Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars21
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 December 2014
Great series, however its worth noting that despite what the title says, this is NOT season 2 - the episodes cover the last two from season 3, and then a variety of episodes from season 4 and season 5. The first few episodes therefore refer back to events that haven't been shown on this or the season 1 DVD so there's a lot missing between the two releases!

Other than that it's an entertaining series in whole, however I prefer the season 1 DVD as it has a more natural feel and there's less annoying characters clearly dumped in there by the producers to make more 'entertaining' TV (i.e. Tom - thankfully that buffoon leaves towards the end of season 4).
11 comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
Show = Great.

But this isn't season 2. This is actually season 4...
If you want to watch season 2 and 3, you only really have one way of doing that ;)

Such a shame it's a mess like this. I presume something to do with licensing!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 August 2014
"The quicker they finish restoring their cars, the quicker they can get them to auction."

Welcome to Season 2 at the Gas Monkey Garage in Dallas, Texas. Owner Richard Rawlings and his number 1 employee, mechanical genius Aaron Kaufmann, star in this surprisingly entertaining reality TV show.

(Amazon Update: 17th March 2015: As another reviewer here has correctly noted, this is actually not Season 2 proper.
Yet this box set is billed as being Season 2. Though I continue to enjoy this series, I am rather annoyed at myself by being taken in by the DVD producers in this regard. They market this DVD set as Season 2 and yet it is not. So we are just treated like infants then? It just shows you what they think of us.)

This Season's offering is on 6 DVDs. That's double the amount for Season 1.

Disc 1
Ford Galaxie - Part 1
Ford Galaxie - Part 2 and Nash Healey
Dale Jr's Sick Nomad
Chopped Cabriolet and 'Vette Rescue

(Running Time: 185 minutes approx)

Disc 2
Killer Copo Camero
Cool Customline
Caddy Rust Bucket and Bel-Air Beauty - Parts 1 and 2

(Running Time: 173 minutes approx)

Disc 3
'71 Cool Kingswood and Retro Replicar
Shelby Rent-A-Racer Resto - Parts 1 and 2
Flungtag Flyer and Wicked Wayfarer

(Running Time: 173 minutes approx)

Disc 4
Gas Monkey Bandit Car - Parts 1 and 2
Troll's Choice Rolls-Royce
Aaron's Falcon Racecar

(Running Time: 172 minutes approx)

Disc 5
Mustang Mania
Jacked-Up Jeep
Flatline Superflip Frenzy

(Running Time: 129 minutes approx)

Disc 6
Holy Grail Firebirds - Parts 1 and 2
Fast N' Live Uncensored

(Running Time: 129 minutes approx)

I make the total viewing time, if my maths is correct, to be 961 minutes. That's more than 16 hours of viewing.

Rawlings is the showman and business brain of the outfit, whist Kaufmann is at the heart of the mechanical alchemy being performed on old and battered cars. Rust into gold as they say in the series. Or is it the the other way around this time - "Blood, Sweat and Beers" and still end up losing money after all the labour?

Rawlings wants to flip the cars as quickly as possible to make a profit. Kaufman is more of a perfectionist and his craft comes first. Will this lead to a conflict between the two? Do they come to blows? Putting up a cool car at auction with no reserve at all strikes me as a real monkey business. Richard lost $14,000 doing this in one of the episodes in Season 1. Is it going to happen again?

Then, at the end of the Season, Richard makes a shocking staff announcement.

It's all compulsive viewing.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
Endlessly interesting cars surrounded by endlessly amusing antics. I do feel this crew have much more charm and affability about them than some of the other car themed reality shows. Of course, as this is the second series you start to notice some of the set ups the production teams try to sneak in , but its all good fun and the little sketches and 'dream sequences' add to the entertainment value. Great stuff! keep up the good work.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
this is one of the best shows on tv if your into old cars or modifying cars or just blokes messing around in a workshop. my only complaint is this series is after the first but doesn't include the ferrari build. they talk about make a lot of money off of it but you don't get to see it. apart from that minor niggle is just like the first series, excellent.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
One of the best car shows out there, in my mind season 2 is even better than season I, the supporting mechanics are a hoot, I wish I could find someone like Sue to trim my cars and the Smokey & the Bandit episode was perfect they must have had huge fun doing that one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2016
Come on, these boys are fun and interesting! I enjoy almost every show and would recommend to my friends!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
Really funny.Richard and Aaron are a great double act.Tom is hilarious as well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
Fantastic programme watch it every week, Richard and Aaron are amazing
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
Great programe. Best episodes are the smokey and the bandit trans am.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Check out all the official Gas Monkey Garage t-shirts and more