Customer Reviews


212 Reviews
5 star:
 (174)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What music DVDs should be like
If you ask me, this is the first time I have felt that it might be worth buying an album DVD equivalent. The Definitely Maybe DVD includes, of course, all the songs, including videos and live performances of each song. The chances are you already own the album itself, so it's the visuals and the live performances you'll be interested in. And both are definitely worth...
Published on 8 Oct 2007 by Robbie Swale

versus
25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2014 Vinyl Remaster - I buy vinyl for better sound quality, not worse
This is a five star album.

However, the sound quality on this new 2014 double album re-master is not a patch on the original CD version.

The definition has been compressed almost out of existence.

It's a great pity that increasingly vinyl re-masters and a number of new releases for that matter, are being produced from highly compressed,...
Published 3 months ago by Fred Says


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2014 Vinyl Remaster - I buy vinyl for better sound quality, not worse, 20 May 2014
By 
Fred Says (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Definitely Maybe [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is a five star album.

However, the sound quality on this new 2014 double album re-master is not a patch on the original CD version.

The definition has been compressed almost out of existence.

It's a great pity that increasingly vinyl re-masters and a number of new releases for that matter, are being produced from highly compressed, bass heavy files.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What music DVDs should be like, 8 Oct 2007
By 
Robbie Swale - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
If you ask me, this is the first time I have felt that it might be worth buying an album DVD equivalent. The Definitely Maybe DVD includes, of course, all the songs, including videos and live performances of each song. The chances are you already own the album itself, so it's the visuals and the live performances you'll be interested in. And both are definitely worth while, although possibly not particularly in the long term - depends what sort of fan you are.

And if you are the sort of fan I am, then that may not be why you got this DVD at all - the key to Oasis (as many fans will know) is the combination between the music and the men. And in the interviews on this DVD, the men are in fine form. They are full of anecdotes, as you would be in recalling one of the most pivotal events in your life (and in modern music history). The brilliant stories of the recording studio on an island, which meant the lads had to leave the pub early to avoid being cut off, and tales of drug-stealing, tractor driving shenanigans with the Stone Roses are joyous, and hilarious, and will catch you up in the magic of the beginnings of Brit Pop. So will the stories from the technicians - dealing with Liam Gallagher for the first time, or pushing the volume up to the max so that Definitely Maybe was the loudest album on the juke box for the year after its release.

And for anyone that doesn't own the album, then remember that this is the classic oasis - raw, swaggering and brilliant. From the ripped off intros to Shakermaker and Cigarrettes and Alcohol to the wonderful solos and sweeping melodies of Live Forever and Slide Away, to the minimalist brilliance of Married With Children and Sad Song, this is a superb, superb album.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock 'N' Roll DVD..., 19 Sep 2004
10 years has certainly gone quick hasn't it eh? And how better to celebrate it than with a DVD release of the best album of that particular year.
When you pop Disc 1 into your DVD player the album starts playing straightaway.
You now have the interactive options at your fingertips.
All you have to decide is whether to push "UP", "DOWN", "LEFT" or "RIGHT" on your DVD remote.
You will then be treated to either documentary, live or video for that particular track.
Or if you want press "MENU" and you can choose what to view individually.
Also for certain videos you can select "ANGLE", and be treated to another version (promo).
If I may suggest something, I would put the disc in and press "UP" and watch the "documentary" all the way through. (much easier, and flows better.
"Disc Two" involves a number of featurettes, but can be viewed continuously if need be.
I loved this DVD as you can listen to the album as a kind of Bootleg album as well if you so wished.
Anyway here is the tracklisting if you're interested.
1. Rock 'N' Roll Star (from 'Top Of The Pops', September 1994)
2. Shakermaker from ('Naked City', June 1994)
3. Live Forever (from Glastonbury, June 1994)
4. Up In The Sky (from Chicago Metro, October 1994)
5. Columbia (from Hammersmith Palais, December 1994)
6. Supersonic (from 'The Word', March 1994)
7. Bring It On Down (from Gleneagles, February 1994)
8. Cigarettes And Alcohol (from Southampton Guildhall, November 1994)
9. Digsy's Dinner (from Buckley Tivoli, August 1994)
10. Slide Away (from New York Wetlands, July 1994)
11. Married With Children (from Los Angeles Whiskey A Go Go, September 1994)
12. Sad Song (from 'Later With Jools Holland', December 1994)
The featurettes on the second disc could have been longer but this is not the story of oasis after all, just their debut album. The main interviewee here is Noel, in fact Liam is not on here that much but he only grunts when asked questions anyway. His singing is what he does best anyway.
The group re-visit the shoot where Definitely Maybe was photographed, the booklet is nice work as is the sleeve.
A must for all Oasis fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great album but avoid the rip off 2014 box set, 29 May 2014
By 
Great album but the 79 box set is a rip off. You get the 3cd version which can be bought separately, poor sounding double vinyl complete with poor quality packaging, a so called exclusive 7" single which has 2 tracks already on the 3cd version, a rebranded cheap and nasty bag for life and loads of other tat literally thrown into the box. The 2014 remaster of the album is awful but i would recommend the 3cd deluxe set for the extra tracks (the japan version has 2 bonus tracks that arent even in the super deluxe boxset!)
Just avoid the super deluxe set at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Debute Album Ever, 25 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
I personally prefer Oasis second album Morning Glory but this album started it all. There could have not been a better way to launch this fantastic band. The success of Morning glory is largly due to this Album although the production on Morning glory was better because they had to follow the sucess of their debute album. it shows Noels writing skills and Liams special voice but we all forget that Oasis is not made up of just 2 members. I dont think they will ever have albums better than the first two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why have the Japanese been offered this much quality ?, 10 Aug 2000
This review is from: Definitely Maybe+2 (Audio CD)
Rarely do we come across albums of perfect splendour. We all know Definitely Maybe is one of the all time finest so what do we think when we get the opportunity to obtain a track which is not available on any B-side ? We jump on it. For me Sad Song is a glimpse into one of Noel Gallagher's finest musical moments. It's got everything in it that we know and want from him, including the familiar descending bass line that turns a classic song into an Oasis classic song. Why Sad Song has been hidden from us I'll never know...it's a 'Live By The Sea' exclusive. The other extra track 'Cloudburst' stands alongside The Stone Roses 'Standing Here' as a top notch B-side track...spot the difference between the two ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best debut album of the 90's!!, 25 Mar 2002
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
what can i say, only that this album is stunning from start to finish. by far the best oasis album with ballads like 'slide away' & 'live forever', and of course the greatest oasis song ever 'Columbia' with its fantasic vocal arrangments, big pounding bass line and great feel good lyrics. This album shows that oasis had the potential to be bigger and better than the beatles, and still do if they return to there roots of feel good songs with catchy choruses and great guitar. pure genius!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably the best album of the last decade., 11 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Definitely Maybe ! (Audio CD)
This will always be pride of place in my CD collection. A prince amoung men. This is the definative Britpop album. Nothing can ever compare to the hunger, the pain, the sheer balls that this first Oasis album exudes. It is a must for all those who say they enjoy contempory music, whether or not you would count yourself as an ardant Oasis fan. Put all your prejudices behind you, buy this and sample the sheer brilliance of this musical enigma.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Debut Album of the Nineties?, 29 Oct 1999
This review is from: Definitely Maybe ! (Audio CD)
With this album Oasis not so much entered as exploded the British music scene. Not since The Stone Roses' eponymous album had there been a more self assured collection of songs. Live Forever is gloriously uplifting, Cigarettes and Alcohol is an anthem to anyone who enjoys getting out there and "'avin it" and the three minutes Rock 'n Roll star can make anyone believe that they could do what Oasis do.
A definite 5 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oasis's crowning glory, 22 Feb 2004
By 
M. black "barriebb3" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
it's hard to believe it's ten years since oasis released their debut.this a an all time great, a swaggering, arrogant blast of pure rock n roll that still sounds fresh today.they may never make another album as good as this (they haven't so far) but when you have wrote songs like live forever, rock n roll star and
supersonic to name but a few you don't really have to care.oasis made their mark on british music.they WERE the 90's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Definitely Maybe [3CD Deluxe Edition]
Definitely Maybe [3CD Deluxe Edition] by Oasis (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews