS album and that I also don't rate some of the songs. For the record I would like to say that for all the good Paul and Gene have done they still manage to make the odd mistake, and I mean ODD - 'And then She Kissed Me' - I mean, what is that all about?!? Why? Why round off such an epic album with such a lacklustre cover of a crappy 60's pop track? - Mehhh...

However, do not let that put you off, as this album contains some of the best songs ever recorded - ( 'I Stole your love', 'Christine Sixteen', 'Love Gun', 'Plaster Caster' and 'Shock me!') - These are untouchable songs, full of excitement, drive and energy.

I strongly advise you to get this album if you like KISS, Rock and Roll or just exciting music! I would however look first at Destroyer and Rock and Roll Over - ow..... And Alive!

I defy you not to be blown away! Alive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic album - Decent Deluxe edition., 13 Nov. 2014
By 
K Tusion (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Gun (Audio CD)
Disc 1 - Love Gun (Remastered) - Classic Kiss. The remastering is decent with Gene's bass sounding particularly good.

Disc 2 - Unreleased tracks are always going to be of interest to me and the fact that we are given a whole disc of mostly "unreleased" material is certainly a great improvement on the disappointing "Destroyer Resurrected" released a couple of years ago. However some of the tracks have very limited replay value ("Love Gun Teaching Demo" & the radio interview), a couple are actually previously released ("Love Gun Demo" was on the 2001 Box Set & "Reputation" was on this years "40" compilation) and the live tracks sound suspiciously tampered with (and technically were recorded on the Alive II tour rather than the LG tour). Which leaves us with four new songs. Unfortunately we are not given much information on when & where they were recorded or who is actually playing on them so whether they are all LG era demos is unclear. "Plaster Caster" & "Tomorrow & Tonight" are I would assume from that era and are certainly interesting releases, "T&T" seems more like an early instrumental rehearsal rather than a proper demo. "I Know Who You Are" is an early version of "Living In Sin" from Gene's '78 solo album. "Much Too Soon" is perhaps the most interesting track here as it is possibly a reworked Wicked Lester tune ("Black Moon June") and was possibly demoed as early as 1974, it would be great to know when this version was recorded and who is playing on it.

The packaging has some great pictures and has stories/background information on all the songs on disc 1 but most of the quotes are taken from the "Behind The Mask" book rather than being new interviews done specifically for this release and unfortunatley there are no stories/background info on disc 2's material.

All in all a solid release and hopefully the start of something similar for all the bands 70s releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy the european version!, 26 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Gun [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Kiss remastered all of their albums in 2014 (except Sonic Boom) on 180-gram heavyweight vinyl in USA and Europe. I purchased the USA versions because some critics said they are far superior compared to the european versions. True or not, the version you have to buy in this case is the European. The track "Then she kissed me" was bad press on the american version and the record has an error on the beginning of this song. Luckily this has not happened in the European version. The cover looks very nice (the spine is thicker than the USA pressing), is very well reproduced. All product will be much appreciated by collectors. The music? Oh yes....One of the best KISS albums of all time!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic hard rocker., 6 July 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Gun (Audio CD)
Love gun was a smash hit in 1977 and for good reason. The melodic metal here was fun and fresh. It's not hard metal instead its full of good hooks and very good songs. The hit's 'christine sixteen' and 'lobe gun' are on here and the band had yet to go more straight pop. Few kiss fans I know dislike this one in the least. Of course metal fans who only want really hard metal need not apply. This is a fun type of metal here which today is seen as too light by thrash heads perhaps. But thrash is a limited style of metal mostly so who cares. Other classics on this include 'almost human' and 'hooligan'. This was still a band firing on all cylinders. In a few years dope would take it's toll on two of the boys and the band would lose focus. But not here. The album came with a paper love gun that was fun to play with. The remaster is fine but has no extra tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars rock n roll over pt 2, 20 Dec. 2008
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Love Gun (Audio CD)
For the first time kiss repeated themselves,this is a barely disguised rerun of the previous album and like most sequels not quite as good.Having said that like a prev reviewer says 'I stole your love' and 'Tomorrow and tonight' are 2 of the bands finest,the former nicking Deep Purple's riff from 'Burn' as inspiration and the latter the 3rd part of the trilogy of 'R n R all nite' and 'Shout it out loud',,how i would love them to play those three one after another as the concert finale.Other highlights would be Ace's 'Shock Me' and the sinister 'Almost Human',still a decent finish to an era we didnt realise was about to come crashing to earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best., 12 Feb. 2010
By 
A D. Pate (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Gun (Audio CD)
Up there in the top five KISS albums. The first to feature each member of the band on lead vocals.
Some good songs, "Christine Sixteen", "Love Gun", "Shock Me" & "Plaster Caster". Would definately recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good rerelease but it just seems to me that it's ..., 6 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Gun (Audio CD)
A good rerelease but it just seems to me that it's been padded out to make a double cd H
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only buy one Kiss album..., 7 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Love Gun (Audio CD)
If you only buy one Kiss album, it might as well be their most crazily cartoon rock 'n' roll one. Free of the frills of Destroyer, but zestier than the sonically similar Rock and Roll Over, this is Kiss in excelcis. From the hilariously sexist cover in, it's 100% Starchild (Stanley's I Stole Your Love), Demon (Simmons' Almost Human), Space Ace (Frehley's Shock Me) and Catman (Criss' Hooligan). It's their most loose-limbed album too: hear how many of those choppy riffs are on acoustics. The remastered version makes it shine but, any way you hear it, this is a dirty diamond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maturity., 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Gun (Audio CD)
This is a very show of Kiss maturity. Even Peter Criss (so long criticized by many) does great in this album. The title track is a classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Gun [VINYL]
Love Gun [VINYL] by Kiss (Vinyl - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews