Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb
The premise gives us echos of 'columbo' in that the victim and killer are known to the viewer early on and it is the manner of the crime along with the motive that is revealed as the plot moves on. The season one tales are all self contained and neatly wrapped up within the hour. The cast display an interesting chemistry and Kristin Lehman excels as the strong central...
Published 7 months ago by Steven

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars We've seen this all before
This is just an 'ordinary' cop show. Nothing 'new' or particularly different in its presentation. 2 other Canadian police dramas are MUCH better if you want to check them out "The Border" is a terrific 4 season show about Canadian Border Patrol Agents often in conflict with their much more powerful US 'big brothers'. And the absolutely awesome "Durham...
Published 2 months ago by Kanenberg


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 10 Mar 2014
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Motive - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The premise gives us echos of 'columbo' in that the victim and killer are known to the viewer early on and it is the manner of the crime along with the motive that is revealed as the plot moves on. The season one tales are all self contained and neatly wrapped up within the hour. The cast display an interesting chemistry and Kristin Lehman excels as the strong central character who thankfully isn't a walking cliche; she's intelligently written towards the right side of sassy and her obvious beauty isn't placed centre stage for cheap thrills. The scripts take a pragmatic approach to policework, employing dramatic, character driven highs rather than lazy shootouts with poorly drawn bad guys. Also, In a refreshingly bold move, the first season doesn't chip away at a hidden (never to be resolved) story arc and doesn't concern itself with the love lives of the cast.

Louis Ferreira lends ample support as the worldly yet sympathetic partner and the surprising addition of Lauren Holly brings a familiar face to the strong ensemble cast. The fresh approach to storytelling is bolstered by strong scripts and committed performances from leading players and bit parts alike. I found myself looking forward to each episode when the season aired on Universal and I look forward to owning the DVD.

Kudos to CTV for delivering so much more than a shallow, by the numbers, cop procedural.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars We've seen this all before, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motive - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is just an 'ordinary' cop show. Nothing 'new' or particularly different in its presentation. 2 other Canadian police dramas are MUCH better if you want to check them out "The Border" is a terrific 4 season show about Canadian Border Patrol Agents often in conflict with their much more powerful US 'big brothers'. And the absolutely awesome "Durham County" season 1 about a Canadian Police detective who's new neighbor might be a serial killer in addition to an old high school classmate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motive - great series!, 14 Aug 2014
This review is from: Motive - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
There are a lot of criminal US TV series. Yes, I do watch them but they can get very similar. What I love about this series is that from the start you know the victim and the killer. The rest of the episode you learn more about why they killed the victim and also get to see how detectives work the facts, interview and charge the killer.

The two lead detectives have a great working relationship and you really feel a connection.

All in all this is a great series. I'm watching the second season at the moment and it's still just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Episodic and rewarding., 13 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: Motive - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I think TV producers,especially those under an American microscope,have learnt in recent years that there is no guarantee that a series is going to have longevity such is the fickleness of tv audiences today.
I list just a few debatably good series that have collapsed within a short time of airing: My Own Worst Enemy: Season 1 [DVD],FlashForward - The Complete Series [DVD],Alcatraz - The Complete Series [DVD] [2012]to name just 3 and there are many others.

'Motive' is a Canadian production and cleverly goes the way of having a complete story in each episode;there is no hidden agenda that will be revealed as the 'possible' future seasons progress.And no cliff-hanger finale to Season 1.
Thus the tv executives will be able to axe this show should they choose to without complaints about the lack of resolution to a series as in the case of 'Alcatraz' for example.
I suspect ratings will dictate their decision which would be an injustice for this series as it gets better the more you watch it.

This series works very well because the stories are believable and each episode gives depth to each new set of victims/perpetrators.Both victim and killer are revealed early in each episode;if you are after a 'mystery' to solve,forget it-----this is all about the ingenuity of the investigating team pitting their wits against the killer.

At the heart of the series are terrific performances by Kristin Lehman and Louis Ferreira,who have grasped their chance to show us what they have got in the tank.

It makes for compelling viewing and I for one hope for at least a 2nd season;look at 'Silent Witness' which is in its 16th series at least on the BBC.

Footnote:24 Hours,Season 9 is coming back and I'm spotting actors from the series out of interest.One who played the character Curtis Manning(CTU agent)appears in 'Motive'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gets better after the first episodes, 8 Aug 2014
By 
Steampunk "JS" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Motive - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
As another reviewer has pointed out, each story begins by showing you the killer, the victim, and then cuts to the detectives at the actual crime scene. The reviewers said that this takes all the tension out of the story, but that's missing the point. These are intended to be WHY-dunnits, not WHO-dunnits.

It's a brilliant idea. However, if the other reviewer gave up after one or two episodes, then I can entirely understand his frustration, because in those first episodes (by far the weakest in the series) the motive IS far too easy to spot at far too early a stage in the story.

It seems a strange choice to start a new series with your weakest storylines, but that's what they've done. But it's worth persevering, because the series gets better and better as it progresses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Storylines are really good and well thought out and overall casting is excellent, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motive - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Angie Flynn is hot! Storylines are really good and well thought out and overall casting is excellent. Relationship between Angie and Oscar looks like developing big time while her former lover who is now her boss is a nasty piece of work clearly intent on keeping his job while his current lover has suspicions about Angie.
With Graceland this is hottest cop series on the box and Vancouver looks magnificent .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars G R E A T P RO G R A M M E ..., 2 May 2014
This review is from: Motive - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
.

I won't go over the cast and outline of this series as it has already been done so well by the previous reviewers.

Suffice to say that it is different, unusual with interesting storylines and good acting.

And ....... it's set in Vancouver, British Columbia - and so great to have a change of scenery away from
London and New York.

Recommended. Looking forward to Season 2 (I've read that it has been re commissioned and that the second series is being filmed now). Hopefully, it will be again aired on Universal.

.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect procedural, finally!, 26 July 2014
By 
Kevin Berne (Nussloch , Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motive - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Motive is a rather small canadian-produced criminal procedural show that focuses on why a killer killed his victim rather than spending the whole episode guessing who did it. In the beginning we learn about both the killer and victim and we are consecutively shown both our investigative team handling the case and flashbacks that explain to us what led up to the murder.
The concept is basically a modern-day version of Columbo. Contrary to the CSI franchise which I stopped watching entirely quite some time ago, both the plots and the characters are not laughably generic but do in fact feel realistic and the series has a strong emotional undertone. All in all, the show manages to pull the viewer in nicely and I could not find a single episode within this boxset that I did not like.
On the production side the show is top-notch, especially the monumentally fantastic photography by director of photography Mathias Herndl stands out which fantastic perception of image depth, great lenses, beautiful colouring and contrast and nicely kinetic pacing. The soundtrack is as good as the editing and I had a ball watching the whole way through. While there are no extras on this boxset, the technical quality of the episodes themselves is as good as it gets on DVD and makes some Blu Rays pale in comparison. I heavily endorse both this show and this DVD release, look forward to next season hopefully on BD and am more than happy to have found a proper procedural show that doen't make me feel like I am wasting my time! What a great show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motive - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Really enjoyed this and look forward to further series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 1 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motive - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
wasnt able to play the dvds. said was the wrong region!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Motive - Season 1 [DVD] [2013]
Motive - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] by Kristin Lehman (DVD - 2014)
£12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews