Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars21
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 July 2014
Why ih why evertime we get a great series on tv the powers that be cancel it!!! The Fades Demons Primeval etc... WHY?? What really annoys me they replace it witb aloada rubbish come tv bosses give us what WE what to watch!!!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
guys if you love this show then sign this partition to get it back for a season 2 as it has now been cancelled. [...]
11 comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
This series just got better and better. You have no idea who the bad guys really area all the way through. Excellent writing, a cast that can actually act (for those that remember the original and next gen series), special effects that are beautifully created, the fight scenes are given an epic twist with teleportation and a story that has a numerous twists throughout making sure you never really are sure who is good and who is bad.

I have waited 30+ years for someone to create a more adult version of this series so it can be done some kind of justice finally without bad acting and little wierdisms (the 90's version), this is it. Unfortunately the CW seemed intent on killing it off by moving it's time slot, which is the main way of killing something in America and then giving a totally stupid response as to why they cancelled it, yet kept lower rating shows. Prove them wrong, buy this DVD/BR series, buy one for someone else too. Show them that the Nielsen system is totally outdated and wrong.
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2014
I must admit that after watching this excellent series, i was expecting a Season 2, but the studio cancelled it, I was hoping to also buy it on DVD or Blu-Ray but there is no official release date either.

Why do Studio's not always release the series on DVDs, I'm also looking to buy 'The Secret Circle' this has never been released on DVD and was also cancelld for a Season 2.

This is a huge mistake to viewers whom don't notice big talent to the series or actors in that mind.

I really hope that 'The Tomorrow Peoplw' get a release for both DVD/Blu-Ray.

I highly recommend this series.....
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2015
Giving this 4 stars is a bit misleading because it STILL hasn't been released to DVD and I wasn't able to watch the series on TV. I was a child when the original series aired on Thames Television back in the 1970s, and my eyes were glued to the screen every time it was on. The 1990s series left a lot to be desired, thanks to its cardboard cut-out acting and the removal of the group's headquarters to an alien spaceship[ somewhere in a tropical paradise. Somehow, having the lab set up in a disused London Underground station was far more believable.

Both the 1990s and this latest series have seen American involvement and both series have been cut before their time, so it's not hard to see the handicap that they both share. American TV stations are interested in programmes that turn a dollar, and if another show will turn a dollar more then it's hard luck for the viewers and your voice will never be heard, noticed or even acknowledged by the executives who make the decisions.

Maybe if the Americans can't air the missing Series 2, and the UK's ITV aren't interested in running a revival/adult version, they should hand over the franchise, at whatever price is agreeable, to someone like Stephen Moffatt who has been so successful with the revived Doctor Who series.

It's a real shame that a TV show with such enormous potential to entertain is being submerged by purely financial considerations by the TV station that currently owns the franchise..
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
This series griped me all the way and is one of the most awesome series's ever. Cant wait till series 2 but have hear that it has been cancelled but many people are saying that it is just being renewed which I could understand as they left many story lines in the last episode which could be continued in series 2
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
A good foundation series, but it gets a little complicated as it goes on. Great visuals. I would have liked to have seen where it went in a second season :(
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
Awesome. Waited all this time for someone to bring it back as an adult, well written series. Why cancel season 2 as this really had some promise??
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The next stage of human evolution has begun. All over the world, individuals are developing the powers of telepathy, telekinesis and teleportation. A secret government-funded agency, Ultra, is tasked with keeping these individuals under control or removing their powers altogether. However, a small group of 'Tomorrow People' has taken refuge under the streets of New York and is preparing for the day when they can escape persecution.

The Tomorrow People is an SF franchise with some history behind it. It originally aired from 1973 to 1979 as a zero-budget children's programme in the UK. Although almost forgotten today, it remains the second-longest-running British SF show of all time in terms of episode count (just beating out Red Dwarf). The series was then revived in 1992 for a three-season run. The premise of both shows was that humanity is developing into another form of life - homo superior* - and that the new 'break-outs' (humans who have developed these powers) need to be helped by the existing Tomorrow People to deal with their newfound abilities. Both shows also used more overtly SF elements like aliens and robots, with the Tomorrow People using an alien spacecraft as their headquarters and relying on a powerful AI named TIM to help them.

This latest reboot is from the American CW network and is surprisingly faithful to the original show. Character names are reused, original lead actor Nicholas Young has a cameo and even TIM (now a human-built computer) returns. However, the premise is complicated, darkened and made a bit less hokey. There are no aliens or spaceships and the struggle is now presented as being between the Tomorrow People and those humans aware of their existence and who see them as a threat, not a symbol of hope. There are also internal struggles within the Tomorrow People, between those who seek to use their powers for good, those who just want to get on with their lives and others who actively want to use their powers to commit crimes.

Our main POV character is Stephen Jameson (Robbie Amell), who breaks out in the first episode and finds himself torn between joining Ultra (run by his uncle Jedikiah, played by genre-favourite Mark Pellegrino) and a group of rebels led by John (Luke Mitchell) and Cara (Peyton List). Relations are complicated by John and Cara's group having been founded years earlier by Stephen's missing father Roger (Jeffrey Pierce). Early episodes play up a cheesy love triangle between Stephen, John and Cara and rely on break-out-of-the-week plots in which Stephen, having joined Ultra to spy on it for the rebels, has to maintain his cover whilst also helping his friends. Some episodes show promise - Cara's back-story is surprisingly well-handled, with List playing the younger, more rebellious version of the character with more aplomb than the somewhat dull modern equivalent - but it's pretty disposable stuff.

The show shifts up a gear in the mid-season, when more people find out about Stephen's powers and the real main antagonist, the Founder (played with scene-destroying relish by ex-Spartacus actor Simon Merrells) shows up to complicate things. The ongoing story arc comes more to the fore and for a few episodes the show almost lives up to its potential. Particularly welcome is Luke Mitchell stepping up to the plate and impressing more in the role of John. The showrunners seem to be aware of this, with a move in the mid-season away from focusing on Stephen as the protagonist (despite bringing enthusiasm to the role, Amell's range is rather limited) and instead on the group as a whole. This works well until the last couple of episodes when the plot starts lurching in all kinds of random directions and the conclusion to the season-long arc ends up being a bit of a damp squib. The cliffhanger pulls it back a little by providing some interesting groundwork for the next season, but given there isn't going to be one (the show was cancelled after filming concluded) that doesn't really help.

The Tomorrow People (***) is watchable, cheesy and disposable fun which occasionally delivers some above-average performances and episodes. There's certainly a lot of mileage in the premise and it's a shame that the show won't be given a chance to improve with time and more episodes. However, the show is also predictable, frequently badly-written and some of the actors should really think about taking up other careers: Jeffrey Piece is particularly awful, over-acting to the hilt and making even his cornier young co-stars look amazing in comparison. Overall, the series is only worth a watch once you have exhausted the several dozen better series around at the moment.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2014
A great dries, but by the time you get half way through, it feels the same ol same ol as the first two episodes, just slightly different. I also fear that this will just end and we will not eb able to see say series 3. I hate it when Amazon does this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£25.99
£11.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)