Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing, well-written lesbian romance
Just finished London Calling - I am still smiling: a wonderful romance with more then a pinch of humour. In fact Clare Lydon has a knack of infusing witty remarks and nice punch-lines into the story. It had me on the verge of chuckling all through the book which is a great addition to the refreshing way she is telling a romance replete with just "normal" people...
Published 8 months ago by Philologus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars easy read
I found this book to be an easy laid back read. Not too many dramas and a bit of an abrupt finish. This book did leave me feeling like it was missing something but overall it was a good read.
Published 6 months ago by chrisem


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing, well-written lesbian romance, 6 April 2014
This review is from: London Calling (Kindle Edition)
Just finished London Calling - I am still smiling: a wonderful romance with more then a pinch of humour. In fact Clare Lydon has a knack of infusing witty remarks and nice punch-lines into the story. It had me on the verge of chuckling all through the book which is a great addition to the refreshing way she is telling a romance replete with just "normal" people. Through all up-and-downs I loved the optimistic under-current a lot and she really has a great way to let come London and London's ladygays and straight people come alive (accent, wording, setting and all <s>). And although an unabashedly lesbian love story it is clearly set in the new modern-day "world" where there are straight, gay, lesbian couples waltzing all around a novel because being gay is really no big deal - welcome to equality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this!, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Calling (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, it reminded me a bit of Armistead Maupin's Tales of the City - easy to relate to, in bite-sized chapters and just really fun. I laughed out loud a bit too much. Really looking forward to the next one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great debut novel, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Calling (Kindle Edition)
After 3 years in Australia after breakup with her girlfriend,Jess is back in London no job living with her parents. Can Jess get her life back on track no spoilers. An easy read looking forward to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A top notch Rom-Com and a delightful read, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Calling (Kindle Edition)
Jess Sharp has been in Oz for 3 years, trying to live her dream of an adventurous life. But when she finds herself bored with her job and losing her girlfriend London is calling her home.

Single, jobless and living in her parent's spare room wasn't part of her life plan. But as she starts to re-establish herself a new Jess emerges. A change of careers, a friends spare room and a whole heap of matchmakers make for an interesting life.

When she meets the woman of her dreams her heart is smitten, but a series of events involving one night stands, tequila shots, hen nights and ex-girlfriends may be too much for their fledgling romance. Can they work through the chaos or will Jess drive her away with silly mistakes?

-----------------

London Calling - what an apt title. Clare Lydon's first novel is a wonderful Rom-Com that follows a traditional romance plot, but is far better than the average LesFic fare.

The plot is full of comedic opportunities. It is well thought through and works well as a coherent storyline, creating a fast moving page-turner where we soon wonder what could possibly go wrong next. The sup-plots are clever, weaving in and out of Jess's life, adding variety, and building her characters, but always adding to the main story.

Ms Lydon's descriptions of London are excellent. Just enough to build up a scene around the plot, but not too heavy handed or long winded. For those of us who know London it hits all the right buttons for recognition. For those who don't it will give you an excellent taste - Clare has caught the tone of the city perfectly.

The characters are people we would recognize on the street. From the self-centered girlfriend to the angry one night stand, the drunken best friend to the manic bride to be, Ms Lydon has an amazing talent for capturing the essence of a personae with light brush strokes. Jess's constant self-doubt is something we will all empathize with, and Lucy is just adorable.

In among all the chaos is a lovely tale of a hot crush and new love, starting with a wistful hope and building into a life changing want. There is a great sexual tension and the sex is hot and steamy, but without being unrealistic - for once the heroine doesn't morph into a porn star in the bedroom... or the lounge.. or the hall.

But for me what makes this stand out head and shoulders is the comedy. It is quintessentially British, a tale of minor disasters which constantly derail Jess's hopes without being too heavy. Our heroine has to work to get out from one thing after another. The farce is clever and witty - hugely entertaining and a joyous read.

And for our American cousins this will be a great adventure. British wit, London geography, and English idioms that might be a challenge, but are well worth the effort.

Altogether a top-notch Rom-Com that will keep you rooted to your seat, a page-turner without any unnecessarily dramatic twists, but realistic characters which make you want to know what happens next. Well crafted, well written - well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED THIS SOOOO MUCH!, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Calling (Kindle Edition)
I had the pleasure of reading this novel a while ago and have been eagerly anticipating it's release so I can leave this review. I loved this book a LOT-it was quirky, witty, true to life and with a beautiful sweet romance in it. I found myself laughing out loud throughout, and loved all the characters and how they interacted.
London Calling is a wonderful easy read that you won't want to put down. I highly recommend and look forward to the next offering from Lydon with baited breath!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars British wit and a convincing read. Loved it!, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Calling (Kindle Edition)
"London Calling" is a great, easy read with lots of British wit thrown in. The story is well balanced and does keep you engaged throughout. Bite-sized chapters - a real page-turner. The characters are completely believable, so much so, I'm really hoping there'll be a sequel. All round, it's a top read and a great debut novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 8 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Calling (Kindle Edition)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very romantic read, 3 July 2014
By 
This review is from: London Calling (Kindle Edition)
This book might not necessarily be a rollercoaster ride, but it's first-person-storyteller Jess will keep you reading anyway, because you quickly get drawn to this funny and quite endearing woman. You watch her fall in love again and get her life back together after her time away, where she got her heart broken. While at some point you do suspect that it could turn out well with this new love interest of hers, you don't dare to be so sure, because it would be way too perfect.

"London Calling" is a sweet and very romantic read with lots of giggles and throughout likeable characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars easy read, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Calling (Kindle Edition)
I found this book to be an easy laid back read. Not too many dramas and a bit of an abrupt finish. This book did leave me feeling like it was missing something but overall it was a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely read !!!!, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Calling (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this book a lot could not put it down !!! Would love to go to oz !!!! But not have the same life as jess !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

London Calling
London Calling by Clare Lydon
£3.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews