Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as i hoped
Personally this hit the spot for me, with his lo-fi soul style. If you have heard his recent single 'Talk is Cheap' and liked it, then you should like the album. Some music is designed to make you listen, rather than dance, and this is definitely in that category. Nothing uptempo or danceable, but it's not meant to be; so put on the headphones and just enjoy it.
Published 6 months ago by Dangerscouse

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Late Night Listening
'Built On Glass' is the debut album of Australian singer/songwriter Chet Faker.
As far as style goes it's a mixed bag; largely laid back and somewhat "jazzy" in
mood; the crisp arrangements framing Mr Faker's mournful baritone which
occasionally reaches upwards on the stave with less convincing results but
all-in-all he knows how to craft a...
Published 6 months ago by The Wolf


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Late Night Listening, 17 April 2014
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Built On Glass (Audio CD)
'Built On Glass' is the debut album of Australian singer/songwriter Chet Faker.
As far as style goes it's a mixed bag; largely laid back and somewhat "jazzy" in
mood; the crisp arrangements framing Mr Faker's mournful baritone which
occasionally reaches upwards on the stave with less convincing results but
all-in-all he knows how to craft a decent tune in a late-night-listening kind of way.

There are a few frisky moments scattered through the set, the most satisfactory of
which is '1998', which owes a small debt to the memory of John Martyn but he appears
more at home with introverted tracks such as opening number 'Release Your Problems',
a well-executed example of louche soul; 'Talk Is Cheap', with its staccato beats and
melancholy sax decorations and the curiously engaging final number 'Dead Body'
in which Mr Faker delivers perhaps his finest vocal performance in the collection.

A moderately engaging first showing in need of a little more energy and sparkle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as i hoped, 21 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Built On Glass (Audio CD)
Personally this hit the spot for me, with his lo-fi soul style. If you have heard his recent single 'Talk is Cheap' and liked it, then you should like the album. Some music is designed to make you listen, rather than dance, and this is definitely in that category. Nothing uptempo or danceable, but it's not meant to be; so put on the headphones and just enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slow Burn, 16 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Built On Glass (Audio CD)
Review for Chet Faker: Built On Glass (Future Classic FCL107CD)
Built On Glass took me a few listens to really get into, as Chet's voice reminded me a bit of Lewis Taylor, if you remember him, and I don't really like Lewis Taylor! At first I thought Chet Faker was another male singer being a bit soulful, a bit trendy. What raised this above the rest for me is the production and the instrumentation, both done by the singer himself, and the way the tracks form a journey that holds my interest right through the album, so my initial discomfort soon turned into all-out love. I'm not really a fan of his other recordings, but this CD is one of my current listening faves. The sleeve is cardboard and really tight, making the CD extremely difficult to remove which is annoying. Maybe on import it has a better cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Built On Glass (Audio CD)
Really worth buying if you know his music !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality., 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Built On Glass (Audio CD)
Easy to listen to, but never dull. A classy debut with slick production. Perfect for the drive home, entertaining friends, or an early night with the good lady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars There are more likeable albums about escaping cycles that say darker things about loneliness, 21 Sep 2014
By 
Ms. T. Daniels "drunkenwerewolf" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Built On Glass (Audio CD)
Built on Glass is the new album by Chet Faker, an Australian musician who’s been dragged around a couple of Breakthrough Artist of the Year Awards since his remix of “No Diggity” by Blackstreet ensured he was plucked from his bedroom several years ago.

Faker’s music is slow; what’s known as ‘smooth’, a bit watery and languidly overstretched in places - often when you feel a point was intended. Massive Attack’s influence is sometimes a little obvious, and other times a lot too obvious. That’s forgivable on a debut album; even one that took two years to make. The standout track of Built on Glass is “Gold”, which is the one song where which Chet talks about being “in love”. However it’s not strictly about love; it’s an album about a failed relationship containing the word “love”; a relationship which presumably the album is temporally spaced over.

Read the rest of the review here: http://www.drunkenwerewolf.com/reviews/chet-faker-built-glass/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Built On Glass
Built On Glass by Chet Faker (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews