Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing.
This version is the 3 x cds version. 3 x cds total of 28 tracks.
I've loved Killing Joke from day 1 and it's always been apparent their love for dub reggae in between the mix of their music which encompasses punk, metal, indie and industrial and even dance music (the dance mixes of the Pandaemonium album I remember at the time polarised fans, I loved dance music and...
Published 5 months ago by D. Oliver

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What's This Pledge For?
It's a great collection and, as has been said in other 'reviews', essential for any fans of Killing Joke or dub music in general; but it wouldn't be here on Amazon for the bargain price of 10 or 11 if it had not been for all those who had made pledges for the release of the CD on Pledge Music to start with, for which they forked out 18 for the privilege. Had they not...
Published 4 months ago by Euromancometh


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing., 13 April 2014
By 
D. Oliver "Gamer" (planet rock) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Dub (Audio CD)
This version is the 3 x cds version. 3 x cds total of 28 tracks.
I've loved Killing Joke from day 1 and it's always been apparent their love for dub reggae in between the mix of their music which encompasses punk, metal, indie and industrial and even dance music (the dance mixes of the Pandaemonium album I remember at the time polarised fans, I loved dance music and therefore loved the remixes, others hated them preferring the rockier side of the 'Joke.)
I really love my dub reggae, more so than other reggae. I'm a Prince far I fan amongst other dub. So when I saw this cd collection I had to buy it. I wasn't let down at all.
Every track except the NIN remix of democracy are fantastic - it doesn't really fit in with the overall dub sound of the other selections.
My favourite dub mix is and has always been the A floating leaf always reaches the sea mix of Requiem by Spiral Tribe. (Why is there no best of Spiral tribe cd?!)
If you're a dub fan buy this, if you're a Killing joke fan buy this - even if you don't like dub, it will show you what the fusion of styles can demonstrate as possible worlds.
Killing Joke, thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What's This Pledge For?, 9 May 2014
This review is from: In Dub (Audio CD)
It's a great collection and, as has been said in other 'reviews', essential for any fans of Killing Joke or dub music in general; but it wouldn't be here on Amazon for the bargain price of 10 or 11 if it had not been for all those who had made pledges for the release of the CD on Pledge Music to start with, for which they forked out 18 for the privilege. Had they not pledged it wouldn't have seen the light of day.

For this they, and obviously me as well, are entitled to feel a little bit peeved. This also goes for the vinyl version of this CD and also the Down By The River release coming shortly, both of which I'd also purchased and yet here they are all ready at a cheaper price than they were at Pledge Music.

No problem with them being on Amazon but at least charge the same price!

Five stars for the music, but one star for the shoddy treatment of those who backed the release originally.

(...and I haven't even started yet on Pledge Music's 200 plus Killing Joke Singles box set)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Dub (Audio CD)
great album from a great band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Up there and out there, 14 Jun 2014
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Dub (Audio CD)
Having squatted for years with the Rastas, and heard the dub phasing sliding up and down the street, through the walls and under the flood boards there is either one way to go - you either detest every low frequency ever emitted or you get entranced. Killing Joke have pulled me out of the former. Whereas I had a severe case of the hives when it came to dub, due to its omnipresence, this has converted me from an aversion.

It is the combination of the punk industrial aesthetic to the Jamaican sensimilia that has worked a fine waft of musical alchemy, helped by growing up with the tunes over the decades. Here they have been reprogrammed from their straight rock roots and been given some treatment.

Strong lights, a fine water biosphere, lots of electric has produced a very fine crop, which has been cultivated to perfection. If you listen make sure you take in lots of air before it gets to your head and lungs because this is made to make the mind take a trip. But turn up load to make sure you get blasted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost unrecognisable most of the time but still v. recommended, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Dub (Audio CD)
You know this is going to be good but it is not your average Killing Joke release. Youth has done a great job and I would recommend this for Jokers everywhere (unless you don't like dub, obviously).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super dub remixes, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Dub (Audio CD)
I have been waiting for this since Follow the Leaders Dub. If you like Killing Joke and spaced out heavy dub, treat yourself, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 17 April 2014
This review is from: In Dub (Audio CD)
I love Killing Joke and I love dub, so this is a marriage made in heaven.
Absolutely superb arrangements of old and not-so old songs.
Buy it and blast it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My apologies,this is brilliant!, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Dub (Audio CD)
I withdrew my first review,as i could not understand 'Dub' and thought this was a bit of a mess. I was wrong. I listened to a Dub version of 'Turn to Red' which is not on this package,and found out how different the song could change like that. I mean 'Turn to Red' has plenty of echo on the original version,but with the Six minute Dub version..so much more echo. So there you go. This must have given 'Martin Glover' A.K.A. 'Youth' a lot of work to perfect. So all in all perfection for me. The album is a little expensive,but this is a Three C.D. and definately worth parting with your cash!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KJ + Dub =, 14 April 2014
By 
Mark A. Streets (Derby. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Dub (Audio CD)
Fantastic!

This is a truly great album. I've found Killing Joke a bit hit and miss in the past [with the exceptions of the first album and Pandemonium], but this is absolute killer all the way through, there are one or two tracks on the bonus CD that don't fit too well, but who cares! Play this very, very loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant., 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Dub (Audio CD)
everything i expected and more,brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Dub
In Dub by Killing Joke (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews