Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story and well told
Started slowly but gradually picked ill pace and by the time I was 2/3 through the book, I was completely absorbed in the story . The characters are strong easy to like and the plot though simple is well written sand the revelation at the end took me by surprise .Looking forward to the next book.
Published 6 months ago by crimebuff

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Spring Tide
The plot is twisty and fast-paced, and the characters interesting and well drawn (and sometimes endearing). However, it reads like a TV drama script, not a novel. It jumps from mini-scene to mini-scene in a way that left me feeling incredibly irritated; as though the writer thought readers have a very short attention span. Also, the translation is a bit clunky; often...
Published 14 days ago by Ms F Bowers


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story and well told, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spring Tide (Kindle Edition)
Started slowly but gradually picked ill pace and by the time I was 2/3 through the book, I was completely absorbed in the story . The characters are strong easy to like and the plot though simple is well written sand the revelation at the end took me by surprise .Looking forward to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Spring Tide, 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spring Tide (Kindle Edition)
The plot is twisty and fast-paced, and the characters interesting and well drawn (and sometimes endearing). However, it reads like a TV drama script, not a novel. It jumps from mini-scene to mini-scene in a way that left me feeling incredibly irritated; as though the writer thought readers have a very short attention span. Also, the translation is a bit clunky; often unsubtle, and occasionally just plain inaccurate. This spoils what is a good story. A shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping from start to finish, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spring Tide (Kindle Edition)
Loved it!!! This book keeps you on your toes, lots of plot to keep you guessing. Nice twist at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb and surprising thriller, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spring Tide (Kindle Edition)
These are new authors to me and so it was an impulse buy. Really glad I took a chance and I'll definitely look out for more titles. There spare several strands to the story and several mysterious characters that kept me guessing till nearly the end. All followed by another surprise I hadn't seen coming. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best Scandinavian eboo i have read for years, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spring Tide (Kindle Edition)
Probably the best Scandinavian eboo i have read for years. Excellent plot, good characters, keeps you on the edge of your seat, would recommend this to anyone who looks Scandinavian Crime Thrillers. It is up there with the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read with no indication of what might be ..., 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spring Tide (Kindle Edition)
An enjoyable read with no indication of what might be the possible solution of the investigation until the final few pages. This means the suspense is maintained from the first to the last page of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spring tide, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spring Tide (Kindle Edition)
Five stars definitely enjoyed story from start to finish you could guess who was who but didn't spoil the plt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A murder story from Scandinavia. Not the best!, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spring Tide (Kindle Edition)
I had the feeling that this story read like a low budget TV film, with the hand of a producer manipulating the action from start to finish.
The plot introduced us to extremely diverse characters, bringing them together eventually to develop the story. I felt that this was not done particularly well and an extensive smokescreen of gruesome descriptions was superimposed to distract us.
A tale of murder from Sweden, which I did read to the end with some effort.
Editing of the text could have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spring Tide (Kindle Edition)
Superb - look forward to more from this duo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Naive, 10 Jun 2014
By 
Blyth (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spring Tide (Kindle Edition)
This book starts off with an unpleasant murder closely followed by a savage beating of a homeless person. I was quickly wondering if the book was for me. It wasn't but not for those reasons.

The characterisation of the heroin of the book Olivia is soooo PC as to be unbelievable and this is basically the case for other characters who fit into neat little boxes. Olivia is a police cadet and she is going to solve a cold case that no one else has managed to solve. In the meantime there is a story of homeless people going on, which is also treated with similar political correctness.

I gave up on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spring Tide
Spring Tide by Rolf Börjlind
£3.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews