Customer Reviews


182 Reviews
5 star:
 (137)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nano 500mbps powerline (pack of 2)
it was simple to set up and works well, no problems at all, good buy and I would buy again this make of powerline
Published 19 months ago by eddie carlin

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 100mbps NOT 500mbps
The first thing you should know about these powerline adaptors is that they are only capable of sending 100mbps through the Ethernet port, not 500mbps as advertised and printed on the box, this is very misleading. What this actually means is the total amount of bandwidth possible if you had 5 or more adaptors plugged into your network would be 500mbps combined...
Published 8 months ago by MC - UK


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nano 500mbps powerline (pack of 2), 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it was simple to set up and works well, no problems at all, good buy and I would buy again this make of powerline
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Worked straight out of the box. No problems at all. Small size is ideal for multi 13amp sockets, it doesn't cover the adjacent switch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 100mbps NOT 500mbps, 17 Dec 2013
The first thing you should know about these powerline adaptors is that they are only capable of sending 100mbps through the Ethernet port, not 500mbps as advertised and printed on the box, this is very misleading. What this actually means is the total amount of bandwidth possible if you had 5 or more adaptors plugged into your network would be 500mbps combined.

The first pair were faulty and returned for exchange.

The second pair seem to be working fine, although disappointed having much lower speeds than expected and because they are used to connect the upstairs router port to a gigabit switch in the lounge they create a bottleneck, although they replaced a pair of old netgear 54mbps powerline adaptors that we're not much slower although quite inefficient.

What drawn me to these adaptors was the assumed bandwidth power, connected to a gigabit switch downstairs sounded ideal.
The compact design is excellent, they are great looking and appear to be well made.
The security and software is a plus point (note: software is clunky and probably confusing to some)
The efficient power saving features, although apparently buggy, to be confirmed.
They were on special offer at the time.

If you are happy with the lower speed and they are priced less than 20 it's a yes, but if you are looking for super fast these are not not for you.

Three stars for the misleading advertising on the packaging, if they were advertised as 100mbps each then I would still buy them and give 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talk about plug n play!, 23 Sep 2013
Do you know what I love? Simplicity! And this product has that in spades. I needed to connect my SkyHD box to my router and of course Sky have a gadget to plug into my Sky box to send the signal wirelessly... but the Trendnet Powerline does it better by doing it faster...upto 500MBS! As for plug n play - literally from opening the box and getting it working... 2 minutes. For me, a gadget experience doesnt come much better that than. Great price, great product. Whats not to love?!Trendnet 500Mbps Nano Powerline Ethernet Adapter (Pack of 2)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for Extending Internet in Office, 24 May 2014
By 
B. Molina (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought two of these to extend internet in an office as router Wifi couldn't reach upper floors. Wiring is quite old in building but it still seems to work great. A little drop in performance due to the distance between units but still achieving 85% of original speed from router.

Have now connected a repeater switch to the upstairs unit which gives strong Wifi through whole building.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, wasn't sure it would work over complex/old wiring setup, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My concern when ordering this was the distance (and complexity/age) of the power circuit in my house. The router kit is located in the attic of a >100yr old house, and the plug was purchased to boost/provide a signal in the summer house/office, on an outdoor circuit protected by a separate circuit breaker system, and a significant distance away in terms of cable length - crow flies distance of about 30 metres, but obviously wire length far more than this. I used to use a router bridge to solve this issue, but had to rejig the system and couldn't handle losing another six days of my life running between small spaces resetting wireless boxes..

As far as syncing/set up goes, the Trendnet is plugged into my pretty hashy system, with the internet signal running through a fibre optic modem (the white openreach one installed with fibre) to a netgear 150 router (the cheap one provided by ISP), then using a better adsl netgear wireless router (purchased pre-fibre) set to run as wireless router/NAS only, off a direct LAN connection to the first router (which has wireless disabled).

All that said, plugged in the two Trendnet plugs about 2 metres from each other, and linked the first plug via LAN to the 'better router', hit the sync buttons as instructed and then tried the network - no internet link, but a good network link (to NAS etc.)

Played about a bit, tried plugging straight into the 150 router, same problem, then realised that the 150 router had, for whatever reason, dropped its connection (possibly when I unplugged them to make room for the Trendnet..?)

Reconnected that via the browser control panel, and internet connection was back - I ended up plugging in the Trendet LAN to the better router, but I expect it doesn't matter.

In reality, it probably took less time for me to set up than it has taken you to read that description. I then took the wireless plug (which has two LAN sockets on the top also) out to the summer house, plugged it in to the plug nearest the circuit breaker and waited for it to reboot.
Excellent wi-fi signal across approx 30 sq metre building, surprisingly fast (unscientific test of 1080p youtube video streamed without buffering)

Good chunky quality units too, but beware that they get quite warm in operation, so make sure they are well ventilated.
As said before, handy size too, can use adjacent plug with no difficulty (in particular the LAN plug is very small, is plugged in next to a box adapter which provides power to the two router transformers, so not an easy place to fit at the best of times.)

Hope that's useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trendnet 500Mbps Nano Powerline Ethernet Adapter (Pack of 2), 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautiful product. I connected my photocopier to it and it worked a treat straight away. No need to condigure anything, it simply connects, assigns an IP address to the device, install the printer and off it goes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trend net Powerline, 27 April 2013
By 
Janice Charles "janicec761" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this double pack of Powerline to extend the features of my Virgin TiVo. Every easy to set up. Just plug into a mains socket next to the Broadband Router, attach the Ethernet cable from the router to the Trendnet Powerline adapter, switch on. Connect the other Trendnet Powerline adapter next to a vacant wall socket (not an extension socket) attach the Ethernet cable to the TiVo box and the Trendnet Powerline, switch on. The both Trendnet Powerline will connect to each other through the Router and electric supply. That's all that is required. Really easy. Great value for money. Now I have my TiVo connected to my ipad. It's great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works perfectly, 7 Nov 2012
Bought four of these and worked first time - use it to stream music and video to different rooms in the house (old house with thick walls that played havoc with the wireless connection). The small design was important as a couple of them are on display. No complaints so far and seems fast enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ethernet, 27 Feb 2014
By 
E. A. Tranter "lool" (Jakes Mums Room) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Trendset ethernet Nano powerline adapters arrived promptly after ordering, they were well packed well. The Adapters were simple to install and performed as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews