Customer Reviews


163 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More a Tragedy than a Comedy
Although there are some funny scenes in this film by Woody Allen, it is really more a tragedy than a comedy. Over a long career, Allen's work reflects great insights into the psychology
of very conflicted people, especially women, as portrayed by Diane Keaton, Mia Farrow, and now in this movie, by Cate Blanchett as Jasmine and Sally Hawkins as Jasmine's sister,...
Published 1 month ago by Lewisham Guy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't add up
Vaguely interesting but hardly "Sleeper" or "Annie Hall" and in places it just didn't add up. Jasmine has gone from uber-rich to destitute; well in that case why didn't she sell the Hermes bag or the luggage? She still appeared to have kept an extensive wardrobe despite arriving at her sister's house with 'nothing'.
Sister Ginger, whose house is...
Published 1 month ago by Bensontheboxer


‹ Previous | 18 9 1017 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Not a comedy, 6 Sep 2014
This review is from: Blue Jasmine (Blu-ray)
This is not a bad film, but it is certainly not a comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Jasmine (Amazon Instant Video)
It's alright, has some good moments and performances but doesn't really go anywhere. I expected more after the oscar hype.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars After 44 films, Allen continues to evolve, 30 Nov 2013
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Jasmine [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Whatever the strengths and weaknesses of Allen's yearly offerings, you have to admire a man that
is in his 70s, has made 44 movies, and yet seems to keep trying to stretch his wings, and style,
while still retaining a very recognizable film-making technique. Allen's films are always clearly
his, yet the tone, feel and structure of the films is so almost always something a little new. In
this case, Allen is going for straight drama, (yes there are a few amusing moments, but in general
this is pretty serious stuff) something he hasn't done since "Match Point". But "Match Point" also
had the structure of being a mystery/thriller, whereas "Blue Jasmine" is a character study, pure
and simple. And in that it's not quite like anything Allen has done in his many, many films. The
earlier dramas like "Interiors" or "Another Woman" were both more stylized and weren't really
about dissecting a single fatally flawed character as if under a microscope.

This grew on me on a second viewing. Some of my problems remained; a lot of the supporting characters
are stereotypes, in spite of being played by wonderful actors, doing all they can to bring them life. But
the great Cate Blanchett, who seems incapable of being less than amazing, somehow manages to bring
reality, humanity and sometimes even pathos to this self-involved borderline crazy and theatrical mess
of a human being.

Whatever the quibbles, this is intelligent, grown up film-making, trying to grapple with big questions of
morality and personal responsibility, and unafraid of being a study of a largely unlikable woman. Allen is
still among the braver and least compromised of U.S. directors, and continues to be worth watching
and supporting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A masterclass in acting, 4 Nov 2013
By 
Zoonie (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blue Jasmine [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
A compelling film that keeps your eyes glued to the screen, your ears sharp to pick up every nuance of the dialogue. I do not know when I have seen such superb acting without exception from an entire cast, including the bewildered children.
The glimpse into the higher echelons of American society are fascinating, and cleverly contrasted with the blue-collar lifestyle.
Oscars are sure to reign down on this film.
I shall certainly want to own the DVD and will watch it again at intervals. There is much to savour.
So why only four stars? Well, a niggly doubt about the plot......surely Jasmine's new fiancé would have sussed her out at an earlier stage? Gone to her address? Checked her out with his upper-class contacts? (Just a little niggle.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Jasmine [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Good film if you like Woody Allen films. No problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not that interesting, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can't say I love this film, not that interesting...some films u wanna keep to watch again, this isn't one of those films for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poignant, 2 May 2014
By 
F. Evans "F Evans" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Jasmine [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Brilliant acting by Cate and other cast, very revealing about family relationships. Very funny at times, sad too. Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 9 April 2014
By 
Ms. Jeanette Hayes "netty" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Jasmine [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The dvd was good and the storry was not the best. It is not the best dvd cate blanchett has been in but it shows what can happen when you have everything and how quick it can disappear
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great film let down by slapdash resolution, 2 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Blue Jasmine [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I thought while watching this that Woody Allen was right back on form: there was no-one impersonating him now that he's too old to play himself, the acting with of the highest quality (especially by Sally Hawkins) and the story really breathed. Then the last third of the fall sees the whole structure come tumbling down as the relationship problems of both main characters are solved in moments with no depth at all. This is when you get to wondering again whether Woody Allen's output being so great, he wouldn't take more care if he didn't have the next one coming right up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cate Blanchett is hilarious, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Jasmine [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
It's easy to see why Cate Blanchett won an Oscar for Best Actress in this film - excellent acting on her part. After splitting up with her rich husband who has been sent to prison for fraud, Jasmine moves to live with her sister but suffers an identity crisis as she struggles to adapt to an entirely new way of life; bless her, she tries - she gets a job as a dentist's receptionist and starts a course in computing - but it all goes horribly (yet hilariously) wrong. There were times in this film that when I was laughing I thought I should be crying but this is what makes the film so good. As blue (sad) Jasmine, Blanchett's performance is hilarious and her character in this film is one that many women will identify with on some level. This film isn't just for the girls - my husband watched this and laughed as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 1017 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blue Jasmine
Blue Jasmine by Woody Allen
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews