Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm not happy
Two reasons why I'm not happy.

Firstly because I have now finished this book, and that act by necessity has robbed me of the enjoyment I had whilst reading it. This is wonderfully written, with well developed characters, and ladlefulls of humour.

The second reason is that a friend of mine recommended this book to me, and I now have to buy him a pint...
Published 8 months ago by Chris99

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wanted more
After reading about 20% of the book I had to come back to the reviews to make sure I was reading the same book as everyone else. It really did take way too long to get started, and although character development is welcomed and needed, I don't think it needed quite so much before the story kicked in. However, when it did I enjoyed the humour and the ideas of Purgatory...
Published 6 months ago by LizardW13


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unhappy Medium (Kindle Edition)
bloody good read. never laughed so much in a good while. first. time I have read anything by T.J.Brown. Hope he has written something else for me to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unhappy Medium (Kindle Edition)
I loved every page of this book from beginning to end. It was a great story with characters who virtually came to life thanks to the author's brilliant descriptions. Well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not what i expected but loved it anyway, 8 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unhappy Medium (Kindle Edition)
Bought this when it was free, wasn't sure what to expect from the write up, but the story built into a really engaging tale of a reluctant intellectual saving the world. The book has all my favorite ingredients, great characters, humor, a interesting plotline. Would definitely read something else from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you so much, 5 Oct 2014
By 
John Bacon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unhappy Medium (Kindle Edition)
A great book so very well written - one or two spelling mistakes is as much criticism as i can muster. Hope to read this author's next novel soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most entertaining!, 31 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unhappy Medium (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable read. Good story & characters & well written. Recommended to anyone who enjoys a humourous tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read..., 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unhappy Medium (Kindle Edition)
This was a really good read - an excellent balance between drama, danger and humour, I couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You'll want to finish it, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unhappy Medium (Kindle Edition)
That you'll want to finish it is as much had any author has a right to expect from a reader, and in this T.J Brown has succeeded. It's not Tolstoy, it's not a Shakespeare but it is funny, and you'll want to finish it. Have I already said that? Well, I'm drunk writing this so I'll just say it was funny and I wanted to finish it, and did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tried hard, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unhappy Medium (Kindle Edition)
Just not my sort of book. I love fantasy and sword and sorcery style books, but this took too long to warm up. The lead character was unappealing and the long, long, long arguements he presents made me skip page after page, which seems pointless to me.

I hate putting books to one side, but this is one of those rare occasions. Sorry, T J Brown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unhappy Medium (Kindle Edition)
I expected a good old ghost story and while the humour was initially promising I soon lost interest in the characters. Stopped reading it and not inclined to return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Unhappy Medium
The Unhappy Medium by T. J. Brown
£3.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews